We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake on a lake on a lake ....”

Eco Wanaka Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers - Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day! Walk in "THE HOBBIT's" footsteps - The Misty Mountains Heli Hike starts at 2100m, on the very set that was used in all 3 trilogies - With 3 "Lord of the Rings" film sites also seen from this paramount site. Magical panoramas can be seen from this commanding site from the movie featured, glacier cloaked Mt Aspiring at 3033m to the Laketown of Wanaka far below! 1400m above worry level- The Alpine Lakes Heli Hike is a pure wilderness experience- 3 pristine emerald clear lakes with a commanding view of the Matukituki Valley - As easy or as challenging as you like, this incredible World Heritage area is part of the glaciated Mt Aspiring National Park. Just stunning photographic views!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lake on a lake on a lake ....”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We had a fantastic day with Chris, exploring an island in the middle of Lake Wanaka, and it was absolutely fabulous. We saw so much that we would have missed on our own. The wekas came up to us to try and steal our food, we actually saw a bell bird and didn't just hear it's beautiful chiming, and the views were to die for. It is a bit expensive, but worth every penny.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trangmard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Great to have your review of this magnificent island, far away from the bustle of Wanaka village.
This island is surrounded by wilderness, giving it a unique magic of its own.
Due to fuel costs, we run 2 x 150hp low emission 4 stroke outboards efficiently to and from this isolated island, (34 kms return) it nessitates our per person rate. (We operate with just 2 people to this unique Nature Reseve.) - A very special place in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    13
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Nature Tour”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Another superlative review for Chris Riley and Eco Wanaka. Chris is charismatic and energetic and very well informed on his tours. We spent a half day with him on his island tour on Lake Wanaka. We learned so much and had a great time. Chris served us morning tea and biscuits at the top of our hike, and we helped him plant a native tree on our way down. He does this on every trip out to the island, and waters them all when there's not enough rain. Chris never stops and packs more into a half day than we've ever experienced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Green-Mountain-Mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
As we are in a rain shelter area here in Wanaka, we can operate in 99% of conditions.
Hence, when we have a drought, we water the trees planted in the last season, to get them estblished, then they never look back- These trees are already feeding the birds, creating a win-win situation for all concerned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Paradise Island”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We had a half day tour with Chris Riley to a special island nature reserve on Lake Wanaka. This was an unmissable adventure for us. We saw the flightless Buff Weka, heard the magnificent calls of the numerous Bell Birds which live on the island and saw the rare black fantail. The hidden lake at the top of the island is a wonderful and beautiful paradise, supervised by the oldest Buff Weka on the island, Wally and his mate Sally. The enthusiasm and knowledge of the guide, Chris Riley, made the trip a most memorable experience. The hike is moderate in places and you'll need a head for heights to get the most from the tour. It does seem a little expensive for a half day trip at first view, but the exclusivity of the site make the price a bargain. You just need to meet Chris to see personified the desire of the Kiwis to return their homeland to a pristine state.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Thanks! Here is a few trip notes and updates-
Wally and Sally Weka have now successfully raised (and weaned) Ritchie McCaw Weka- Chick #19 in a long line of fine upstanding Weka- Wally and Sally, we have known for 11 years now, have the top Real estate on the island, Infity pool, Penthouse, swimming pool, entertaining area, - Location location location.
Wally is the only bird left of the original 30 birds liberated on here in 2004, but they have all reproduced to the point that estimates are now approximately there are 250 Buff Weka thriving on this predator Free haven.
This species of flightless bird has been extinct in the wild on Mainland NZ since 1920.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobby, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“If you do a tour with Eco Wanaka - be warned, you will want to come back and live here !!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

It sounds a cliché, but no trip to this special part of the world is complete without a guided tour with Eco Wanaka. My wife and I went on the 'Lake Cruise and Island Nature Walk' hosted by Chris Riley. His expertise and professionalism helped make this 4 hour afternoon exploration stand out as one amazing adventure. We were accompanied by some older folks and the time Chris spent with everyone made all of us feel comfortable - no one was rushed, and his natural talent, sense of humour and passion for what he was doing made the afternoon fly by !!.
Bring some comfortable walking shoes and a camera (snacks and refreshments are provided) standing at the top of the island makes you feel as though you are the first explorers in the area as it would have looked several hundreds of years ago.
Thanks Chris - loved the comment when you were looking down the bush track at the boat ramp and saw 3 other boats, "This place is busier than Tokyo Train Station !!",...... priceless.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank GldCstOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Sorry, but 95% of the time (especially in the mornings) we have the island and often the whole lake -180sq km- to ourselves!
A fantastic pure New Zealand experience that you hoped to see while travelling here-
Mou Waho Island delivers that promise!
Thanks for the glowing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Chris is certainly enthusiastic”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Lake Cruise + Island Nature Walk was recommended to us and quite rightly so. Chris Riley (guide, boat operator, conservationist) is first class and his enthusiasm for his work and the re-introduction of Buff Wekas onto Mou Waho Island in the middle of Lake Wanaka is contagious. The wekas are really inquisitive and so we had no problem getting pictures and true to his word Chris gave us 'high tea' at the top of the island. And even got to plant a native tree!
Would really recommend this trip if you are even remotely interested in conservation and wildlife.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
It is not hard to not be enthusiastic about this Gem of an island!
We pride ourselves on giving you the opportinity to "Give back" to NZ environment by planting a tree, true to our company policy of leaving this unique Nature Reserve island in better condition on every trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 
 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing