We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Wingham, Canada
1 review
“Love this place”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We came unexpected because we didn't prebook. We had a warm welcome, fresh muffins,cookies, a barbeque to ourselves and good advice about tramping and prebook our daytrip to Doubtful Sound.
Trish gave us muesli bars for our hike and they tasted so good. The room has a beautiful outlook on the mountains and the glacier. Trish send us the recipe from the bars we really liked.
Davy and Trish, we had the best stay at your place from our 4 weeks travelling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
121
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were greeted at the gate by Trish, the hospitality was great, as we were relocating to Wanaka both Trish and Davy were happy to chat to us about how things work in Wanaka. The rooms were very clean and tidy, the home baking was a real treat. Thanks a lot Trish and Davy, we will be recommending you to all our friends that come to Wanaka.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband, new baby and I stayed here for the second time recently. I am pleased to say it was even better than our first stay! The hospitality is second to none - home made baking, beautiful breakfast, rooms immaculate. Plus once again there were so many little extras like face wipes, nice shampoo and conditioner, the use of a big bbq, not to mention all of the baby gear! We had use of a portacot, highchair and toys which made the stay very easy - a home away from home! The garden is beautiful and the B&B is only a short walk to Wanaka town centre along the beautiful lake front. Another very enjoyable experience. Trish and Davy really do know how to host - we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Wanaka. The best B&B we have stayed at and we have travelled the world.

Room Tip: Book out the main suite and its bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and myself are active travellers. We find that Avalanche BB is one of the best family oriented accomodation we had ever stayed in. Trish and Davy have been very thoughtful in all areas. From a fully, well equiped room to the needs of my children, nothing were being missed. The room is very spacious, spotless clean and well-heated, with a breathtaking mountains view. Toys and wide range of videos to keep my children occupied. Beautiful garden to keep us close to nature. Not forgetting their lovely dog, Poppy. Till date my children still miss Poppy. Trish and Davy have been excellent hosts and made us feel very at home. This is really a superb, lovely and family-friendly place to stay in. We were very pleased we had made the right choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai_Theng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There is nothing missing in this wonderful B&B. I don't think it is possible to have a better experience. The first thing we felt was the hospitality of hosts Trish and Davy. Both love there home and it shows. Comfortable roomy spotlessly clean with every attention to detail. Breakfast goodies to fill you up for a days activities. Excellent advice on what to see and do from both Tish and Davy. Highly recomend the "Rob Roy Glacier" day trip. It is one of the best and free hikes in the South Is. in our opinion. Couldn't finish Tish's fruit salad on our last day so did a "take out" as we wouldn't dream of leaving it behind!! There friendly pooch Poppy is there each morning to greet you to a new day in stunning Wanaka.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denisedale_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Avalanche bed and breakfast is really among the best places we have stayed in. The studio is very spacious with separate bathroom facilities,the view of the garden and across to the mountains is lovely. It is private and very well equipped. Trish's fruit salad in the morning was lovely and all the things that make self catering easy were there.
Trish and Davy are excellent hosts and always ready with advice.
All together a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriette545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have you ever arrived in a B&B or hotel room, tired and worn out from a day's activities, only to realise you need to drive into town again for the little something you have forgotten to pack or buy? This happens to us now and then. We have forgotten combs, shavers, and even milk for the kids. So we were pretty amazed by all the little things Trish has prepared for us in the room! Toys to keep the children occupied, a wide range of DVDs and books, delicious cookies for late night cravings, fresh milk and juices in the fridge, heated towels and of course, the life-saver for this trip, the travel adapter!

The studio is self-contained in every sense of the word. While we love chatting with our hosts (Davy and Trish are very nice people!), it was also incredible to be able to have breakfast as and when we like it (we usually rise before the sun does!). No worries about inconveniencing our hosts in any way. Poppy the puppy is of course incredibly fun! My little girl says Poppy is her "favourite animal in NZ" The garden looks amazing, and we also love the sunrise over Avalanche in the distance.

It's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
780 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
344 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing