We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Retreat Ever”
Review of Waiorau Homestead

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waiorau Homestead
Ranked #1 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Waiorau Homestead for four nights for our "Babymoon" and Blythe and Anne were incredible hosts, the rooms were gorgeous and the food was incredible. Anne even leant my husband some of Blythe's old jeans while his were being washed after we took their mountain bikes out for a spin, got thoroughly soaked and mudded and my husband fessed up his jeans were the only pants he'd taken with us! Great place to be based if you want to split your time between both Wanaka and Queenstown. If you're looking for a place to get away and relax I couldn't recommend anywhere more.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kji2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 369 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

My mother and I had the most fantastic time staying with Ann and Blyth. Apart from their great stories and their cute dogs, their homestead is delightful.
The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the brand new bathrooms are just fantastic. The open fire, room heaters (and electric blanket) if needed kept us very warm.
The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Email the Homestead directly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Ann and Blythe are really superb hosts. We came with our four young kids and it was absolutely no problem for them. The interior decoration is really nice and cozy. Both know a great deal about the places to go in the area and are very helpful to point you in the right direction,

In addition, Blythe is a professional cook from his previous career and makes really extraordinary meals.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markus_ohlig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Waiorau and it was sheer Blythe. Can't speak to highly of the Man's professional capabilities, and his private charm. These are three nights to remember, the place, its location, the food, the atmosphere. Apart from Waiorau, we only rented houses and batches, a very private and intimate way to travel. It was nice to be perfectly spoilt for a couple of days. Hope to be meeting Ann the next time around.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Our favorite place that we stayed on our 10 day trip around the South Island. It was by far the most beautifully furnished and comfortable. The pictures on the website dont do it justice - the whole house looks like its out of a decorating magazine. We would have expected to pay at least twice what we did for this place. Lovely hosts as well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I stayed at Waiorau Homestead with my husband and our 16 month old daughter in April 2011 for just one night, needless to say we wished we had stayed longer. The property is just so beautiful and we were amazed that it was almost 90 years old as it is decorated so beautifully and actually looks incredibly modern. We were greeted by Blyth upon arrival and immediately warmed to such a lovely person who couldn't have been more helpful. Our room was more than spacious and the bathroom was truly amazing. We loved the two Beagles Basil and Bebe as did our daughter who wanted to follow them everywhere. We later met Ann who was as equally as charming and whilst Ann and Blyth were the perfect hosts they also respected our privacy and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We opted to have Blyth cook us dinner as we had read so many wonderful things and we were lucky enough that our daughter was fast asleep before we ate so we could really relax and enjoy the evening. I have to admit, we spent 16 nights in New Zealand and both agreed we did not have a nicer dinner while we were there, my husband has not stopped talking about the Thai Pumpkin Soup that was served as an entree. The breakfast served in the morning was nothing less than spectacular and Blyth was also kind enough to give us some pears from his tree for our daughter who loved them, they certainly kept her occupied for the next few days.

I cannot say enough good things about this accommodation and particularly the hosts, during our stay in New Zealand I think this was definitely the most beautiful place we stayed and Ann & Blyth were possibly two of the nicest people we had the pleasure of meeting during our time in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carleywhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We were on our honeymoon and stayed at Waiorau Homestead and loved it. It's a secluded yet very modern and comfortable homestead amidst true New Zealand countryside. A perfect place for a romantic weekend/getaway

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank supervaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
12.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
13.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
367 reviews
14.8 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
112 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waiorau Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waiorau Homestead

Address: 2127B Cardrona Valley Road | Rd1, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $189 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waiorau Homestead 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waiorau Luxury Homestead offers the ultimate in luxury Cardona Valley, Wanaka Accommodation – comfort, style and hospitality. Waiorau Homestead is within two minutes drive to the access roads of Cardrona, Snow Farm & Snow Park - from bed to first run - 20 minutes! With a large number of nearby attractions and activities, Waiorau Homestead is the perfect haven for unwinding at the end of the day. Nestled at the heart of Central Otago and ideally situated between Queenstown and Wanaka, there are a numerous outdoor activites, wineries and walks to be enjoyed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waiorau Homestead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing