We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All incompassing with warmth and luxury.”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All incompassing with warmth and luxury.”
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed with Ann and Blyth at Waiorau Homestead in the winter month of June. The atmosphere was divine and warm. The warmth of the homestead almost matched the hospitality of the hosts. I felt pampered in the luxurious accommodation and looked forward to returning after daily excursions. From the drive through the forest driveway to the mountain views and tasteful interior, I wish I was back there already.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernsAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
222
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

Waiorau Homestead, with hosts Ann and Blyth, really is a parcel of 'heaven on earth'. Our stay while working in the area was fantastic, so much so we're already working on dates for 2010. Any traveller, be it for business or pleasure will enjoy their time at Waiorau Homestead!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Downforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Reasons to stay in Waiorau Homestead:
1. Great Location - 15mins to Cardrona Ski-field and 20mins to Wanaka
2. Great Rooms - nice views and decorations, very clean and comfortable
3. Great Food - nice breakfast, and the Thai Spicy Pumpkin Soup (dinner) was unforgettable
4. Great Hosts - sweet, warm, and helpful

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We stayed 8 nights with Ann and Blyth at Waiorau Homestead. This was the most wonderful place you could imagine. Perfect views with snow-capped mountains in the mornings. Unrepeatable breakfasts in the morning - never had the same breakfast twice (this has to be experienced to be believed). Nibbles and drinks at Waiorau are unsurpassed. Rooms are outstanding. Linen and pillows are of excellent quality. Heated towel rails & floors in the bathroom. Guest lounge with wood burner, DVD's & internet. Dining with fireplace (burning) and different place setting everyday. Outdoor spa for indulgence at the end of a day's skiing. Outdoor fireplace for drinks, conversation and cooking marshmallows. Fantastic personalised service and special suprises. Great interaction with fellow guests. But Ann and Blyth are the attraction. We can't say any more. You have to experience for yourself. You will be hard-pressed to find better. And oh yes, Wanaka is brilliant. Waiorau is the shining light. And opposite the Cardrona Ski Field entrance. And just down the road from the Cardrona Hotel - great meals and atmosphere. But if you get the chance, have Blyth's special dinner - it really is special and just down the hallway from your room!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricanAdventurer247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We spent 4 days in Queenstown and stayed here for 3 nights. The hosts Ann and Blyth were so sweet, kind and attentive.

The homestead is luxurious with a lovely layout. The view from the guests' lounge is just magnificent. They lit the log fire everyday, which made this place even more cosy in winter. The location is fantastic - you can see the driveway up to Cardrona Skifield (so we didn't have to wake up at 6am as it only took 15-20mins to drive up!)

Blyth is an excellent chef. Breakfast was plentiful and scrumptious, eggs were cooked perfectly however we wanted them! Afternoon tea was always served when we came back from a long day of skiing. The dinner was divine. You must try their signature soup - Pumpkin soup with a touch of spice. It was just so comforting.

We stayed at the Harakeke room which was very clean and comfortable with high quality linen and fittings. There was also a wide selection of DVD for us to choose from (for those who like reading, there are a lot of wonderful books in the guests' lounge). The room also contained fresh water and glasses, electric blankets, huge comfy bed with heaps of pillows! There was sufficient amount of natural light. The room was already heated before we'd arrived - little details as such show their excellent level of attentiveness.

The bathroom was ultra spacious and included high quality amenities. The towel racks and floor were heated. There was a separate shower and Jacuzzi where we relaxed after a long day of skiing.

Overall it was a very relaxing and luxurious experience. Honestly 3 nights just wasn't enough! We didn't want to leave. It was their hospitality which made this stay even more special. This is something that you can't find in other 5 or 6 star chained hotels. You'll certainly not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ytang714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2009

A truely amazing place! With stunning rooms, stunning hospitality and a stunning location this spot has to be on the top of your list! Nothing better than after a relaxing day to have a glass of Pinot and nibbles and settle in to the surrounds!
I travelled with family and friends and we will be back for sure!

Thank you!

Mitch

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MitchChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Ann and Blythe have thought of everything at their lovely b&b - Waiorau Homestead. Lovely design. Pillows, bed and linen all top notch. Private bathroom full renovated. They have thought of all the details and the stuff you would expect. don't go looking for doileys and old kitch lace stuff here. Stylish and comfortable with beautiful crockery pieces and flat screen tv/dvd in our room. As for the service and food. Friendly and yum. We never needed lunch the breakfasts were so filling - organic produce and served with love. we would certainly stay again when we next find ourselves in this part of the south island. great space and great hosts!! Really convenient too, just 15 mins from Cardona slopes for skiiing. Oh, we mustn't forget the outdoor heated spa!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadiama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
15.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Property: Waiorau Homestead
Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing