We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's best holiday!”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The world's best holiday!”
Reviewed April 3, 2010

This was the best holiday!
Blythe and Ann are the world's best hosts providing our family a relaxing and enjoyable holiday. From the minute we woke we were spoilt with silver service breakfast, warm fire, great company, directions / snow tips and privacy to get ready for the day.

After jam packed days we would arrive home to great wine / cheese and the coolest ambience. The rooms were meticulously clean, comfortable and stylish. We loved the tv/dvd in the rooms so we were able to put children to bed easily. After they were asleep we would relax in front of best fire and get pampered with romantic silver service dinners & nice wine.
There were so many great thing about this experience, our favourites being the service, the fire, design, food, dogs, proximity to mountain & activities, pretty scenery after snowfall. Our 4 young children loved it and they were looked after by our hosts, leaving feeling like we were saying goodbye to great friends. We love NZ & this is one of the best of NZ, we hope to return - sooner than later!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Notman-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
222
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2010

From the moment you drive up the enchanting forest driveway, Waiorau Homestead is exceptional. Welcoming, delightful, elegant, beautifully situated, relaxing and delicious (thanks again Blyth), this is a place you will never want to leave. Ann and Blyth welcome you like family into their beautiful home, yet are expert at letting you enjoy your seclusion and privacy. Simply, it could not be any better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Waiorau Homestead is much more than a luxury B&B. The owners made us very welcome and their attention to detail and service made our stay feel more like being in a 5* hotel.

Nothing was too much trouble from afternoon tea with hot muffins to a sumptuous evening meal. The rooms were perfect, with a comfortable guests lounge and very well appointed en suite bedroom which afforded one of the best nights sleep of our trip. Situated beneath the ski slops of Cardrona, mid way between Queenstown and Wanaka, we found Waiorau Homestead to be the perfect place for relaxing or exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed three nights at the Waiorau Homestead and absolutely loved it. Our ensuite bedroom was very spacious, extremely comfortable and had plenty of storage space, which was a bit of a rarity compared to other places we stayed. Set in beautiful grounds, we had a wonderful view of the Cardrona Valley which we could enjoy from our own seated area on the terrace. The service was great with a wide choice of cooked breakfasts, cereals, fruits and bread etc. Our hosts Ann and Blyth were very accommodating and friendly, which made the stay even more pleasant. We would certainly stay again and we have happily given 5 stars for all categories including value for money on the basis that you generally get what you pay for. If you are looking for outstanding comfort and first class hospitality then this is definitely worth a visit. Frank & Dee, London

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasmith91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Thank Ann and Blyth, my parents and I had a wonderful time at Waiorau Homestead, the room, the hot spa, the wine, the breakfast, the fireplace... EVERY simple detail is just perfect! And lovely dogs Basil and Bebe too! Thank you, this was a amazing experience for my family!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nzcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We spent the first night of our NZ wedding trip at the Waiorau Homestead. It was with no doubt the best B&B we have stayed at in our lives so far. Thanks to Ann and Blyth everything was just perfect. Great location, peaceful surroundings, stunning scenery, amazing food, luxurious rooms, extremely friendly hosts, gorgeous cats and dogs ... the list goes on and on. Thanks Ann and Blyth, it has been an amazing experience. We hope to come back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzhu7198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Homestead this past New Year's Eve and had an outstanding stay. Our hosts, Ann and Blyth, were just lovely people. We enjoyed a fantastic meal (thanks to Blyth who is a chef) with great company and conversation. It was a very memorable stay and a New Year's we will never forget. We really wish we would have had time to visit for longer. Ann and Blyth made us feel like old friends! And for what it is worth, this is the first and only review I have ever put on Trip Advisor. It was that fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandsChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
14.9 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
15.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Property: Waiorau Homestead
Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing