We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is all about the small touches. Lime Tree does this very well.”
Review of Lime Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lime Tree Lodge
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 13, 2009

It is all about the small touches. Lime Tree does this very well. Thanks for a wonderful and relaxing stay.

Sally & Rebecca balance very well the Guest House requirement of introducing you to other Guests & inviting you to enjoy joint evening drinks and nibbles (the food was sensational) , but still ensuring that you maintain a total feel of privacy & relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnasSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 146 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

Beautiful, quiet location, stunning view, very tastfully decorated interior, very pleasant and comfortable rooms, lovely breakfast, attentive and helpful hosts! The Lime Tree is on our 'have to return to" list.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Of our 3 weeks in New Zealand we enjoyed our stay at The Lime Tree Lodge the best. This was down to Sally and Rebecca who run it, their attention to detail, kindness and a feeling that this is home not just a stop over. We felt that they go the extra mile which makes such a difference when you're so far from home and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful gardens and very peaceful.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandPorsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed at Lime Tree Lodge for a second time this year. We so enjoyed our 4 night stay in July that we decided to return for a week this time. Rebecca and Sally run an outstanding boutique lodge, no detail is overlooked and they have an instinctive flair for how to make their guests feel completely pampered and at ease, and we had the sense that were visiting good friends. The guest areas are modern and impeccably clean, and the gardens beautiful.
We stayed in the Black Peak Suite on both occasions, which has a very large master bedroom, dressing room, bathroom with tub & shower, small bunk-bed room and a lovely lounge area ( with fireplace & kitchenette). The decor is uncomplicated, high quality and comfortable. Lovely views of the mountains from the bedroom, which has doors opening up onto the garden. The Black Peak Suite has its own entrance and is located away from the other guest rooms, so there was zero disturbance from other guests.
We loved Rebecca's breakfast with homemade goodies, eggs from the resident chickens and delicious coffee!
The lodge is located in the countryside, about an 8 minute drive from Wanaka center, on a large, well maintained piece of property, with good views of distant mountains and surrounding hills.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superpollo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We had a wonderful stay – the second for my husband and me and first for our kids, parents and friends. The suites were comfortable, cozy and well-equipped. We will miss the delectable hot breakfasts (especially the amazing grilled portabellos, multigrain bread and eggs fresh from their own hens), tasty water, friendly ‘pets’, superb fire-places...and Bronna's lovely meals with lots of NZ Pinot. Rebecca and Sally provided help with bookings, reservations, a ride-on toy for our little one, and special dietary requirements. It made for a perfect trip!

Patty Gaw and family
Hong Kong

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowjoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2009

In the middle of a hectic year our fours days at Lime Tree Lodge was a godsend. We had heard great reviews about the lodge, but any expectations we had were exceeded by a mile. Rebecca and Sally are attentive friendly hosts who could not have done more for us. We will be back !

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

My partner and I have just had a week in Queenstown and a week in Wanaka at the beautiful Lime Tree Lodge. This is my second time there and what a treat! We were exhausted after a busy time in Queenstown and the generosity and genuine caring we received at LTL was beyond call. The beautiful garden was waking from a cold winter and green shoots were appearing on all the trees. Rebecca and Sally were attentive and informative, but discreet and we felt comfortable with the run of the lodge. Every need we had was catered to, including several delicious home cooked dinners. Breakfast was another example of the care that they put into the lodge with delicious museli served with their own preserved fruit. I wish I had it every day now! I played golf on their mini course, petanque, croquet and had lots of spas. Rebecca and Sally are amazing hosts and this lodge is not too formal which many lodges can be, but the service is as good as any I have stayed in. Well done and I hope to return next winter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
5.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 53 in Wanaka
130 reviews
14.1 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
369 reviews
2 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Lodge

Address: Crnr Ballantyne Road and State Highway 6, Wanaka, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $263 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lime Tree Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lime Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing