We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional just doesn't seem like high enough praise.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverview Terrace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riverview Terrace
Ranked #3 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Exceptional just doesn't seem like high enough praise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

There are few places that can lure you back purely based on their customer service and amenities, but Riverview Terrace is definitely one. Pam and Peters hospitality was exceptional and made this a truly relaxing and memorable experience. Their service and attention to detail went above and beyond anything I have experienced before....and I would go back just for the amazing spread put on for breakfast alone. Thankyou both for an amazing time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
194
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a great little 2 night stay with Pam and Peter at Riverview Terrace, basing our Heli skiing adventure out of the comfort of their beautiful homestead. I am in customer service/sales, so know how important a good first impression is, and also how important is to deliver consistently.. Pam & Peter delivered on both accounts and even provided beautiful gluten free options for me during our stay. The rooms were big and so comfortable, equipped with electric blankets to kick the edge off a cold NZ winter night/morning. We absolutely loved our stay at Riverview Terrace and will be sure to tell all our friends about it for the next ski season!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reenee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thanks so much for your review, Peter & I really enjoyed hosting you all and hope you will return for more skiing in the future. Plus more time in the spa. PS The stars are shining this week!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Can't speak highly enough of Pam and Peter's hospitality at Riverview! Brilliant location, beautifully appointed and the best service I've experienced in a long, long time. Perfect place for a ski trip but also keen to see it in summer. You can't go wrong!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had the pleasure to enjoy a perfect stay at Riverview Terrace in Wanaka for our honeymoon. Our room was big, well furnished, quiet, comfortable and very clean. Pam and Peter are the perfect hosts: charming, kind, warm and friendly. They made us great suggestions to enjoy our stay in Wanaka and took good care of us to make us feel like if we were at home. We enjoyed with Pam and Peter an interesting conversation with a glass of wine and some nice appetizers before dinner. Pam cooked for us a delicious breakfast and also gave us some homemade muffins for our trip to the glaciars.
We spend almost two weeks around New Zealand and this one was by far the best accomodation we stayed in. We can only say 'thank-you' for making our stay so special, we take unforgettable memories away with us. If we ever travel to New Zealand again, we will for sure make a stop in Wanaka to spend some lovely days with you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_GAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We were delighted to host you both on your honeymoon, thank you for your review, our aim is to spoil our guests & give them an unforgetable experience in Wanaka, we are so pleased we measured up on these points for you both. Our best wishes for your future happiness together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hawea, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My partner and I had the loveliest one-night stay at Riverview Terrace, two weeks before our second baby was due.
We had decided to treat ourselves to a night away but it was Pam and Peter (our hosts) who did the treating. Pam had very thoughtfully researched beneficial (and delicious) canapes to give to pregnant women and provided a non-alcoholic drink option for me and a nice wine for my partner.
After returning from our dinner in Wanaka, Pam whipped us up a yummy dessert using apples from their own tree, while they welcomed us into their living room to watch a rugby game.
A candlelit, indoor bath was a wonderful way to relax before a great night's sleep in the large, spotlessly clean room - followed up by a rare sleep-in...without our toddler, who usually wakes us anytime from 5am!
The breakfast was incredible and every detail seen to attentatively by Pam and Peter.
Stay here if you need a little pampering!

Room Tip: All the rooms look out on the same stunning view. If you are an early riser be sure to draw the curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverviewWanaka, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We were very pleased to give you an extra special time to relax & be pampered before the arrival of your new baby. Our very best wishes to you both. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review about Riverview Terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was lucky enough to experience the wonderful hospitality and beautiful surroundings thanks to Pam and Peter. They are so welcoming and their attention to detail is amazing. It made our stay so relaxing and refreshing. Beautiful home and surroundings; the food is lovely and to relax in the spa with a glass of wine at the end of the day, just tops it all off perfectly.
Thank you for pampering us so much!
Heather B.
Lower Hutt.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Very tastefully decorated and soooo comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Riverview Terrace, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
It was so great to meet you all and we hope you had the holiday you all so deserved, thank you for choosing to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Pam & Peter treated us with the up most consideration within an amazing setting providing a quialty experience that will remain with us.Loving attention to detail is applied to decor, food and surroundings providing a unique restful stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Terrace

Property: Riverview Terrace
Address: 31 Matheson Crescent | Albert Town, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riverview Terrace 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverview Terrace is a NZ Qualmark rated 5 Star luxury accommodation with stunning 360* mountain and river views offering 3 luxuriously appointed bedroom suites with en-suites, heated floors and mirrors, hairdryers, disabled facilities, spa bath and patios. Guests can enjoy the private lounge with library, TV, DVD, and internet,or relax in our 8 seater spa under the stars. Generous 3 course breakfast of your choice. Join James and Nicky for complimentary pre-dinner drinks or afternoon tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riverview Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing