We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a wonderful place to rest the weary body after a long day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a wonderful place to rest the weary body after a long day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

After a long day of climbing glaciers, alpine meadows, spectacular waterfalls and hiking this traveler was exhausted. When we reached Wanaka after driving almost eight hours including stops, The Walorau Homestead felt like a little slice in heaven. The facility was magnificent; the host was lovely and I couldn't have asked for more!! I highlyecommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imoobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest - we are grateful that you too found our homestead and property a haven - all our guests certainly tell us how restful it is. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to be able to host you again sometime in the future. Kind regards Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
213
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed in October, just at the end of Ski season. My pal told us to make room for this place on our South Island trip. Glad we listened. She should've told us to stay for longer. Had trouble finding it after a mammoth drive but Blythe came out to show us the way. Great decor, pretty much just what we were after. Breakfasts were ideal, lovely grounds and not too far from Wanaka. The guest living room was amazing, watched the rugby and felt at home. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserJGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi guys, You have a great mate there and thank him very much for referring you to us and also thank you for your review of Waiorau Homestead - it is much appreciated. We would love to see you here again in the future and look forward to enjoying your company then. In the meantime, kind regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here in July of 2011 and I thought I submitted a review back then but I can't find it so I am writing another one because we loved this place so much and reminisce about it often. We stayed there with our 15 month old daughter. Ann and Blythe were exceptional hosts and made us feel so welcome. They immediately pulled out some child toys for our daughter and stayed up late with us just sharing hilarious stories and drinking wine. Blythe invited us to meet him at a local frozen pond for some curling the next day. This was such an incredible experience with lots of food, drinks, curling and laughs. The breakfast was amazing and our only regret was that we didn't stay there longer and enjoy more of their food and friendship.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UWSmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi valued guests - lovely to hear from you and thank you very much for your kind review. Of course we loved having you here to stay and please do come back for longer on your next visit. All the best to my next favourite city in the world! Kind regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

For anybody who's going up to NZ for a ski holiday, Waiorau Homestead is a great place to stay! It's right at the base of the Cardrona Ski Field, and in the middle of the road between The Remarkables and Treble Cone. It's super cozy and the crackling fireplace with the great selection of chillout lounge CDs and carpeted floors made for many awesome nights just reading in the living room. The hot tub is also great for apres ski relaxation. Ann and Blyth are awesome hosts and so are their dogs and cat! ((:

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi Sam, lovely to have you come and stay with us - we enjoyed your company as well as that of the extended family as well. We hope you all enjoyed this trip to NZ and we would very much enjoy seeing you on your next visit down here as well. And nice photos of the animals by the way! Have a good year. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had the most amazing time at Waiorau Homestead!! Ann and Blythe were fantastic hosts, they put on the BEST breakfast spread (which was included in the accommodation price) and the food was fit for a king!!! Blythe is a chef and his cooking is absolutely AMAZING - the 3 course dinner meal was sensational. We loved the décor, the homey vibe and the rooms were furnished beautifully and sound proofed from other guests. The fireplace kept the whole house cosy and warm making it a wonderful place to return to after skiing. Finishing touches like heated towel racks, bedside water bottles, freshly picked flowers, cheese platters, fresh towels, room service, travel advice and much much more made our stay at Waiorau Homestead the most wonderful experience. Flawless! Thank you, we'll be back! (and I've already recommended you to my uncle)

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene_and_Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Helene & Ben,
It was such a pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope all was well when you got home to pick up the children. Thank you very much also for your thoughtful review and we will be looking forward to your next visit. Take care & kindest regards, Ann & Blyth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I recently had 4 days in the gorgeous homestead of Ann and Blyth. We loved every minute of it. The accommodation is 20 minutes from Wanaka and 40 minutes from Queenstown...absolutely the most perfect spot if you are skiing Cardrona. We weren't skiing but perfect for us nonetheless.
Everything to do with our stay was perfect. The rooms, while not huge, are perfectly comfortable with great comfy beds, your own TV and DVD player, lovely bathroom with high quality products. The huge lounge with gorgeous mountain views was kept warm with a beautiful fire. The decor of the home is absolutely delightful and almost a little art gallery in itself. The attention to detail in the home is superb with lovely matching china and quality EVERYTHING. We also enjoyed the surrounds and grounds of the home and all the lovely walks nearby.
There's a selection of DVD's, lots of books to peruse or read.
The lovely touch of the gorgeous homemade afternoon tea....served warm is such a treat after a big day out and that is then followed by a lovely cheese nibblie platter and wine.....and OMG brekky is a real treat. Cereals, fruit juice, yoghurt, fruits, toasts croissants and your choice of whatever hot breakfast you would like.......we had the most delicious omelet on a couple of mornings.....superb! There is also wide selection of quality tea and coffee that you can help yourself to at anytime....even the nice packet cappuccinos and lattes if you choose
The 2 resident beagles and the 16 year old puss are a delight....not intrusive in any way and add to the homely, friendly,caring, happy atmosphere of the homestead. If you are not an animal lover you will be by the time you leave but you can choose to not have them intrude in your stay if you prefer.
The lovely old Cardrona historic pub is just a short delightful walk away and the food is superb also.
I could really keep raving forever but anyone thinking of trying Waiorau.... just make the booking NOW!. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.
Thank you Blyth for a wonderful stay and hospitality experience in NZ. (Sorry we didn't get to meet you Ann.....we will just have to come back!! Loved every minute of it!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms are beautiful. We had the end room which we found perfect as it is maybe the most privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brissiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Brissie guests, thank you so much for taking the time to do such a thorough and extensive review - we are very grateful. We enjoyed your company as well and are certainly looking forward to a return visit at any time. Kind regards, Ann & Blyth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

What else can I say, great food, great company great setting and great hosts! From the moment we arrived till the very sad moment when we went home everything was just perfect. Can't wait to come again.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaiorauHosts, Owner at Waiorau Homestead, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hi Alex - we were delighted to have you and friends stay with us - just delightful company and lots of laughs! Thank you for your review and of course looking forward to seeing you on your next ski holiday in NZ. Kindest regards A & B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
13.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
15.6 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#5 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Property: Waiorau Homestead
Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | RD1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing