We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wanaka Heights Motel
Nearby Hotels
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$92
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$187
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$82
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeview Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$113
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakeside Apartments(Wanaka)
$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
27
18
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsample spacetwo single bedscooking facilitiesminute walkfirst floorstayed longerkitchenettebalconymountainsviewsbedroomtownsupermarketnoisehostwifiunits
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 49 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I'd really give it a 4.5, but I'm not allowed to give half stars! My parents, children and I stayed here on our NZ tour and my parents remember it as one of their absolute favorites, even though we only stayed one night. It was easy to find, the apartment was very nice (if a little cramped for five of us, but that wasn't the room's fault), and it's right next to shops, restaurants, and the lake. Reception was very friendly, the grounds were very pretty (it was nice that my kids could run around), and the view was gorgeous!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank MonicaH_SLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We try our best to make your stay a pleasant one. Glad the kids enjoyed the space of the lawn to play. Our views are great without the high price tags closer to the lake, and only a few minutes to everything makes us guest friendly!
Thank you for choosing us to stay with.
Warm Regards
Ann
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here for a night during the Christmas season while on our way to Queenstown. The rooms are nicely done and well maintained with a fully featured kitchenette. The units are airy, spacious and well lit; the cosy balcony opens out to well manicured gardens and impressive views of Wanaka Lake and the mountains.
The motel is a mere 5 minutes' walk from town centre and hence easily accessible at all times.
Reception has been warm and helpful especially when there was a hiccup retrieving my reservation from the booking website.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you Nandu, Wanaka is a beautiful place to stay and we're glad you chose our property for your family. We do our best to make happy holiday memories for our guests and love to hear your positive feed back. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our hard working staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

At short notice booked and arrived late for the night.
The Receptionist was friendly and welcoming. She had rung me on my cell to make sure I was going to be on time
The room was tidy and warm
The bed was comfortable.
The view out over town was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you Bruce for a positive review. Good to hear you had a good night's sleep, these are the things that are important to us. We try and call our guests if they are going to be checking in after our office closes, then we know you're safe and on your way.
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for a week and loved it. It wasn't pricey at all and contained everything we needed including full kitchenette and appliances, cosy beds and a tv...we stayed in room 5 which was up top and we had an amazing view over the town of Wanaka and it's amazing surrounding scenery of mountains and Lake Wanaka...two single beds were located in the bedroom and a Queen in the main room which could be closed off with a sliding door(not soundproof though just in case you wanted some 'quiet' time)...There is a shared dry room accessed by a key located by the entry to the motel so that all the wet stinky ski gear isn't cluttering the room. Wanaka town is a mere 2-5 minute walk...The best restaurants in town are moments away on 'Post Office Lane'. New World Grocery Store is in town for any groceries that are needed. The lady at reception is lovely. The final night we had some noisy neighbours who stayed up til midnight but the rest of the week it was nice and quiet...

Room Tip: The rooms up top have better views. Room 5 is a beauty.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jace_disgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Thank you for your positive review it is lovely to hear our guests have enjoyed staying with us, and that our facilities have all the things you need for a great holiday, including the views.
We also appreciate having great people stay with us, like yourselves, unlike the one's who kept you awake........they were supposed to stay for a week but were evicted the next morning!
Our guests comfort is our priority and we will do our best to make this happen.
Hope to see you all again in the future, happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Wanaka and the Wanaka Heights Motel was great. The rooms contained cooking facilities if you wanted to cook for yourselves and they have a great view over the lake.

The ski bus picks you up from just outside the motel so it's super convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann N, General Manager at Wanaka Heights Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Many thanks for your positive review. We do our best so our guests have an enjoyable experience whilst in our lovely town of Wanaka. Hope to see you some other time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews