We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant B&B”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at several B&Bs in the South Island of NZ and this is by far the best. Our hosts Trish and Davey were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The accommodation was first class. We were provided with freshly baked muffins and cookies on arrival. The B&B was spacious and immaculate. Attention to detail was obvious throughout. The kitchen was well appointed and a spotless BBQ was also provided. We would highly recommend Avalanche!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed and felt immediately at home in this clean and comfortable home. Our accommodations far exceeded our expectations, and I particularly loved the beautiful gardens. Trish and Davey were engaging and patiently answered our endless questions. They went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed and knew where to go for hikes, food, bike rides, etc. Trish's muffins were wonderful! I would love to go back and stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed having you and your family to stay here. I'm glad you enjoyed the garden so much. It is a lovely time of year in Wanaka and it is nice to have guests appreciate their surroundings at Avalanche B & B. I hope we see you back here one day.

Kind regards Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved staying at Avalanche B&B. We stayed 2 nights in Trish and Davey's lovely self-contained unit which opened up to their beautiful backyard - the view is absolutely stunning with snow-capped mountains at the back with sheep and horses grazing in the farm across.

The unit was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with a kitchenette, dinning table and sofa and extra single bed. The bathroom was modern and clean.

Trish prepared yummy muffins, cookies and muesli for us in the morning, and how can we forget her beautiful homemade jam! She even kindly offered to do our laundry for us!

Trish and Davey were also extremely kind to share their local knowledge of Wanaka, what to do, which restaurants to try (they even printed restaurant menus in a folder!) etc.

We really enjoyed staying with them and hope to see them soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HK_WorldTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a great stay in Wanaka at Trish's home. She was very accommodating to all five of us and had excellent tourist information all laid out for us in our room. She also had the best homemade muesli I have ever tasted! I especially enjoyed her beautiful backyard and running about with the sheep just 20 yards outside our bedroom window. I have traveled many places around the world, but Wanaka has to be the most beautiful place I have ever been. I would love to come visit and stay at Trish's bed and breakfast again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amieellis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a lovely 2-night stay with Trish and Davey. The accommodation was a perfect balance of Bed-and-Breakfast and a self-contained unit. Having a separate entrance and small apartment gave us some privacy and space to relax (there were couches, a kitchen table and a small kitchenette) so that you had options other than a bed to sit on. This was great because it was raining for much of the time we were in Wanaka, and it allowed us a comfortable option to spend time in when we just wanted to read a book and have a cup of tea. The bed was comfortable and the ensuite bathroom was very clean.

While having the option for privacy, it was fantastic to have friendly and knowledgable hosts just a flight of stairs away. Davey gave us great advice on some local hikes to do in the area and also gave us a bit of a history lesson on the geography, which was great. They were also happy to make restaurant recommendations and will even make bookings on your behalf.

The breakfast was continental self-service (many of the places we stayed on our trip included a cooked breakfast), but the homemade muesli, muffins and jam were delicious and it was nice to be able to eat breakfast at our leisure as opposed to a set time. There was also a kitchenette so that if we wanted a hot breakfast, we could've made it ourselves.

Being a ground-floor unit (with Trish and Davey living upstairs), it did get a bit noisy at times, which didn't bother us, but thought it was worth mentioning.

Overall it was a very enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your long review. We do appreciate it when guests take to time to comment on their stay at Avalanche B & B. We aim to provide the best of self-contained and B & B accommodation here and it is good to hear that we achieved that with you. I'm pleased that you managed to do some good walks, despite the weather, and you enjoyed relaxing here when the rain made outside pursuits undesirable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Trish and Davey were excellent hosts for whom nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was very clean, spacious, warm and well appointed and Trish's homemade muesli, jams, muffins and slices were most welcome. This accommodation features a beautiful view towards Mt Avalanche, proximity to Wanaka without being too close, and visits from Poppy the beautifully natured dog, who would come down to greet us each morning. Both Trish and Davey are very knowledgeable about Wanaka and it's attractions and have bikes to explore the immediate area. Davey also offers fishing and trike outings if they're your thing. As cross country skiers it was great to come back to somewhere warm where muffins and slices would be waiting for us after a hard day up at the Snowfarm. We can highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDAN s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We did enjoy having you to stay and I'm glad you appreciated all the baking, views, and activities on offer in Wanaka. Poppy sends her regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Trish and Davy are a very friendly couple.
We enjoyed freshly baked biscuits and muffins left for us every day (and recipes shared!) as well as a huge selection of cereals, fresh home-made fruit salad, jams and other spreads.
There were plenty of maps and reference material to help us get the best out of our stay. The complimentary bikes were well set up and took us easily to Glendhu Bay and back.
The apartment was serviced every day - including doing dishes and bed that we hadn't got around to.
It's a longish walk to town but an easy 3 minute drive.
Unreserved recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkKath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#11 of 52 in Wanaka
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
2.0 mi away
Peak Sport Chalet
Peak Sport Chalet
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bill's Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing