We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riverview Terrace
Nearby Hotels
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$92
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$90
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$187
$175
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$82
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lakeside Apartments(Wanaka)
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$133
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
280
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor spapinot noirb bnew zealandgrandview roomhot tubdinner reservationsglass of wineour honeymoonevery eveningwarm homewonderful hostsblack peakbreakfasts were greatmount ironour room was spaciouseach morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 283 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at Riverview Terrace for one night whilst in Wanaka for the weekend and I just wish that we could have stayed for longer. I cannot even begin to describe how fantastic this place is or how welcoming the hosts Pam and Peter are.
The house is just stunning with unbelievable panoramic views out across the mountains from nearly every room. I have stayed in B&B's before where you have felt like you were invading someone else’s space, however as soon as we arrived we were amazed by the ralxed and welcomming feel, and straight away we felt like we were at home. We ended up sitting down and chatting with Pam and Peter for ages before heading out to explore Wanaka to try out some of their wonderful recommendations of places to eat and things to do.
After an exhausting day spent at a spa having massages, facials and a pedicure (whilst my husband tried archery, rifle shooting and rock climbing!) we returned the house and settled down to watch the rugby. There was a gorgeous looking hot tub in the garden which looked extremely inviting; however being pregnant I instead opted for the luxury of the outrageously comfortable super-king bed with wonderful crisp cotton sheets. The bed was so comfortbale, I had one of the best nights sleep in a very long time.
After my very restful night, I woke early and was able to open the doors of the bedroom and sit outside to watch the sun rise over the mountains. Complete bliss! I then had the pleasure of stepping into one of the loveliest showers with gorgeous smelling shower gels and moisturisers and fluffy white towels - who needs a spa pool when you can have this?!
Breakfast was even more of an unexpected treat, as we walked in to find a fresh fruit platter, steaming hot fresh coffee and juices, freshly baked muffins and a selection of cereals and yoghurt.
This was followed by home-made waffles, crispy bacon, banana and maple syrup for me and a full cooked breakfast for my husband. Possibly the best breakfast I have ever eaten!
After all this luxury we were very sad to leave, however will definitely be returning at the next opportunity and will certainly stay for longer!
Thank you so much and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this very extensive review we really appreciate it.
We were delighted to hear your friends had referred us to you, we did enjoy meeting you and having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

you can't expect more for a high-end luxury B&B from here. the View, facilities, high tea, breakfast, spa tubs, beds...... and most importantly, the hospitality! Pam and Peter are such great hosts that can provide EVERYTHING you need from restaurant booking to traffic condition check! We the whole family has received warm welcome and we just want to give our sincere thanks to the nice hosts! hope there will be someday we can meet again, no matter in Wanaka or Beijing! PS: wish you've had an awesome break in Willington!

tips: the spa tub in the yard is a must-try thing that you don't wanna miss, and don't forget to bring a glass of local wine with ya!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I escaped to Riverview Terrace for a two night escape following the burglary of our house in Dunedin. We arrived stressed and with so much on our minds - but within minutes were immersed in the luxury and relaxation Riverview Terrace exudes. Pam and Peter seamlessly took care of our every need, down to the smallest touches, allowing us to relax knowing everything was taken care of, from restaurant and activity bookings to dropping us off and picking us up from town in the evenings allowing us to unwind over drinks without a worry. We left feeling that we'd had a long holiday, yet wanting to return for another stay already! Pam and Peter left us feeling cared for yet gave us space and privacy to enjoy the huge spa under the stars and surrounded by snow capped mountains.- a fantastic location close to everything we wanted to explore. Every element, from the fantastic shower with gas hot water, to the softest bathrobes and delicious evening canapes left us feeling utterly spoiled. I could not recommend Riverview Terrace highly enough.

Room Tip: Pam showed us each of the three bedrooms and they are all equally stunning with beautiful views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alia1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your super review we really appreciate your kind words. We are also so pleased to hear the police & public responsed to your plea for the return of your computers, we hope your writings could be recovered successfully. Our very best wishes for your future happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sequels often disappoint. Even if the quality is the same, the fact that the novelty is gone often leads to disappointment.

There are, of course, rare exceptions where the experience improves the second time round (e.g. the Empire Strikes Back, the Godfather 2). In our view, Riverview Terrace is one of those rare things that simply get better.

We first stayed with Pam and Peter 2 years ago. We gave them a glowing review (which attempted to express how much we enjoyed our stay then). Nothing has changed. The property is still beautiful (and beautifully maintained). Pam and Peter are still amazing hosts.

If anything, this trip confirms our view that Pam and Peter are the best hosts that we have ever come across. These are genuinely nice people that have decided to open up their home. You never get the feeling that you are fee paying guest. Instead, you come away with the feeling of having stayed with friends (who happen to have an amazing house with rooms to spare).

If you are thinking of staying at Riverview Terrace, stop thinking. Book your place. You will not regret it and I am quite certain that your stay there will be a highlight (if not the highlight) of your trip.

We cannot quite thank Pam and Peter enough for the warmth and hospitality shown to us and hope that we will be able to return the favour one day. (ps. Pam and Peter, our invitation to visit us in Singapore stands and we hope that you will take us up on it soon).

We will definitely be back to stay the Riverview Terrace in the near future.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms available. You can't go wrong with any of them.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RissieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Yes, it was just super to have you both return to stay at Riverview Terrace. We do really enjoy hosting & spoiling our guests making their time in Wanaka & NZ extra special. Many thanks for your kind words, we will look forward to meeting up with you when we next travel to Singapore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Riverview Terrace for three nights and we were blown away by the level of hospitality we received from Pam and Peter. Their beautiful house is very modern and has a fantastic view. Pam was able to cater to our very particular dietary requirements; nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts. We had a very special experience staying there and we would highly recommend Riverview Terrace to anyone travelling to Wanaka.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siu-may T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for your super review, we are so pleased you were able to relax & enjoy your weekend away. Peter & I really enjoyed chatting with you both. I enjoy the challenge to cater for all our guests & you were both delightful & so appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews