We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Lake island trip

Absolutely fantastic. A must do while in Wanaka Great value for money very knowledgeable... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
dscltd
,
Nelson, New Zealand
Amazing

We had the pleasure of Larry and Betty from Kansas join us on our trip to Mou Wahou, they were... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Julie R
,
Stafford, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 301 reviews
  
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveler rating
269
13
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
13
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chris riley mou waho island flora and fauna nature walk lake cruise buff weka tree planting new zealand boat ride free environment flightless birds his passion conservation work close encounter guided walk enthusiastic guide fantastic trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Absolutely fantastic. A must do while in Wanaka
Great value for money very knowledgeable operators
Good walk up to the lake on Pigeon Island cup of tea at top Expansive views of Lake Wanaka and hills

Thank dscltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi, Many thanks for the review, we greatly appreciate your feedback. I agree, the 360 degree views from the summit of Mou Waho Island are amazing, kind regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We had the pleasure of Larry and Betty from Kansas join us on our trip to Mou Wahou, they were great company as was our brilliant guide and skipper Jamie. The island did not disappoint and we saw plenty of flora and fauna on the way to the pool at the top. After a refreshing cuppa and biscuits we set off to plant our trees, mine I named Griselda Griselinia and will return in a few years to check on progress

Thank you to Jamie for a wonderful morning he was truly superb

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Julie, Great to hear you enjoyed your tour to magical Mou Waho Island. We look forward to taking you back to see Griselda in a few years! warm regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures. PS: I will pass on your review to Jamie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

My wife and I read about this walk and despite the cost we felt it sounded like one of those unique opportunities to see an incredible natural environment and gain from the knowledge and experience of local guides. The walk itself was strenuous but not particularly challenging for someone of average fitness. It's important to have good hiking boots (which we didn't-but thanks to Andy our guide - we soon had suitable boots. The 2 guides - Andy & Petrina - complimented each other with their skill sets and provide relevant information and commentary throughout the hike. We were blessed with mild but sunny weather just after several days of heavy rain. The scenery is stunning and quite unique. To see so many different aspects; mountains, snow capped peaks, mountain streams, glaciers, waterfalls, bird life, vegetation is very rare especially without having to trek for days. Would recommend this hike to anyone visiting South Island. Janet & John

Thank Curious13155336827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Janet & John, thank you for the review, I will pass it onto your Guides Petrina & Andy. Yes the Rob Roy Valley is a very beautiful valley and well worth the effort as you say to see so much with only a days walk. We are lucky to have such a special place so close to Wanaka. kind regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We did the lake cruise to Mou Tapu island -- it was absolutely amazing. Chris was fantastic and very knowledgable. We got to meet the Wekas which was a highlight of our honeymoon. The island itself is gorgeous and we got to give back by planting a tree. If you have time, you should absolutely do this tour!

Thank lrb5045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for reviewing your tour with us to Mou Waho Island. I will pass on your nice feedback to Chris, he will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your tour. It is a magical island and it gets better every time we do a trip with each tree that our clients plant which is great to see, Warm Regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I were picked up at our hotel and driven to lake wanaka boat docks for a mist wonder tour of the lake above the lake. Our guide Chris is a walking encyclopedia of information told in a humorous and delightful way. After the boat ride to the island we hiked up to the lake above the lake, a remnant from glaciers. Chris carried provisions, tea, sandwiches, and muffins. It was quite the hike for us at age 72 but well worth it. At the top Chris had us plant a tree, his passion. His other passion are the native birds he obviously loves what he does and we loved hearing about his adventures. We highly recommend this trip for families groups or couples.

Thank LOrry_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review your tour with us we really appreciate it. Mou Waho is truly a magical island and it is a great experience to visit it. warm regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were 2 overseas visitors on first trip to New Zealand, hoping to enjoy the famous scenery of South Island. There are many options but with only 2 nights in Wanaka, I chose this Eco Wanaka Adventures because it seemed to offer a personalised experience guided by professionals, even though the price was a little higher than the other choices I found.
We had a wonderful morning full of amazing views of Lake Wanaka and Mou Waho. Our guide Jamie was knowledgeable, friendly and efficient, taking us on an unhurried tour. He did not drown us in detail and yet gave an informed synopsis of the flora and fauna, conservation efforts and answered all our questions (and there were some challenging ones from us...”can you tell the gender of a 3 inch gecko?”). Jaimie was patient and accommodated our photo-taking and our gawking at allllll the views. We planted our tree, got stalked by Buff Wekas, gingerly watched Jaimie show us large some NZ
Weta (think large jumpy striped cockroach...). Drank tea and ate cookies while enjoying the views.
I would strongly recommend this tour for its amazing views of Lake Wanaka and its islands, and a focused understanding of the area. Well worth the price!

1  Thank Nyuk-Chong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review! Yes, Jamie and our guides on these trips are passionate about our unique environment of lakes, islands and mountains.Our mission is that we strive to connect you and learn more about why NZ"s flora & fauna is so unique.
This predator free island has so many secrets, we have learnt ourselves from over 20 years some of our staff have been guiding in the area, and especially on magic Mou Waho Island.
Whatever your interest is - Photography, birds, forest, insects , lizards or just finding out more and immersing yourselves in the pure NZ wilderness you are seeking on your adventure here,
We strive to deliver a lifetime memory to you. AND your opportunity plant a food tree for the birds as well on every trip to this very special Nature Reserve. warm regards, Chris Riley, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

We did the Lake cruise to Mou Tapu Island and walk and had a great time.
Chris was an excellent guide who knows the island very well and would stop and explain things on the way up to the lake and lookout.

The walk is up hill but with regular short stops it was not too strenuous.
The views of the lake are stunning and then even better from the lookout at the top.
Chris is also a wizzz with phones and cameras and took many photos of us using his skills to get some amazing results !!
We also saw the Weka birds up close and got some great photos.
Overall an excellent way to spend half a day in Wanaka !

Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Manager at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2018

Hi Michael, Many thanks for reviewing your tour with us. I will let Chris know that you enjoyed your trip. Mou Waho Island is quite stunning and as you say the views for the top are amazing! warm regards, Lee, Eco Wanaka Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

The three of us joined Chris for his tour. He is knowledgeable and funny. He stops on the walk frequently to describe things and give me time to catch my breath. The views were amazing and saw Sally and Wally getting romantic.

Thank LynnRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Great hosting you on magic Mou Waho island.
Wally, the rare flightless aged Buff Weka, is unofficially the oldest Weka alive in the wild in the South Island, Sally, his lifelong partner hatched in 2004. So she is no "spring chicken" either!
Astounding that they are still amorous and producing chicks together -
We have watched them raise 25 chicks so far.... Another record. - At five weeks old the chicks have to leave home and "get a haircut and get a real job" from Wally and Sally's home territory and find a mate/new territory.
Estimated population on this 2km long island is 200+- Weka.
They became extinct on Mainland NZ in 1920, fortunately these liberated sub species Buff Weka (along with other vibrant vocal bird life,) thrive on this introduced predator free island in Lake Wanaka
. And, we must admit, they do run like a Velociraptor with feathers and some clients have described this island like a NZ version of Jurassic Park (without the big bitey things and electric fences) Each of these curious innocent birds have developed quirky personalities we have noticed over our 12 years of eco tours to island, along with it's quirky lake on top. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Thanks to a local reference we ended up taking a boat ride with Chris..... now ‘get your head round this’.. there is so much to learn about the early years of this wonderful land (ice age) and Chris is the man to hold this outdoor tutorial... his passion is truly inspiring.. we really felt like we were contributing to respecting the land and it’s wonderful eco-system.. I would not hesitate in recommending this experience.. and if you are lucky you will meet a cute little species the Buff Weka!! Keep it up Chris.. we will be back to check in on our tree!!! ❄️❄️ Alli and Pete

Thank allikat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

Thanks to you as well for planting these food trees to feed the vibrant bird life blossoming on this predator free haven of Mou Waho island.
For us, we have a unique agreement with the Department of Conservation, to plant Native trees (with seeds sourced from the island) to allow you to plant a tree, (one on every trip) to the island.
These planted trees, (now some are 12 years old) are already feeding the birds and wildlife on this island, planted by people on our tour - A chance for YOU to "Give back to NZ's natural beauty and environment.
Our Eco policy is to leave this island BETTER than we arrived, on every trip.
A most satisfying "Win - win" situation for all concerned - Dept of Conservation - Eco Wanaka Adv - Mou Waho Is. Birds & Animals - And of course, YOU, the Eco tourist!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018 via mobile

We met Chris on a chilly morning at the marina in Wanaka. He’d gotten there early to warm up the interior of the boat. My wife was THRILLED to discover freshly filled hot water bottles in the cabin. Chris was both extraordinarily knowledgeable and passionate about the lake, the island and the history of the area. On the island we were met by the resident Buff Wekas (small flightless birds) and incredible scenery. Chris described flora and fauna on the climb up to a small lake on the island. Sitting on rock outcroppings overlooking the small and large lakes, we were offered tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cookies. After planting a small native tree (started in a greenhouse from seeds collected on the island) we made the 30 minute boat ride back to the marina. A great morning!

Thank BamaClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2018

We operate year round to magic Mou Waho Island, as our fast boat has a completely enclosed, sound insulated cabin, to get us efficiently and smoothly to this introduced predator free island. We use low emission 4 stroke engines to power "Oanaka" our trusty and comrortable time shuttle to take you back to a land like it was back in time in NZ. Not one building can be seen from the Panorama of both lakes and the snow clad Southern Alps all around us.
Not many places in the world left, that you can see wilderness of this scale, in a 20minute boat ride from our village of Wanaka.
A genuine winter wonderland! - Our pleasure to share this magic with you both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews