We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unforgettable!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #3 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

From the time you drive up the driveway you are greeted with unrivaled hospitality and pampering. It is apparent, with out question, that Pam and Peter love to host and do everything in their power to make your stay the most memorable and remarkable. We have never been to a place like this and can't wait to return. Their knowledge of actives, restaurants and sites in the Wanaka area were a great help in deciding what to do during our time in New Zealand. This was our first visit and suggestions were a great help. They even drove us to dinner and picked us up so we could enjoy a bottle of wine with our meal. Top notch service through and through!! Can't say enough about this couple. Thanks again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmockus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
194
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Thank you Pam and Peter for your exceptional hospitality, what a treat!! The location is awesome, and the establishment is top class, 5 star + you will want for nothing, this is one of the worlds special places.
All of this coupled with the multi sport stars who exceeded themselves and really enjoyed the after event pampering.
Highly recommended, if you do nothing else in 2014 visiting the Riverview Terrace is a must.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thirdage072010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was by far the best place we stayed in New Zealand! We were greeted by Pam and Peter who run the place, they were fantasic hosts and very friendly. The place was emaculatly kept and everything in the house was high quality and luxurious. They served canopes to us in the evening and drove us to and from a great restaurant in town which they recommended.
Our room was spacious, luxurious and beautifully furnished with a spa in our ensuite. They even had a big outdoor spa bath which we used later on after we had got back from the restaurant. We both relaxed in the hot water, looking up at the night stars. We then had a great night sleep in the most comfortable bed!
Breakfast the next morning was absolutely fabulous. They cooked us whatever we wanted and the food was all of the best quality. They even packed up a homemade muffin for each of us to eat later in the day. They also gave us lots of good local advise on places to visit during our onward travels.

I really wish we could have stayed here longer. You may consider this place expensive compared to other accommodation in the area but it is definitely worth the extra.

Thanks for the great stay Pam and Peter. We will stay here for sure if we visit New Zealand again!

Room Tip: They are all good - get booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wanaka is a fantastic destination and river view terrace is a fabulous place to enjoy it from. Pam and Peter are wonderful hosts and were even kind enough to collect us after dinner in town. Breakfast is great, rooms are immaculate, lovely view and wine and canapés before dinner in town an excellent additional touch. We recommend borrowing their bikes for the riverside/lakeside track into town.

100% recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakers_abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

As we arrived at Riverview terrace, we were met by the hostess Pam. She showed us to our room, and offered to give us information about the area. We also got to know her husband Peter. They are both warm and welcoming people, who will do everything to make you feel comfortable during your stay. There for you when you need them, not there when you want your privacy
Peter even insisted to drive us to the restaurants in the evenings as we had dinner reservations, and he also came to pick us up afterwards.

We stayed in the room called Pisa. This room is more secluded than the other rooms, as it is at the far end of the house. The room has a big, comfortable bed – with a whole range of pillows to choose from. Turn down service is offered every night. The bathroom is spacious and delicate decorated.

The room also has a terrace towards the garden. In the evenings we changed into bathing suits, put on a robe and tip toed from our room through the garden - to a BIG Jacuzzi. Sitting there underneath the stars at night is a must do! Pouring rain is no excuse for not doing it!

Pam and Peter will provide plastic ware for your bubbles, so that you can bring it with you into the Jacuzzi.

Pam`s cooking is marvelous – I think we gained a few pounds just during our three nights stay.! I still dream about the cupcakes she made for us! The ones we didn`t finish for breakfast, we brought with us for lunch while hiking the mountains in the area.

If you want to be spoiled with good food, comfortable beds, Jacuzzi time underneath the stars, and to live close by the Aspiring National Park – this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We booked our honeymoon in our favourite South Island NZ city Wanaka and we are so glad we found Riverview Terrace on trip advisor. Pam and Peter are truly the most wonderful hosts. Pam should write a cookbook her food is so delicious! We had fantastic canapés with wine every evening before dinner. She even made us gorgeous heart-shaped white chocolate/raspberry muffins with our initials on them to take with us skiing.
The room we stayed in was perfectly clean, had superb views of the mountains and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had absolute peace and privacy. There wasn't anyone staying in the third bedroom whilst we were there so we had full use of the indoor spa, though we mainly used the outdoor spa every night. The outdoor spa was private and very luxurious as Pam provided us with drinks and canapés, we relaxed under the stars every night.
We would highly recommend Riverview Terrace to anyone looking for a romantic, peaceful and luxurious stay in Wanaka, New Zealand. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: The outdoor spa is so good I would recommend you choose the biggest bedroom on the end for its size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne_diners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Without exaggeration, Riverview Terrace must provide the very best home stay experience in New Zealand. As they strive to make every guest feel special, Pam and Peter's hospitality is unsurpassed. They simply cannot do enough for each and every guest.x

The culinary delights were exceptional, as attested to in the other reviews.

Pam and Peter's home and garden with their breath taking views are amazing and of course our bedroom was perfectly luxurious. A relaxing soak in the hot tub must not be missed!

Our hosts left no stone unturned to ensure our days in Wanaka were totally fulfilled. Their local knowledge was invaluable - Pam provided us with maps, made calls to book tours and Peter willingly provided transport day and night.

We will forever treasure our precious memories of our sojourn with Pam and Peter.

Thank you most sincerely.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOBINSIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Manager at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for the very kind words in your review. Peter & I loved having you all stay. We were so pleased you loved the Wanaka area. We were sad the weather didn't play ball for you!! Did you finally get to fly to Milford ? If not you will just have to return some time soon. Best wishes Pam & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing