We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything here was lovely - the apartment, the view, the owners”
Review of The Hayloft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hayloft
Ranked #24 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This was by far the best place we stayed during our trip to the South Island, with a well stocked kitchen, very comfortable bedroom and spacious lounge and bathroom areas. Not at all far from the centre of town but far enough away to have peace and quiet. Skylights provide natural light (and starlight!) and the whole place is extremely cosy. Fantastic views of the hills. John and Julie were very knowledgeable and helpful, providing good advice on places to visit and eat at on our way back to Queenstown

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanCaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Hi IanCaroline

Thanks so much for your feedback ! The stars here are pretty spectacular here aren't they? It was lovely to meet you both and we're glad to hear our tips for Queenstown were helpful. Hope to see you next time you are in NZ.
Kind regards Julie and John.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2010

excellent place - excellent , the room, shower, lounge and balcony were excellent, not to mention the view. On top of that - the owners are extremely nice and knowledgeable!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilzoizner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2010

Hi Gilzoizner
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hayloft... 2 things we think are really important for our guests are an excellent shower and a comfortable bed. Oh yes, and those great views help too! We had fun sharing our insiders tips on the area with you.
Best wishes, Julie & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We spent a couple of weeks touring the South Island in a camper van and decided to have a wee splurge for a couple of nights when we got to Wanaka. The Hayloft was a real treat and lived up to its glowing reviews. John and Julie gave us some great tips for our trip and spent a fair bit of time researching options for tours for us... nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for going above and beyond our expectations. We’ll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rjbinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2010

Hi rjbinoz

Thanks for your post and photos - we love our ever changing view from the balcony too. Funnily enough we have a few guests taking a wee break from their campervan but also a few taking a break from more 'upmarket' accommodation. Hopefully we are a happy medium, an affordable splurge! Glad we could be of assistance with your tour arrangements. Being a tour guide I know how important it is to choose the right tour! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Bests wishes, John and Julie
PS Just for clarity for anyone browsing, rjbinoz's first beautiful pic of Wanaka is from a mountain ridge and not from the Hayloft!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Hayloft for three nights on our tour of New Zealand. What a great find! This place has real character and charm, beautiful views and is really peaceful, quiet and relaxing. After staying in a few traditional B & B's we really enjoyed having the whole loft apartment to ourselves. We had several great nights sleep and could make our breakfast from the well stocked kitchenette whenever we wanted.
Although it felt like we were the only people around, we could just pop downstairs for information when we needed to. John and Julie provided some great tips on restaurants and walks in the area and nothing was too much trouble. We really hope to get back to this stunning part of the world again and will definitely be back to the Hayloft!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueBigE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2010

SueBigE
Thanks for posting! It's good to know you enjoyed the peace and quiet - we like to think of the loft as a private sanctuary with us not too far away if you need anything... hopefully the best of both worlds! So many of our guests comment on how nice it is to have the option to cook... glad you enjoyed the Rob Roy track - yes, it is pretty spectacular... we are spoilt for choice :)
Look forwarding to catching up with you both on your next trip.
Best wishes Julie & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

March this year was the third time we've stayed with John and Julie at The Hayloft. The fact we keep returning says everything - this is the perfect place to base yourself for a stay in the region.

The Loft itself is its own self-contained apartment - a place that as soon as you walk into it feels like home (or at least the home you'd create if you had this sense of style). The view from the couch really does look like all those beautiful pictures on the internet, only better because you're actually there yourself!

John and Julie are incredibly generous and welcoming hosts who make you feel at home straight away. They always give us excellent tips for places to go hiking and the best places to eat in town.

I can't recommend The Hayloft more highly. It's the very best of boutique accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissPenoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

Miss Penoir
It is always a pleasure to see our guests again. Glad you enjoyed your hiking and your meal. We’re so pleased you feel at home here in our little piece of paradise and we hope to see you again soon!
Best Wishes.... John and Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed at the Hayloft as a part of our honeymoon roadtrip around NZ and it was our favorite spot of the trip. John and Julie are the perfect hosts - they stocked our fridge with fresh jam and champagne, and even covered our car window at night to prevent frost. They were caring and concerned without being intrusive. The apartment is beautiful - it is so much space and really well appointed. You could not ask for a prettier view. I hope we make it back to NZ some time soon and if so we will definitely stay in the Hayloft again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjones_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbitguide, Owner at The Hayloft, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

sarahjones_10
We love having honeymooners to stay :) ... knowing how many fantastic places there are in NZ we really appreciate your kind comments... we hope you make it back soon too!
Best Wishes ... Julie & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2010

My wife and I stayed there in April 2007 and enjoyed it very much, although or perhaps because the house is built from bales of hay - hence the name "The Hayloft". If you don't believe it, check with the owner.
If you are a "cloud spotter" or a "star" gazer', this place is ideal, because it sports balconies to the west and the east and even an overhead window (to watch from your cozy bed), that you won't miss anything. If you haven't seen the "starry" nightskies of NZ yet, it's about time you should. you will never forget.
However, during daylight Wanaka offers a lot, too, e.g. great tracks in a dream landscape, one along the river "Clutha", a second by the'"Diamond Lake", to name but two. The owner has many more to recommend.
Wilfried & Saovanee, Bangkok, Thailand

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTCT888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#13 of 20 in Wanaka
385 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hayloft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hayloft

Address: 272 Ballantyne Road | Rd2, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $114 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly invite you to stay at our unique, strawbale loft apartment set on 16 acres of rolling farmland and enjoying fantastic views of the Southern Alps. The perfect retreat for a couple, the Hayloft is a spacious, fully self contained part of our home with its own private access and will be exclusively yours for the duration of your stay. Although self catering, breakfast provisions can be provided for your convenience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing