We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Level of Excellence”
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #6 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Riverview Terrace for three nights and we were blown away by the level of hospitality we received from Pam and Peter. Their beautiful house is very modern and has a fantastic view. Pam was able to cater to our very particular dietary requirements; nothing was too much trouble for our wonderful hosts. We had a very special experience staying there and we would highly recommend Riverview Terrace to anyone travelling to Wanaka.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Siu-may T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us & for your super review, we are so pleased you were able to relax & enjoy your weekend away. Peter & I really enjoyed chatting with you both. I enjoy the challenge to cater for all our guests & you were both delightful & so appreciative.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pam and Peter are simply the best hosts! They are warm, welcoming, and did everything to make sure my husband and I enjoy our stay. It was very pleasant chatting with them, while drinking red wine and eating Pam's canapés. When we told them that we might try skydiving, Pam said she did that two years ago in Wanaka and showed us the video! That led us having our first skydiving in Wanaka too!

The room (Grandview Room) was spotlessly clean, and it opens to the lawn with magnificent scenery. We enjoyed the outdoor spa under the stars sipping champagne very much. The bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to get out of bed the next morning.

The breakfast was sumptuous. We had muesli and Pam cooked us a full breakfast in her open kitchen, which included toasts on fresh farm eggs, sausages, bacons, mushrooms and tomatoes. Too bad that my appetite was affected because I was nervous of doing skydiving that morning, but the good thing was that Pam also baked us muffins for us to take away! Two of them were heart-shaped because we were honeymooners. :)

One very unexpected thing that Pam did was that after we left, she sent us a sunrise photo she took while my husband and I were still sleeping, showing us how beautiful that morning was. In the email, she also asked how our skydiving day went. I think this is very sweet.

Thanks Pam and Peter so much for these wonderful memories. Staying at your place (and skydiving) is one of the highlights of our already very memorable trip and we HIGHLY RECOMMEND anyone going to Wanaka stay at your place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic in depth review of your stay at Riverview Terrace. Peter & I were delighted to host you both on your honeymoon, we both really enjoyed meeting & chatting with you. Our best wishes for a long & very happy marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a really enjoyable night at Riverview Terrace. Pam and Peter are supremely hospitable and really interesting. We enjoyed delicious canapes and a gorgeous breakfast. The house is presented beautifully with amazing attention to detail. It was lovely that Peter took us into Wanaka for dinner - gave us a chance to relax and have a glass of wine without worrying about the drive back. A wonderful stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our similar interests and experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I live locally in Wanaka & we wanted somewhere private and luxurious to escape to after our wedding (as our home was filled with family & friends). Riverview exceeded all of our expectations ! Pam and Peter were excellent hosts who made us feel very welcome, we especially enjoyed the outdoor spa - it was a perfect way to complete a fabulous weekend of wedding celebrations; sipping bubbles under the stars on a crisp autumn/winter night. This B&B is 5 star plus & even though we live a 5 minute drive away, I'm sure we'll be back ! If Pam opened her kitchen for Sunday brunch, we would definately be regulars :) Delicious

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A modern contemporary home with views to die for. From the moment you walk in, till the moment you leave, you are treated like family. The awesome breakfast, recommendations in area, and even driving us to dinner made this a 5 star plus stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drickettsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and ticks all the boxes. Riverview Terrace in Wanaka is the best. Breakfast is delicious and the jacuzzi on a chilly autumn cloudless night is fantastic. Pam, you are such a terrific cook. Peter, thanks for driving us around and your recommendation of the yummy Francesca's restaurant in town. Thanks for the enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

A beautiful home perched on top of a hill with spectacular views of the valley......,Riverview Terrace is the perfect, romantic getaway. We'll be back!
Our hosts, Pam and Peter are incredible. They were attentive and really took care of us, like family.
Pam makes an awesome breakfast, complete with freshly baked muffins and home grown fruits from her garden.
The ultimate luxury was the outdoor spa, where we sat drinking wine and gazing at the moon and stars......absolutely decadent!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chrisgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
457 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
15.3 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $212 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing