We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Defiantly the Best B&B in NZ !!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Defiantly the Best B&B in NZ !!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

The best B&B in NZ, and we stayed in many. We stayed for three nights in February. Trish and Davy (and Pupy) are lovely and caring people, taking care of everything, which result in a very relaxing vacation. The B&B is most equipped. The unit has a large seating area inside. A large and most comfortable bed. You have your own large yard with the butiful views of Wanaka and of the glacier. We used the BBQ facilities which located in the yard and had some lovely dinners there. The unit is meticulously clean. The breakfast is the best. They put everything you can think of at your privet kitchen and fridge each day (6 types of cereals, toasts, fresh juice and fruits, salad, milk, jams, honey nutella, fresh home baked muffins… and much more). And all in the best views of your room. In the room corner you can find all you need to know and do in Wanaka. Their location is realy great. 4 minutes drive from city center.
If you visit Wananka you must stay there.
Liran&Noa

Room Tip: Book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Liran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
119
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a really excellent B&B and deserves its rave reviews. We had the main studio room and ensuite for 5 nights at end of January 2012. The room is very spacious, light and comfortable as well as being immaculate. The view from here is superb, through the garden, over meadows and between trees to a full view of the magnificent Avalanche glacier in the distance. The room opens to a large covered terrace and barbecue area with seating all for your private use and then in to the garden. The location is totally peaceful yet only 5 minutes walk to the lakefront. Trish and Davy were marvellous hosts - very friendly, knowlegeable and helpful - and nothing was too much for them. Trish's breakfasts and her continuous supply of muffins and biscuits were of an equally high standard. We had the added bonus of a guided tour on Davy's motor trike. This was an experience not to be missed- we learned so much and had great fun. Overall a really great start to our latest New Zealand holiday- and we'll certainly return to Avalanche.

Room Tip: The studio room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

If you are in Wanaka, this is the place to stay. Its like having your cake and eating it too. Trish and Davy are people you would find in your close family. They seem to have an amazing knack of knowing exactly what you are looking out for. My wife and I had been there for a day and we stayed with them. Right from the breakfast to their recommendations on food and activities, everything was amazingly well thought of. Trish and Davy even had us dropped to the city for the food / activities and also picked us up. The breakfast (home made and I mean it) was great. The muffins, cookies and muesli along with the jam and juices were just mouth watering and filling. We even took their bikes for a ride around the town. The pets are the icing on the cake. A couple of dogs (one of them was pretty small when we were there) and a cat make it a complete home. Davy took us out on his great signature :-) trike tour around wanaka with live commentary. Overall a great experience. Finally...before I forget (its quite easy to forget)...the property is tastefully decorated and well maintained and has amazing views of the mountains. Its quite easy for the property (which in itself is amazing) to get overshadowed in the presence of the wonderful Trish and Davy. Only regret is that we had just one day there. Will come back for more sometime.!

Room Tip: Just leave it to Trish and Davy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GanapathyIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have stayed at this B&B twice and received the same warm welcome both times. We especially liked the personal touches, homemade granola, fresh juice, homebaked cookies. The view is beautiful and visitors can enjoy it while eating on the picnic table in the garden.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We chose the Avalanche B&B from reading the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. The room is more like a suite with a kitchen, sitting area, huge bathroom and sliding doors out the garden (where we ate our breakfast). Breakfast is self-catering where everything is provided for you in the fridge the night before so you can eat what and when you want. The owners were very friendly and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

The most unique characteristic about B&B is that Trish (the host) only accepts one party at a time. This is real special - the spacious room, ensuite, is equipped with small pantry and wide glass sliding door to the back garden and panoramic view of the Avalanche Glacier. Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lovely location, great views, friendly hosts, great facilities. Clean, comfortable, well maintained. We travelled with our 2 year old who was made feel at home and kept disappearing up the stairs into Trish's home to return laden with home baking!! Breakfast is self-catering continental style (food all provided and left in your room in the kitchenette) but really lovely and suited us as a young family that we didn't have to stick to a specific meal time. Thankyou!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weemebelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalanche Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalanche Bed and Breakfast

Property: Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Address: 74 Bills Way | Rippon Lea, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious self-contained studio has spectacular views over farmland to the mountains and Avalanche Glacier. Just 2.5 Km from the centre of town, 10 minutes walk to the lake and a quality restaurant, Avalanche B & B provides private, peaceful accommodation. Delicious continental breakfast supplies and home baking provided each day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing