We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“cozy environment and friendly host” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harpers Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harpers Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cozy environment and friendly host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We enjoyed the short stay in Harpers B&B very much Ian and Jo just made us feel like home, Dominic and Florence

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elmomonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 1, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We enjoy what we do and are glad you felt 'at home'. Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
85
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

Was a fabulous stay with Ian & Jo and one night wasn't long enough!
We were greeted warmly by Ian (despite being Australian! as well as our booking being impromptu and last minute!) and after a cup of tea and some delicious freshly homemade muffins we had heard about all the local sights, recommendations on great eating places, and had even tasted the 'magical' water from their beautiful fresh water spring in their garden paradise! We were shown our fresh king sized room which overlooked the scenic lake and mountains and it was lovely to sleep peacefully to the sound of the water cascading out of the spring.
We were recommended to go to 'Finchy's' restaurant where not only did we get a free drink each, thanks to the Harpers B & B connection, but it was the best meal of our whole NZ experience!
The stay was topped off with a fantatsic breakfast spread inlcuding cereals, yoghurts, fruits, homemade bread and of course Jo's infamous pancakes...(we didn't even go close to the record which we hear is 8 in one sitting!); complemented by great conversation and laughs with Jo & Ian.
Overall Wanaka was a real highlight of our NZ experience, largely thanks to Jo & Ian's warm and welcoming hospitality. Looking forward to our next visit. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chillipackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 9, 2009
Thank you for the great review. We really do enjoy Australian company - even though Ian promotes the friendly rivalry!!! We also think Wanaka is a very special place and we would be delighted to have you stay with us again Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

We were greeted warmly by Jo and Ian upon our late arrival, who showed us our charming room with a great view of the mountains. Jo provided restaurant recommendations around the city, and we received a free beer/glass of wine per person at their favorite restaurant (Finchy's). She also makes great pancakes for breakfast. Be sure to ask Ian about houses built of hay bales.

Most likely you will have a car, but it is about a 20 minute walk to the city. Jo & Ian are great hosts and we would definitely stay here again whenever we make it back to Wanaka.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Just a bit of a far walk from the city
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parisi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2009
We do appreciate your comments and it would be great to have you visit again. Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2009

A lovely B&B. Our hosts Jo and Ian offered great conversation and suggestions for how to enjoy the time. We had booked hostels for most of our trip through the South Island, but I'm so glad we stopped here while in Wanaka. We'll definitely visit again if we go back.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsdrawkcab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
We were also very happy that you chose a B&B as a change from hostels as we enjoyed your company. Thank you for taking the time to make a comment. We would love to see you back in Wanaka. Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Hosts Jo and Ian were warm and welcoming. Breakfast was lovely, the garden beautiful and the views just grand! We had a great stay at Harpers (we wanted to stay longer than the two nights we had booked) and would certainly love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missymoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 27, 2009
We appreciate your comments and maybe we will meet again in the future. Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2008

We both had the most marvellous stay at Harpers B&B as part of our South Island Xmas Roadtrip.

Despite being Australian we were welcomed with open arms by Jo and Ian and it wasn't very long before we felt like long lost friends.

Jo gave us some great suggestions for local walks and where we could grab a bite to eat. We followed the suggestions and were so glad we did.

Beautiful, comfortable accommodation accompanied by their gorgeous garden made it a delight to stay. The pancakes in the morning were the best we've ever had and we happily seized the chance to take the recipe! Sorry that we couldn't make the record but we're keeping a running tally and hope that we will be able to accumulate that when we next stay.

We were genuinely sorry to leave - moreso when our accommodation the next night proved dire - and we'll be back at the first opportunity. Very highly recommended.

Jennifer and Kath

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaelLakeWanaka, Owner at Harpers Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 29, 2009
Yes we enjoy Australians company too! The pancake record is still 7 and we look forward to having you back to attempt it once more. Jo and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

Many thanks Jo and Ian for a great stay and being such wonderful hosts. Really enjoyed Wanaka and did lots of walking. Loved Rob Roy Glacier and the Wanaka Pom Poms. We found staying with you such a good base for exploring the area and visiting Queenstown. Thank you for booking our Doubtful Sound trip, which was marvelous.
You both made our trip so enjoyable and those pancakes!
We will be back!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Mamamia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.5 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Copper Beech Wanaka - Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harpers Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harpers Bed and Breakfast

Property: Harpers Bed and Breakfast
Address: 95 McDougall Street, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly homestay within 5 minutes walk to lake and 15 minutes walk to town. Enjoy sharing breakfast stories with your hosts who have traveled quite extensively. Comfortable rooms with views of mountains and our extensive garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing