We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly, comfortable place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed 1 night in April 2012, We wished we stayed longer... very friendly reception on arrival, a very well equipped kitchen, a comfortable bed and close to everything.highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydney1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridg58, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 5, 2012
Thank you for your thoughts & review- always appreciated & necessary in order to keep improving things and know what things work well & others not. Getting postive responses & satisfied guests whom enjoy the experience is our goal. We love meeting & looking after people & paul & I have both are continually learning how to-" assist further" which is all part of the reward & challenge.We would love to have you stay again- and yes-longer is advisable- especially if we get another Summer & Autumn like this next year- best in 30 years! All the very best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed five nights in April while at Autumn Art School, The unit was spacious, clean and fresh with attractive furnishings. I was able to cook with the stovetop and microwave and it was in a great location to get to the school each day. On top of having a lovely place to call home for five days, hosts Brigit and Paul were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help me. Hoping to be back next year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flagstaff8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
182 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked here for three days and were satisfied with our stay. Our two bedroom unit was clean, spacious and had everything we needed in the kitchen although the stove top at that time was not working. This was quickly remedied with the grill that was available outside. There was also a table with chairs outside where we had our meals al fresco. Each bedroom had a portable heating unit to keep us warm from the cold autumn nights and had soft comfortable beds.

The property had a large outdoor garden with playground for kids. We did not try the hot tubs so cannot comment on that. We also used the coin-operated washer and dryer which was very convenient for us. Wifi though was not free so I paid for a couple of hours of usage.

We appreciated the quiet location of the motel since it was in a secluded area but it only took us a few minutes to walk to the center of town and Lake Wanaka itself.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banzai0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at archway motel. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful, wish we could have stayed longer. 5 min walk to main strip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanhog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a 2 bedroom unit that provided just enough space for traveling with an infant (cot was FOC). Had everything we needed. For just a couple dollars more we got better accommodation and also we got similar accommodation for a lot less at other places on our South Island trip. A descent Indian restaurant with takeaway is walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr1milo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent two nights here and we were lucky enough to be accommodated in their townhouse! Great views of the lake and very homely and comfortable unit.
Nice friendly folk running the motel too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotistBodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

This was a really nice motel with good facilities.  It seems to be family run, and I think a lot of skiers stay here.  While not the newest in decor, they run a friendly, clean ship and gave us a small container of real milk with check-in.  We purchased four hours of wifi for $8 and got decent reception from our room.  They have a laundry facility with washer/dryer and ironing board/iron and small park area with trampoline.  Every room has their own bbq grill and outdoor table/chairs.  We were checked into a handicapped-accessible room with a queen bed and two singles.  It was a large room with stove top, mini fridge/freezer, microwave, electric and stovetop kettle, and had pots/pans, silverware, dishes, cups, bottle and can openers, and etc.  They really have thought of and provided most everything you would need for an extended stay.  

I was very comfortable at the Archway.  While there was no air conditioning (heating only), you could open the windows.  I liked the tall table just off the kitchen and the ample lighting.  There were extra pillows and blankets provided, and everything was clean.  I found the bed to be comfortable, but I think Kris found it soft.  Regardless, there was a lot of space to move around and the television was playing entertaining movies (even if they only had three channels to pick from).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing