We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considerate and helpful hosts”
Review of Archway Motels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Archway Motels
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Considerate and helpful hosts”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

It is not often that the hosts will help you out with your washing. Their thoughtfulness meant that my husband and I could go and enjoy a lovely Indian dinner just down the road, early rather than late. This motel is also clearly well set up for summer and winter seasons, and the instructions set out in the various locations, makes it easy to use their facilities. Wanaka is a beautiful place to boot!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trav078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    61
    20
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
67
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Only here for one night. Friendly welcome although not shown to our room just given keys. Newly decorated, very nice, clean and bright. Large studio, queen bed, 2 easy chairs, table and 2 dining chairs. Flat screen t.v., fridge, hot plates, microwave and kettle (tea/coffee/sugar etc.). Hairdryer, iron and ironing board, guest laundry, barbeque and gardens. Lovely view, although near to busy road was quiet. One of the best motels we stayed. Drove into Wanaka in the evening, very busy and noisy in some bars - Dinner at Thai Siam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Welcome and thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedbackYou have written some lovely comments. We appreciate the constructive feedback but are little disappointed & surprised about the fact you were not shown to your room. We do try and show all our guests to their rooms- if possible and as long as we do not have too many guests to attend to in the office at the time. We pride ourselves on our serrvice so we do apologise for not fulfilling your expectation.
Some guests prefer not to be shown and in fact arrive rather tired & stressed and we do like to assess which guests do and dio not want the personal tour.Many just say- "no" we are fine thanks so it is finding the right "balance" that does not become- "pushy"
Despite uniquely needing to cover 2 acres of land to show our guests our facilities & 15 units- we enjoy showing our guests to the room as much as 85% of the time. We will aim for getting it 100% if that is what all our guests desire.I Look forward to showing you personally to your room next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed at Archway Motels in Wanaka for two days. The rooms were spacious, though they were basic. Location was perfect and the motel offered ample parking space. However, towels were worn-out and old, and had numerous marks. When we requested the management to replace the towels, we were told that these are bleach marks and the towels otherwise are not dirty. We strongly suggest the management to relace all their towels.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swatiagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Welcome And thank you for providing highly valuable feedback. You were 100% correct about the bleach marks that were on those towels and this is a new problem which has developed with our new supply of luxury towels purchased. Each towel cost $30 whereas most commercial guest towels are around- $6-$10 each. We decided to invest in better quality, bigger and thicker, luxurious coloured towels- biege, brown & grey mist to match the new Duvet covers & new interiors. What we did not realise at the time was that - bleach products used with facial cleansers & hair dyes would strip the colour in patches. We have since replaced many of these quality towels involved . However- your towels were only a few months old & extremely clean. Most guests actually comment on the quality & feel of the towel that we use. We do appreciate a bleach mark may look like an "unclean" towel which was not good enough so thank you.As suggested we have had to invest in more towels- white this time. We apologise and we welcome you warmly back to Archway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

My wife and I, along with our 18mth old baby, stayed at this motel for one night on our way to Queenstown. It was well serviced, clean and ideally located near the centre of town. Of course, it is not an expensive motel and therefore you cannot expect to get the 5 star luxury offered by other newer places in town.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Lovely stay! Pleasantly surprised by our beautiful, spacious, and well-equipped self-catering two bedroom motel room which can comfortably accomodate 6 people. Wonderful and friendly service at the reception and the kids were kept entertained with the DVD's that can be borrowed from the reception counter. The lovely room and the warm service more than made up for the fact that the motel is a little distance away from the heart of Wanaka town and the lake. Our only regret was that we stayed only one night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful comments & valuable feedback. It is our guests & especially families like yourselves that make our motellier" experience"- rewarding & so special. We love meeting people and looking after our guests and that includes helping make them feel- welcome- a home away from home and with an attitude that "nothing" is too much to ask for. Families need entertainment- outdoors & indoors for busy & quieter, fun family times- the DVD free library works wonders. It also involves the guests & the management in a lovely on-going interaction. We wish you a happy & rewarding year and we look forward to many more happy families as you add to our experience just as much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The room was spacious, clean and very quiet. Our hosts were personable and helpful. We loved Wanaka and will definitely stay at Archways next time we visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We spent four nights in this motel. We've made several trips to New Zealand and this motel is equal first for all the places we've stayed.

Pros:

1. Inexpensive for Wanaka, particularly if you book using their autumn special

2. Very friendly and helpful hosts

3. Comfortable rooms. We had two bedrooms (one queen bed and three single beds), a fully-equipped kitchen and a comfortably-furnished family area

4. The hosts provide access to their DVD library. There were several titles suitable for our young daughter

5. Quiet - we didn't hear the family next door

6. Located about a 10 minute walk from the shops and the playground

Negative

1. Unreliable wireless internet access

2. Mattress was quite soft, but it may be preferred by others

Overall, highly recommended. We plan to stay here when we visit Wanaka in the future

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AusDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Archway Motels, responded to this review, May 14, 2010
Thank You Aussie Doug and lovely family for all your valuable comments.We try to encourage all our guests to provide feedback- especially if it isconstructive and helpful and most importantly to us directly as well as sharing with others. You will be interested to know that we have improved our wireless reception by 100% with a new aerial which has made a big difference. We had already planned for new Queen/King beds in the family unit and we have made many inroads in our plan to upgrade our facilities. We have already redecorated and refurbished( Reinsulated) 5 studio units in 2 years and have put new flat screen LCD Tvs in all units, new funky heaters and have many more renovation ideas. Our next big plan is to build new 1 bedroom units with ensuite only units to mix and match with these. They will be fully self-contained with Full kitchen/own laundry, elevators.Plenty to look forward to. We look forward to seeing you all again in the near future. All the best Bridgit & Paul- Your Archway Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archway Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archway Motels

Property: Archway Motels
Address: 64 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Archway Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your-"Home away from Home" Archway motel is set in 2 acres of grounds and tree-lined hillside. Only 5 minutes walk to the lake- we offer quiet, comfortable & spacious accommodation with mountain and bush outlooks.All units are ground-floor,non-smoking, are self-contained (kitchens/bathrooms), serviced daily and offer a range of studio- king, Queen & single bed units-many redecorated and enjoy our private rustic chalets. We also have 4 2/3 bedroom family units with King/Queen beds along with 3/4 single beds.Services & facilities include-Free Wi-Fi allocation,Internet computer with Skype also available, office/business services, DVDs & free DVD library. Large grounds/outdoor seating areas, 8 BBQ's,large playground.Soak & relax in New hillside cedar hot tubs with bush or panoramic views of the surrounding mountains & golf-course.(Fee normally applies but watch for inclusive offers/ package deals)Experience warm, southern hospitality with your Hosts- Bridgit & Paul. We are here to help make your visit the best it can be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archway Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing