We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts who exceeded all our expectations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts who exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Trish and Davey are wonderful hosts who genuinely care about their guests' comfort. Attention to detail shows in the amenities on offer and the delicious home-made baking and breakfast which was generously replenished for each day of our stay. This was the first time we have stayed in a B & B, as we prefer to be completely on our own, but we needn't have worried, as they made themselves available for any questions or activity advice needed, but otherwise gave us complete privacy. As a Nelson family who don't normally ski, we were woefully under-equipped for waterproof clothing for our day on the mountain - Trish and Davey generously loaned our teenage children their jackets and pants, making their day warmer and drier than it may otherwise have been! We will certainly be recommending the Avalanche B & B to all our family and friends. Thanks Trish and Davey for a wonderful stay in Wanaka.

Room Tip: The Queen bed in the studio offers a lovely view of the mountains, but for those who value more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a great time relaxing at Davey and Trishs' wonderful home. Amazing food, plenty of room and comfortable beds! Their advice on what to do and where to go was very helpful, as well as their useful updates on the weather. We have already recommended our family to stay there later this year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilinglisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Davy and Trish were suberb hosts who made us feel very comfortable and they were also especially helpful with suggestions on which restaurants and places to visit. We actually changed our itinerary based on their ideas. Lovely suggestions! The house is beautiful and our spacious room opened up into a lovely garden with a swing. The self-serve breakfast portion was so generous and delicious, we couldn't finish it! Should have packed away the muffin : )). They have a very cute dog,Poppy, who was really friendly and also very happy to pose for photos. She made the place warmer with her loveable nature! We'd love to be back stay when we visit New Zealand again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a great place to base yourself for exploring Wanaka. Plenty of room, a comfy bed and too much food! I wish we had stayed longer so I could have tried more of the cereals and home made jams. (I love those jam jars!) We couldn't get through the muffins and biscuits so we took them with us. Also the freshly caught and cooked trout that Davey brought into us was an added bonus.
This would be a great place for a larger group and we are hoping to come back someday with some of the family.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank petalbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for writing such a nice review for us. We do appreciate feedback from our guests and it was great to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to your return with family some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The host was very nice and Recommended some nice spots to take pictures. The location is not on the main street but it is very easy to reach by a car only several minutes. The breakfast is put in the kitchen and we can help ourselves to it. The view from garden was also nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us. I'm glad you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting here and the wonderful photo opportunities in Wanaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We a family of three were totally awe, taking in the beautiful setting and listening to bird chirpings from the living room ! BBQing meats and the fresh catch from Lake Wanaka in the cool crisp night with wine had thrilled us the most. Both Davy and Trish the excellent host, always ensure we were comfortable. We loved their home made fruit jams, muesli and muffins and cookies. Not forgetting the fishing too !
Keep it up Davy & Trish, we will be back !
:-) :-) -: )

Peter, Eugenia & Markus Singapore 6th to 8th May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and the icing on the cake was catching fish with Davy on the launch and bringing them back here to cook for your evening meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous! Spacious and tastefully furnished, with all the comforts of home, plus warm and wonderful hosts who welcome you like old friends. Trish's homemade preserves and baked goodies are to die for. And her restaurant recommendations are spot on. Davy is a wealth of information on Wanaka and his Trike tours are a must - taking In some of the best sights accompanied by a highly entertaining running commentary. Stay there and be enchanted.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gohsu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Manager at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for both your reviews, the B & B and the trike tour with Adventure Wanaka. It was such a pleasure to have you both to stay here and to know that you enjoyed your Wanaka experience so much.
I always enjoy complimentary feedback on my home baking and preserves. Makes it all worthwhile!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing