We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second stay, even better than the first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband, new baby and I stayed here for the second time recently. I am pleased to say it was even better than our first stay! The hospitality is second to none - home made baking, beautiful breakfast, rooms immaculate. Plus once again there were so many little extras like face wipes, nice shampoo and conditioner, the use of a big bbq, not to mention all of the baby gear! We had use of a portacot, highchair and toys which made the stay very easy - a home away from home! The garden is beautiful and the B&B is only a short walk to Wanaka town centre along the beautiful lake front. Another very enjoyable experience. Trish and Davy really do know how to host - we will definitely stay here again next time we are in Wanaka. The best B&B we have stayed at and we have travelled the world.

Room Tip: Book out the main suite and its bliss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 233 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and myself are active travellers. We find that Avalanche BB is one of the best family oriented accomodation we had ever stayed in. Trish and Davy have been very thoughtful in all areas. From a fully, well equiped room to the needs of my children, nothing were being missed. The room is very spacious, spotless clean and well-heated, with a breathtaking mountains view. Toys and wide range of videos to keep my children occupied. Beautiful garden to keep us close to nature. Not forgetting their lovely dog, Poppy. Till date my children still miss Poppy. Trish and Davy have been excellent hosts and made us feel very at home. This is really a superb, lovely and family-friendly place to stay in. We were very pleased we had made the right choice!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ai_Theng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

There is nothing missing in this wonderful B&B. I don't think it is possible to have a better experience. The first thing we felt was the hospitality of hosts Trish and Davy. Both love there home and it shows. Comfortable roomy spotlessly clean with every attention to detail. Breakfast goodies to fill you up for a days activities. Excellent advice on what to see and do from both Tish and Davy. Highly recomend the "Rob Roy Glacier" day trip. It is one of the best and free hikes in the South Is. in our opinion. Couldn't finish Tish's fruit salad on our last day so did a "take out" as we wouldn't dream of leaving it behind!! There friendly pooch Poppy is there each morning to greet you to a new day in stunning Wanaka.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denisedale_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Avalanche bed and breakfast is really among the best places we have stayed in. The studio is very spacious with separate bathroom facilities,the view of the garden and across to the mountains is lovely. It is private and very well equipped. Trish's fruit salad in the morning was lovely and all the things that make self catering easy were there.
Trish and Davy are excellent hosts and always ready with advice.
All together a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henriette545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Have you ever arrived in a B&B or hotel room, tired and worn out from a day's activities, only to realise you need to drive into town again for the little something you have forgotten to pack or buy? This happens to us now and then. We have forgotten combs, shavers, and even milk for the kids. So we were pretty amazed by all the little things Trish has prepared for us in the room! Toys to keep the children occupied, a wide range of DVDs and books, delicious cookies for late night cravings, fresh milk and juices in the fridge, heated towels and of course, the life-saver for this trip, the travel adapter!

The studio is self-contained in every sense of the word. While we love chatting with our hosts (Davy and Trish are very nice people!), it was also incredible to be able to have breakfast as and when we like it (we usually rise before the sun does!). No worries about inconveniencing our hosts in any way. Poppy the puppy is of course incredibly fun! My little girl says Poppy is her "favourite animal in NZ" The garden looks amazing, and we also love the sunrise over Avalanche in the distance.

It's a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlaykhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I don't know where to start with as everything about Avalanche B&B is excellent. Excellent Hosts - Trish and Davy, provided so much of attention and made us feel so comfortable, Excellent Rooms and Facilities, Excellent views. It was like home away from home. Not to forget cute Poppy with whom our daughters enjoyed playing and had lots of fun. We would surely recommended Avalanche B&B for any one going to Wanaka. Thank you Trish and Davy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPPBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First,thanks hosts Trish,Davy,offer this fabulous house to us,especilly the cute Poppy,my son is very happy ,play with it,the room is very comfortable,warm ,clean....i found the bowl in the closet is made in china ,Jin De Zheng,ancient style,lol....also thanks Davy ,the motor is cool.....it's pity we just live one night....will be back...must!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tang B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
850 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
13.5 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#7 of 53 in Wanaka
366 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Address: 74 Bills Way, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $140 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and great walking/biking tracks, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalanche Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing