We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boat Trip and Nature Walk to Pigeon Island”

Eco Wanaka Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.33*
and up
Lake Cruise & Island Nature Walk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers - Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day! Walk in "THE HOBBIT's" footsteps - The Misty Mountains Heli Hike starts at 2100m, on the very set that was used in all 3 trilogies - With 3 "Lord of the Rings" film sites also seen from this paramount site. Magical panoramas can be seen from this commanding site from the movie featured, glacier cloaked Mt Aspiring at 3033m to the Laketown of Wanaka far below! 1400m above worry level- The Alpine Lakes Heli Hike is a pure wilderness experience- 3 pristine emerald clear lakes with a commanding view of the Matukituki Valley - As easy or as challenging as you like, this incredible World Heritage area is part of the glaciated Mt Aspiring National Park. Just stunning photographic views!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

My wife and I have been travelling around New Zealand for just over 3 weeks and this trip was definitely one of, if not the top highlight of our visit!

We were hosted by Chris, who was so knowledgeable, friendly and enthusiastic, he absolutely made the trip!

To learn how and why the glaciers carved the landscape and how the island had formed and then how the plants and bird life had evolved around each other was so interesting and it made us see the landscape in a different way.

And of course, the wekas were adorable :)

I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank wee_insomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2016

Yes, those quirky flightless gullible birds are adorable, so nosey and innocently naive...
Extinct on the mainland for that very reason...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chris riley"
in 39 reviews
"mou waho island"
in 69 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 27 reviews
"lake cruise"
in 20 reviews
"nature walk"
in 20 reviews
"buff weka"
in 12 reviews
"tree planting"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 46 reviews
"boat ride"
in 16 reviews
"free environment"
in 3 reviews
"flightless birds"
in 4 reviews
"his passion"
in 11 reviews
"conservation work"
in 4 reviews
"guided walk"
in 7 reviews
"pigeon island"
in 3 reviews
"close encounter"
in 3 reviews
"bird life"
in 8 reviews
Filter

101 - 105 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2015

Took tour of boat trip to Mou Waho led by Chris. This was the highlight of month long trip. Everything about the tour was great. Happened to be a beautiful day. As Chris said you know it's special when the guide starts taking photos. As other posters mentioned, Chris enthusiasm and love of the place shines. I am not particularly fit and found the hike up to the lake somewhat challenging. Am very grateful for the assistance Chris gave at times offering his hand over steep or rocky portions of trail. One of the most beautiful places I've ever seen shown by one of the kindest people ever met. If you have the time please enjoy.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank scampi745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2015

We are here to help.
We have walking poles to supply to assist in the nature ramble pace that we travel at to the lake on top. Not a problem for us, as we have had a fit 87 year old get to the lake in time happily. We travel at a leisurely pace, stopping frequently to explain features (and have a wee breather!)
Many just stay down the bottom to be entertained by the Wekas, serenaded by the multitudes of Bellbirds and the acrobatics of the swooping giant NZ Pigeons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2015

We went on the boat trip to Mou Waho, guided by Chris. He is such an enthusiast for NZ nature, this island, and the weka in particular. We were blessed by very calm conditions and great visibility. The walk took us right to the top of the island, even above the lake. We met the great old weka, Wally, and his "wife" and this year's 2 offspring. Also saw plenty of bellbirds, a NZ falcon and NZ wood pigeon, along with 2 geckoes. Chris is such a mine of information about the landscape, vegetation and animal life that it would be impossible not to be carried along.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank SteveA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Thanks for the review, flattered, but the animals and birds are the stars of this show!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015 via mobile

Eco Wanaka Adventures is a real gem. We went to visit Mou Waho Island with Chris Bailey who operates the company.

Chris is incredibly passionate about Mou Waho, the Weka bird and the Weta insect. The boat ride out is a fun experience in itself, and the walk on the island flies by with Chris's hilarious commentary. His introduction of Wally and Sally (the oldest weka birds) on the island is incredibly heartwarming as you witness the bond he has with the birds.

A not to be missed half day trip back in time to an island that is almost the same as it was thousands of years ago.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank winnie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Yes, Mou Waho Island is like going Back in time to NZ, before all the nasty introduced predators arrived to wipe out alot of our birdlife, particularly the Flightless ones - This Weka species has been extlnct on Mainland NZ since 1920!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2015

The tour starts at the wharf in downtown where Chris will take you to Mou Waho Island where he has been instrumental in reintroducing the Buff Weta and the Stone Weta. Both were on the bring of extinction. Now they are repopulating thanks to his and others efforts. You'll hike up to the top of the island and overlook the lake on a lake and have tea and cookies. But watch out for the Weta bird at they are extremely friendly and want your cookie. Chris is a delightful man and wonderful tour guide. There's not enough time for Chris to share his knowledge of the area, island or the Weta's. A must see.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2016

Buff Wekas are friendly in gypsy kind of a way.... Wally and Sally Weka do tend to have shocking table manners at "High Tea" - This12 year relationship pair of birds are not familiar with the term "Personal Space" in their own comfort zone territory we are guests to...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 
 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing