We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B!”
Review of Riverview Terrace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #3 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best B&B!”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pam and Peter are simply the best hosts! They are warm, welcoming, and did everything to make sure my husband and I enjoy our stay. It was very pleasant chatting with them, while drinking red wine and eating Pam's canapés. When we told them that we might try skydiving, Pam said she did that two years ago in Wanaka and showed us the video! That led us having our first skydiving in Wanaka too!

The room (Grandview Room) was spotlessly clean, and it opens to the lawn with magnificent scenery. We enjoyed the outdoor spa under the stars sipping champagne very much. The bed was so comfortable that we didn't want to get out of bed the next morning.

The breakfast was sumptuous. We had muesli and Pam cooked us a full breakfast in her open kitchen, which included toasts on fresh farm eggs, sausages, bacons, mushrooms and tomatoes. Too bad that my appetite was affected because I was nervous of doing skydiving that morning, but the good thing was that Pam also baked us muffins for us to take away! Two of them were heart-shaped because we were honeymooners. :)

One very unexpected thing that Pam did was that after we left, she sent us a sunrise photo she took while my husband and I were still sleeping, showing us how beautiful that morning was. In the email, she also asked how our skydiving day went. I think this is very sweet.

Thanks Pam and Peter so much for these wonderful memories. Staying at your place (and skydiving) is one of the highlights of our already very memorable trip and we HIGHLY RECOMMEND anyone going to Wanaka stay at your place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic in depth review of your stay at Riverview Terrace. Peter & I were delighted to host you both on your honeymoon, we both really enjoyed meeting & chatting with you. Our best wishes for a long & very happy marriage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
196
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a really enjoyable night at Riverview Terrace. Pam and Peter are supremely hospitable and really interesting. We enjoyed delicious canapes and a gorgeous breakfast. The house is presented beautifully with amazing attention to detail. It was lovely that Peter took us into Wanaka for dinner - gave us a chance to relax and have a glass of wine without worrying about the drive back. A wonderful stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam H, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, we really enjoyed meeting you both and sharing our similar interests and experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband and I live locally in Wanaka & we wanted somewhere private and luxurious to escape to after our wedding (as our home was filled with family & friends). Riverview exceeded all of our expectations ! Pam and Peter were excellent hosts who made us feel very welcome, we especially enjoyed the outdoor spa - it was a perfect way to complete a fabulous weekend of wedding celebrations; sipping bubbles under the stars on a crisp autumn/winter night. This B&B is 5 star plus & even though we live a 5 minute drive away, I'm sure we'll be back ! If Pam opened her kitchen for Sunday brunch, we would definately be regulars :) Delicious

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A modern contemporary home with views to die for. From the moment you walk in, till the moment you leave, you are treated like family. The awesome breakfast, recommendations in area, and even driving us to dinner made this a 5 star plus stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drickettsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Spotlessly clean and ticks all the boxes. Riverview Terrace in Wanaka is the best. Breakfast is delicious and the jacuzzi on a chilly autumn cloudless night is fantastic. Pam, you are such a terrific cook. Peter, thanks for driving us around and your recommendation of the yummy Francesca's restaurant in town. Thanks for the enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful home perched on top of a hill with spectacular views of the valley......,Riverview Terrace is the perfect, romantic getaway. We'll be back!
Our hosts, Pam and Peter are incredible. They were attentive and really took care of us, like family.
Pam makes an awesome breakfast, complete with freshly baked muffins and home grown fruits from her garden.
The ultimate luxury was the outdoor spa, where we sat drinking wine and gazing at the moon and stars......absolutely decadent!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Pam and Peter- kudos to both of you for maintaining such an atmosphere at RiverView Terrace. This place is a little away from the Wanaka lake, but the distance was never a problem as Pam and Peter would always arrange to pick us up, amidst their busy schedule. The place is serene, the rooms awesome, luxurious, spacious and with all amenities that we get in a 5-star hotel. The bubble bath that me and my wife had under the starry sky is worth mentioning as well. But what stands out for this place is 'Pam and Peter'- they are the most hospitable people I have ever known. They had taken care of every need of ours. Also- Pam's cooking was just too delicious, the breakfast was yummy (so much like home) and her home-made pancakes were the best!!!
Thanks Pam and Peter for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deep9680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing