We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth, cozy and relax home stay!”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Thank you Ann and Blyth so much for the beautiful stay, at your cozy home.
We really feel so relax and warmth.
I’ve shared with my frenz about the wonderful stay at your nice home.
Sure I’ll hope, I can come back again with more frenz to stay.
I miss your cat too~

The beds we snuggle in every night, are so soft and cozy.
And we never had so much variety of breakfast assortments every morning.
Thank you and Blyth, for taking care of us and our bellies.

Room Tip: Tip: Please book early! Hee hee~
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulynmidoreNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Paulyn & Jamie, thank you for taking the time to write this review. We had the funniest time during your visit to us and we hope you enjoyed all your new adventures in New Zealand. We look forward to seeing you in Wanaka again one day. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for Waiorau Homestead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 355 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place was totally awesome - over and above what we ever expected. Stunning views and fabulously designed accommodation. Ann and Blyth were the perfect hosts and made us feel so welcome and at home. We could not have chosen a better B&B in NZ and I can see why this place is voted No.1 in Cardrona out of 52 other B&Bs in the town. We hope to go back again one day, as it is without a doubt the best B&B we have ever stayed in! THANK YOU Ann and Blyth - Becky and Matt

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 215BeckyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Becky & Matt, Thank you so much for your kind comments and we enjoyed your company very much as well. You might be interested to know we were awarded a 'People's Choice Award' from Trip Advisor yesterday, so that is great. We look forward to your return - for some skiing perhaps next time? Hope the shift goes well. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had booked this trip for our delayed honeymoon and we are so glad we did. It was worth the wait! Ann & Blythe has been nothing but lovely hosts who took care of our every needs. It's like having family around who are willing to help in anyway they can.

Ann has shown her artistic side in designing and decorating the homestead. It is cosy, beautifully decorated, filled with lots of warmth and lots of space to stretch and relax after a day of activities.

Some people say there isn't much to do there in term of activities, but we were spoilt for choice. There's so much to do and so little time. In fact, Ann has great connections and has impressed us with how fast she is able to book both my husband and i on an activity.

We have recommended Waiorau Homestead to our closest friends and we would do the same for everyone else. Don't spend the time pondering, just hop on that plane and enjoy the stay. We will definitely return in the near future :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NWong86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear guests, thank you for you kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your delayed honeymoon
with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again when you return to New Zealand. Kind regards. Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Ann & Blythe are amazing hosts, take care of the visitors so well and ready to help with everything. Just that you'll have the perfect stay. The place itself is so beautifully decorated with such a good taste. Ann & Blythe think about all the little details.
Breakfast was very rich, everything served so beautifully. I was there on Xmas Eve, dinner was great, atmosphere was super, I was lucky to eat the best Pavlova ever, made by Blythe, which is also a chef.
Thank you so much for the warmest hospitality, you are number one!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halo_M7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear Israeli guest, thank you for coming and staying with us over the Christmas period and to share that lovely time with us. It was absolutely wonderful to meet you and our other guests very much enjoyed your company as well. I hope your travels are going well and please come back and stay with us again sometime in the future. In the meantime, please keep in touch and safe travels. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Waiorau Homestead is simply wonderful! Ann and Blythe Are are warm, friendly and excellent hosts and make you feel like part of the family in their beautiful B&B. Perfectly located between Queenstown and Wanka, the daily room service, dedicated guest living room and extensive DVD collection, wine and fresh flowers, tea and coffee supplies throughout the day, comfy bed, and beautiful grounds make this the ultimate getaway. Blythe is a wonderful chef too! We were the only guests staying at the time and had the house to ourselves which was lovely. We were so disappointed to leave on our least day and will definitely recommend this Wanka gem to our friends and family. Thanks for everything! 10/10

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natacha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hi Natasha, thank you for being wonderful guests and such a prompt and lovely review - thank you for that also. We look forward to seeing you here on your next trip ( maybe on a very special occassion!) and in the meantime, have a great trip to the U.K. for Xmas. Kindest regards, Ann & Blyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After a long day of climbing glaciers, alpine meadows, spectacular waterfalls and hiking this traveler was exhausted. When we reached Wanaka after driving almost eight hours including stops, The Walorau Homestead felt like a little slice in heaven. The facility was magnificent; the host was lovely and I couldn't have asked for more!! I highlyecommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear guest - we are grateful that you too found our homestead and property a haven - all our guests certainly tell us how restful it is. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to be able to host you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Ann & Blyth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in October, just at the end of Ski season. My pal told us to make room for this place on our South Island trip. Glad we listened. She should've told us to stay for longer. Had trouble finding it after a mammoth drive but Blythe came out to show us the way. Great decor, pretty much just what we were after. Breakfasts were ideal, lovely grounds and not too far from Wanaka. The guest living room was amazing, watched the rugby and felt at home. We'll be back

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FraserJGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Hi guys, You have a great mate there and thank him very much for referring you to us and also thank you for your review of Waiorau Homestead - it is much appreciated. We would love to see you here again in the future and look forward to enjoying your company then. In the meantime, kind regards, Ann & Blyth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
12.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
14.5 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
15.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $190 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing