We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful,private and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #26 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful,private and perfect”
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Hayloft for three nights on our tour of New Zealand. What a great find! This place has real character and charm, beautiful views and is really peaceful, quiet and relaxing. After staying in a few traditional B & B's we really enjoyed having the whole loft apartment to ourselves. We had several great nights sleep and could make our breakfast from the well stocked kitchenette whenever we wanted.
Although it felt like we were the only people around, we could just pop downstairs for information when we needed to. John and Julie provided some great tips on restaurants and walks in the area and nothing was too much trouble. We really hope to get back to this stunning part of the world again and will definitely be back to the Hayloft!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBigE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
SueBigE
Thanks for posting! It's good to know you enjoyed the peace and quiet - we like to think of the loft as a private sanctuary with us not too far away if you need anything... hopefully the best of both worlds! So many of our guests comment on how nice it is to have the option to cook... glad you enjoyed the Rob Roy track - yes, it is pretty spectacular... we are spoilt for choice :)
Look forwarding to catching up with you both on your next trip.
Best wishes Julie & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Passau
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

March this year was the third time we've stayed with John and Julie at The Hayloft. The fact we keep returning says everything - this is the perfect place to base yourself for a stay in the region.

The Loft itself is its own self-contained apartment - a place that as soon as you walk into it feels like home (or at least the home you'd create if you had this sense of style). The view from the couch really does look like all those beautiful pictures on the internet, only better because you're actually there yourself!

John and Julie are incredibly generous and welcoming hosts who make you feel at home straight away. They always give us excellent tips for places to go hiking and the best places to eat in town.

I can't recommend The Hayloft more highly. It's the very best of boutique accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissPenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Miss Penoir
It is always a pleasure to see our guests again. Glad you enjoyed your hiking and your meal. We’re so pleased you feel at home here in our little piece of paradise and we hope to see you again soon!
Best Wishes.... John and Julie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed at the Hayloft as a part of our honeymoon roadtrip around NZ and it was our favorite spot of the trip. John and Julie are the perfect hosts - they stocked our fridge with fresh jam and champagne, and even covered our car window at night to prevent frost. They were caring and concerned without being intrusive. The apartment is beautiful - it is so much space and really well appointed. You could not ask for a prettier view. I hope we make it back to NZ some time soon and if so we will definitely stay in the Hayloft again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahjones_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
sarahjones_10
We love having honeymooners to stay :) ... knowing how many fantastic places there are in NZ we really appreciate your kind comments... we hope you make it back soon too!
Best Wishes ... Julie & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed there in April 2007 and enjoyed it very much, although or perhaps because the house is built from bales of hay - hence the name "The Hayloft". If you don't believe it, check with the owner.
If you are a "cloud spotter" or a "star" gazer', this place is ideal, because it sports balconies to the west and the east and even an overhead window (to watch from your cozy bed), that you won't miss anything. If you haven't seen the "starry" nightskies of NZ yet, it's about time you should. you will never forget.
However, during daylight Wanaka offers a lot, too, e.g. great tracks in a dream landscape, one along the river "Clutha", a second by the'"Diamond Lake", to name but two. The owner has many more to recommend.
Wilfried & Saovanee, Bangkok, Thailand

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTCT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayern
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

A few months ago, my wife and I stayed in this wonderful guest house/apartment. Being avid film fans, we found our host John to be an expert in everything surrounding the filming of The Lord of the Rings which had been partly filmed in the area. This really made our day, as he was able to point out a lot of the film locations to us.

The hospitality of Julie and John was great, and they really took time to give us plenty of tips for our stay in the Hayloft.

What was also great was the fact that their house is built with haybarn. We had never heard of that before. Nevertheless, the apartment is lovingly decorated and has balconies with just the most stunning views.

The Hayloft is a winner! We'll be back, most likely again in March next year.

Pennie and Stefan

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonelymountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were travelling through New Zealand for 3 weeks, and this was really one of the best places we came across. The apartment is so tastefully decorated that you would like to stay at least for a week. I has an independant access, a huge shower, a lovely bedroom with a very comfortable mattress, a living room with a small kitchen where you find everything to prepare your own meals, and two balconies. Breakfast provisions can be provided on request. The owners, John and Julie, are very charming and give you all the information you need about this beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Hayloft, Wanaka
Not just a B&B but a whole apartment, with independent access and spacious accommodation including 2 balconies - one off the bedroom and one off the living room. Tasteful, low-key decoration; top quality bed and cotton sheets; huge shower; kitchen with generous provisions for first night; free use of washing machine and internet; fabulous location. As soon as we were shown round we asked if we could increase our stay from 3 nights to 4 and, although it rained nearly all the time we were there, it didn't matter because we were in such an aesthetically-pleasing, comfortable home-from-home with great rural views. Our hosts, John and Julie, were charming and helpful and utterly discreet. Of all our 13 very good stays in New Zealand, this was the best. Stay as long as you can; there is heaps to do in Wanaka, even in wet weather.
S&A Fry, South West England

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SfromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
21.7 mi away
Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Alpine View Lodge
Alpine View Lodge
#4 of 45 in Wanaka
227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 45 in Wanaka
130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Property: The Hayloft
Address: 272 Ballantyne Road | RD2, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly invite you to stay at our unique, strawbale loft apartment set on 16 acres of rolling farmland and enjoying fantastic views of the Southern Alps. The perfect retreat for a couple, the Hayloft is a spacious, fully self contained part of our home with its own private access and will be exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Although self catering, breakfast provisions can be provided for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing