We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location!”
Review of Bella Vista Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bella Vista Wanaka
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Bella Vista is in a great location, right in the centre of Wanaka and with gorgeous views of the lake. The rooms/apartments are really spacious and beautifully decorated. We also had a lovely living area and kitchen. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cailinshligigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 379 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

I stayed here for a week and enjoyed my time a lot. The room was very clean and spacious, the staff very very friendly and helpful. The Bella Vista is located just some steps from the best cafes and restaurants of the town, the supermarket just around the corner. All the same, it is a very quiet place, and the view on the mountains is just breathtaking. I am looking forward staying here again!

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Runningrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Very clean and neat unit in a great location. Whilst it is a lot smaller than anywhere else we have stayed in the South Island, it is big enough for a couple and still has everything you need for a short stay. Very friendly and helpful staff to top it off!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank debstagreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Wanaka cold & wet as our motorbike ride from Queenstown to Wanaka was in appalling rain & Paul not only made us feel welcome but opened up the ski gear drying room for our clothing too.
Not content with just doing that but he helped our son find a backpacker hostel for the night too.
The Bella Vista is ideally placed in town for everything & the rooms are both clean but also in very good condition too.
I recommend this place highly, not something I often do.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank grubbytech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This has location going for it in a big way so any comments about decor, lighting etc. fall by the wayside and just become passing remarks about dated furnishings. It's comfortable, a bit cramped but overall, no issues. We had a picnic table outside our place where we could grab a beer as the sun went down which was great.

The owner is a friendly Australian who gave us plenty of good advice about trips from Wanaka and expressed pride that Mount Aspiring was only 2,000 feet lower than Mount Cook. All in all, a good experience.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent Location in Wanaka and friendly hosts. I would recommend staying on the second floor as you get magnificent views of Lake Wanaka and the Snow Covered Alpine Peaks. Wi-Fi while not free is more than adequate for $5 for all of our family (we had 3 rooms) to check emails, banking and surf the net for 2 days. The rooms are fresh, clean and crisp sheets and the bathroom facilities are adequate for a couple. Located in the street behind the Lakes Esplanade and adjacent to the shopping district and restaurants this is an ideal base to site see Wanaka.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Have just travelled both islands of NZ and stayed in six of these properties. Wanaka was our last stay and we were very pleased to be given a free upgrade to a king room with sauna bath. Hosts very helpful and friendly and the location in the heart of the town is great. As with most of the B.V. Wi-fi is not free but vouchers available. Also if you wish to do your laundry, you are limited to between 2 & 7 p.m. at this particular location, as the motel uses the same facilities. Overall a great stay.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, try to request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaiKungTaiTai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Wanaka

Address: 2 Dunmore Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION – LOCATION – LOCATION. We are situated in a fantastic location in a quiet cul de sac in the centre of town, just 150 metres from the lake front. Stay in one of the 18 modern, affordable, comfortable fully serviced units and enjoy the beautiful views that Bella Vista Wanaka has to offer. Park your car, stroll everywhere and take in the unforgettable alpine scenery of Mt. Aspiring National Park and Lake Wanaka. Stop for a lunch by the lakefront or enjoy a wine and evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bella Vista Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing