We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our second stay confirmed our opinion. This has to be one of the best places to offer accommodation. We had our own studio room with kitchen and lounge, Trish's delicious muffins and home-made jams, not to mention her excellent recommendations of restaurants and walks around Wanaka. There's a beautiful garden to relax in and a splendid view. Even the DVD selection was wonderful. Trish and Davey couldn't be more helpful.

Hoggies

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 478Roger_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, General Manager at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such an appreciative review for us. It is always the greatest compliment when we have return guests coming back to stay here.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tervuren, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Everything was perfect: an amazing view of the glacier, a wonderful room much of space, very clean. It's a bed and breakfast but it's like you are at home; all you need for breakfast is in the kitchen and Trish puts delicious fresh fruit salads in the fridge. Also the homemade muffins were outstanding. The laundry was done without asking. The use of the garden was just for us. And Wanaka itself is a pleasant town and we made a few interesting walks like the Roys Peak track. In one word, it was a perfect stay, price-quality in balance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and all your compliments. It was great that you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka and made the most of some of the scenic walks on offer here.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here last year for two night and went back again this year for four to make the most of the splendid room with its cracking view of the glacier. When I say room this doesn't do justice to the expanse of space with bedroom, kitchen and living area and adjoining bathroom It is huge and wonderfully clean and comfortable. And aside from the room you have use of the garden with patio area and BBQ for your use.

Trish puts muffins and other delicious stuff in the fridge every day so you can have your breakfast when you want it. She and Davy are terrific hosts and if you have the time go out with Davy on his boat. ((splendid opportunity to swim in a lake on an island (Moa Waho) in a lake (Wanaka) on an island ….)). Francesca's restaurant in town good too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Just a few minutes from the center of Wanaka on the edge of paradise. A spacious, well appointed studio, with home made muffins and cookies. You can watch the sun set over the snow covered mountains as sheep and horses frolic in the pastures. As others have said Trish and Davey are splendid hosts.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaia18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you your review. I'm glad you felt so at home here at Avalanche B & B. As you say, Wanaka is on the edge of Paradise and it's great that we could contribute to your happy memories of this place.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sawbridgeworth
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

One night was not really enough. Well equipped and set out this is a dream accommodation. Look out of the window at the glacier and rolling countryside. The facilities are second to none and the stay was a real pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffSawbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and especially the views. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer next time. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review for us.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Avalanche Bed & Breakfast. The appartement is very spacy and the views are fantastic.
Trish and Davy: Thank you very much for your hospitality and the support to find walks and restaurant.
See you in Wanaka again - or Berlin :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chilkoottrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, the views, the walks and restaurant recommendation. Maybe we will see you in Berlin one day!

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the wonderfully spacious studio suite. Trish and Davey are perfect hosts and provided everything we could possibly need to make our stay enjoyable. Although we ate dinner out every evening, had we wanted to we could have cooked 'Cordon Bleu', the kitchen was so well equipped. Trish's baking is famed and second to none. The bed was comfortable and although we did not need it, included an electric blanket. We certainly would not hesitate to recommend this B&B as the place to stay in Wanaka for a most comfortable and relaxing experience. And finally, when the weather allows, the view of the Avalanche Glacier is delightful. If the weather does not allow the view, Trish and Davey's garden is just lovely.

Room Tip: The studio is spacious and has a kitchenette and dining area. There are other guest bedrooms and whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish P, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments on my home baking. I'm glad you had such a relaxing time here in Wanaka and that the missing hat finally reached you just in time!

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
778 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
12.8 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
347 reviews
2.3 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing