We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!!”
Review of Beacon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beacon Lodge
Ranked #29 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Isolation 3 minutes from the center of town,spotless,beautifully....everything,perfect balance of lake and white peaks view, you are in the middle of it all, absorbed in the sound of silence...the breakfast,hosting,value and experience were second to none,16th trip to NZ,and this is the one to beat....as it wasn't enough,Rosie and Steve's son is the egg man in the region and keep the best,golden yellow ones for Mum!!! Real eggs...say no more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Thought we must have walked into a property straight out of Home Beautiful or House and Garden. Stunning does not do this property justice !! Views to Die For from every single room, even our bathroom ! We did not even close our drapes to sleep, we didn't want to miss the view as the sun rose. I don't think I could ever tire looking out that bedroom window.The room was beautifully appointed and very well designed with ample space for your luggage. You even had your own bar fridge and tea/coffee facilities plus a variety of glasses and even plates and cutlery if you wanted to enjoy a snack on your private patio. Steve and Rosie's garden is award worthy - exquisite. Rosie and Steve were the most charming hosts, very warm and gracious. Rosie served a delicious breakfast each morning and both her and Steve were happy to share their local knowledge and tips on the best things to see and do. Wanaka is the most stunning area and we just hope Rosie and Steve are operating when we return as we would not want to stay anywhere else in Wanaka.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the house, you have a different view from each window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinnyLuvsBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed with Steve and Rosie twice (unintentionally) on our trip to the south island. The first time we had booked to stay there and the second, when we had to take a detour due to the storms on the west coast of the island. The second time Steve and Rosie graciously let us stay on very short notice.

The house itself is amazing – fantastic views and very comfortable. Our room had an ensuite, a deck overlooking the lake and the mountains and a walk in wardrobe. It was extremely comfortable and quiet. Upon arrival Rosie also had freshly baked cookies waiting in our room (as well as fresh flowers!)

The breakfasts were great too – a huge selection of cold and hot breakfast items (and delicious cooked breakfasts) and one day we were lucky to have fresh strawberries and raspberries from Rosie’s garden.

In short, we really enjoyed our stay – thanks Steve and Rosie!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The views from Beacon Lodge are breathtaking, looking over the lake to the mountains. The rooms were beautifully designed, light and airy and very private with French windows opening on to meticulously kept gardens. The house could easily grace the best of any design magazine. It was indeed a very special place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lots of good things have been written here already and we were pretty much expecting a more than first class B&B. And yes, it managed to even exceed those expectations because of the wonderful hosts Rosie and Steve. I do not want to write down what they did for us, but I can tell you we would never expect that level of commitment. The property itself is awesome, with wonderful views, a terrace perfectly made for BBQ, nice rooms to feel at home and during our 6 nights stay we always felt comfortable and "at home". We have made no plans yet, but it is very sure we will be back in Wanaka in the future and there is no other place I would go, because this place has got it all. (and yes, breakfast was delicious!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markus252_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It takes special people to be able to welcome strangers into their own home and make them feel like family and Rosie and Steve do this perfectly. Upon arriving, my partner and myself were warmly greeted by Rosie and shown to our beautiful room. The room is very spacious with a stunning bathroom (shower is amazing) and plenty of storage space. Outside, you have your own private balcony with stunning views of the lake as well as a Hot Tub. Throughout our 4 night stay, Rosie and Steve made us feel like we were staying with family, always warm and gracious hosts. On our last night, we were fortunate enough to have a bbq dinner with them as well as another travelling couple out on their deck. While Wanaka itself is just breath-taking, staying at Beacon Lodge made all the difference for us. We will forever have fond memories of our time here and a big part of that is in credit to Rosie and Steve for sharing their home with us. We are planning on coming back to Wanaka in winter and we will stay again at Beacon Lodge. Thank you Rosie and Steve, you have given us a holiday to truly remember. Jonathan and Rebecca.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaCook22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We were lucky to have chosen Beacon Lodge for a three night stay in Wanaka. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Rosie and shown to our room which had fantastic views across the lake and to the mountains beyond. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Good shower and a separate dressing area. Also the room had crockery/cutlery which we used for a picknick on our terrace. Glass of wine with some cheese, olives, salad - perfect watching the sun go down.
The hosts, Steve and Rosie are easy going and very helpful. Breakfast was served by Rosie at our request. For one of our hikes, Steve contacted the DOC centre to check if the fords were not too deep for our little hire car. After a long day tramping (or hiking), we relaxed in the spa pool with a glass of wine, well what more can you wish for.
Upon departure they even let us hose down the car which was covered in dust! Lovely people, excellent facilities, beautiful views. Everything was just right.

Room Tip: The two rooms are both fine - just make sure you get to book one of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScorpioLondon57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
Tin Tub Luxury Lodge
#19 of 52 in Wanaka
46 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Te Wanaka Lodge
Te Wanaka Lodge
#16 of 52 in Wanaka
273 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#13 of 52 in Wanaka
163 reviews
1.8 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#14 of 52 in Wanaka
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Lodge

Property: Beacon Lodge
Address: 249 Beacon Point Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine waking up and being able to see the lake and mountains from your beautifully comfortable bed! Both guest rooms at Beacon Lodge offer this plus much more.... Luxurious en-suites, tea/coffee facilities, fridge, use of spa pool and tennis court. In winter enjoy open fires inside and outside and take advantage of Steve's extensive knowledge of local ski fields. Laundry facilities and drying room also available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing