We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmest B&B stay during our whole trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Davy and Trish were suberb hosts who made us feel very comfortable and they were also especially helpful with suggestions on which restaurants and places to visit. We actually changed our itinerary based on their ideas. Lovely suggestions! The house is beautiful and our spacious room opened up into a lovely garden with a swing. The self-serve breakfast portion was so generous and delicious, we couldn't finish it! Should have packed away the muffin : )). They have a very cute dog,Poppy, who was really friendly and also very happy to pose for photos. She made the place warmer with her loveable nature! We'd love to be back stay when we visit New Zealand again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a great place to base yourself for exploring Wanaka. Plenty of room, a comfy bed and too much food! I wish we had stayed longer so I could have tried more of the cereals and home made jams. (I love those jam jars!) We couldn't get through the muffins and biscuits so we took them with us. Also the freshly caught and cooked trout that Davey brought into us was an added bonus.
This would be a great place for a larger group and we are hoping to come back someday with some of the family.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank petalbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2013

Thank you for writing such a nice review for us. We do appreciate feedback from our guests and it was great to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to your return with family some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

The host was very nice and Recommended some nice spots to take pictures. The location is not on the main street but it is very easy to reach by a car only several minutes. The breakfast is put in the kitchen and we can help ourselves to it. The view from garden was also nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliaxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us. I'm glad you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting here and the wonderful photo opportunities in Wanaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We a family of three were totally awe, taking in the beautiful setting and listening to bird chirpings from the living room ! BBQing meats and the fresh catch from Lake Wanaka in the cool crisp night with wine had thrilled us the most. Both Davy and Trish the excellent host, always ensure we were comfortable. We loved their home made fruit jams, muesli and muffins and cookies. Not forgetting the fishing too !
Keep it up Davy & Trish, we will be back !
:-) :-) -: )

Peter, Eugenia & Markus Singapore 6th to 8th May 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and the icing on the cake was catching fish with Davy on the launch and bringing them back here to cook for your evening meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Absolutely fabulous! Spacious and tastefully furnished, with all the comforts of home, plus warm and wonderful hosts who welcome you like old friends. Trish's homemade preserves and baked goodies are to die for. And her restaurant recommendations are spot on. Davy is a wealth of information on Wanaka and his Trike tours are a must - taking In some of the best sights accompanied by a highly entertaining running commentary. Stay there and be enchanted.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank gohsu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Manager at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for both your reviews, the B & B and the trike tour with Adventure Wanaka. It was such a pleasure to have you both to stay here and to know that you enjoyed your Wanaka experience so much.
I always enjoy complimentary feedback on my home baking and preserves. Makes it all worthwhile!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

When we saw the studio at Avalanche Bed & Breakfast we know we will love it. There is nothing that you would miss. Our hosts Trish and Davy could not be nicer. Both like to have guest – and you can feel at every minute. This B&B was one of our most beautiful accommodations on our journey around the South Island. We like to use the BBQ and had dinner with a view over the garden and the mountains. Thanks Trish and Davy for everything again. One of our best experiences was the Wanaka Lake Cruise with Davy. If you stay in Wanaka do this! We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuleRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed only one night, but the experience is really woundful and pleasant, thouht this B & B is thousand miles away from our country, we feel like at home. Cozy and friendly, Trish and David made us as comfort as they can, the purely homemade breakfast is health and delicious, it is a amazing memory for all of us. David had also guided us to make BBQ, we will definately remember this fantastic stay and hospitable host.
Jimmy

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyZhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrice3, Owner at Avalanche Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's great to hear that guests feel at home when they are so far from their own home. We enjoy meeting people from all over the world.
I'm glad you enjoyed the view and breakfast supplies and also learning to use a BBQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Peak Sport Chalet
Peak Sport Chalet
#7 of 53 in Wanaka
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bill's Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $139 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing