We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet but quick walk to town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archway Motels

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Archway Motels
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet but quick walk to town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The motel was on the outskirts coming in to Wanaka, across the main road from the DoC Information Centre. In a tree-filled setting, it was quiet, spacious, and the owners attentive enough. Sufficient utensils to self-cater, and even though it was autumn we still needed the electric blanket provided. Good value and even relatively romantic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you Gerry, we really appreciate your comments & positive feedback. We do try to escort all our guests to their units and give you a quick tour of the facilities as well as provide & highlight resources for local & Archway information. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka. We hope to see you another time. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    60
    20
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
66
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here two separate nights before and after a camping trip. The host and hostess were delightful, and the rooms spacious and modern. The motel is also well located for walking into town for dinner- I'd definitely stay here again on a future trip to Wanaka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank You for your lovely comments & feedback Emily. We are always encouraging our guests to share their experiences- especially directly where we can respond to your views immediately and elaborate on our plans etc.We look forward to hosting you again so please contact us ahead of time- especially in busy seasons to guarantee we can accommodate you.Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Archway is not luxurious but the owners have done an excellent job of providing all that one might need for a self catering stay with them. The motel is also well back from the road and is quiet. There is a nice place out side the room to have a meal or just sit and relax. The motel is also not too far from stores, restaurants and the lake. We went for a nice walk along the lake after our meal. Nice way to end the day. Would come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Welcome & thank you for your positive comments. As a 3 star plus property luxury is not really our priority focus although we are adding little touches of luxury all the time. However based on your comments- we are pleased that the positive features of Archway were very much appreciated and we are always looking for ways to keep our guests, comfortable & satisfied. We really look forward to looking after you next time. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed over Easter. Very peaceful location. The motel was very spacious and very clean. We had a handicapped person with us and she was not able to step into the shower. The owner constructed steps for us. As ex-motel owners we know what good service is and we certainly received it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 743AlanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you Alan, what a pleasure it was to host your party at Archway. We always believe that more guest satisfaction would occur every time if guests actually ask for what they actually need, including providing specific information or instruction especially when guests are struggling to work something out. We love helping make your stay the best it can be- and this was only possible in your case because you asked for specific help or requests. We wish you all the very best & hopefully we will see you again soon. Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a superior chalet studio in February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. The room was spacious, clean and well-equipped and well-serviced. The motel is in a quiet location set back from the road. Pleasant helpful owners. Recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback not only for us but for the travelling public. We are always looking to look after our guests and to make their stay & experience as comfortable & pleasant as possible. All the best & warmest wishes Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for one night. Comfortable, well-equipped and quiet motel just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Wanaka. The host was very friendly and helpful. There is also a very friendly cat in residence.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
It is always a pleasure to find guests making the effort to share their Archway experiences. We enjoyed having you to stay as well and Archie the friendly Burmese cat is very much a part of the family & motel. We are always looking to add and improve our units and facilities but it is also lovely to find guests whom are really satisfied with what we are currently providing. All the best for your future travels and may they continue to be rewarding & fun. Warm regards Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

We planned to stay in Wanaka for 2 nights and ended up with two self-contained, 2-bedroom units at the Archway Motel as we wanted 2 bathrooms for 4 adults. The wood panelling made the place feel dark and dingy, but overall it was clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Each unit had a double bed and 2 singles. The bedrooms were small with minimal space for luggage so we used the living area for our bags. The bed was well slept in and we tended to roll into the middle - hence did not sleep well. We used the BBQ and laundry, and also 30 mins WiFi for each room. One of the units had a large fridge and a dishwasher - ours only had a small bar fridge. Hairdryer was provided but only one bedroom had a mirror near a socket.

Room Tip: Other rooms looked better and lighter than 8 & 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherry_bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you your valuable feedback. It is quite strange & ironic that the more we have upgraded our units and interiors the more little niggly comments have come through lately. We are guessing that for some unknown reason more guests are wanting to focus on small issues and more negatives than positives. This concerns us but we always accept constructive feedback and we take these issues seriously. We are only in this business because we love hosting & satisfying guests. We look forward to more positives Warm wishes- your hosts Bridgit & Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing