We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flightless birds and fantastic views... oh, and a little tree planting too”

Eco Wanaka Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Eco Wanaka Lake, Island and Mountain Adventures offers - Lake Cruise & island Walk - Rare flightless birds, a magical lake on top of an island and a unique opportunity to plant a native tree as part of this eco-experience. Rob Roy Glacier Guided Trek - The World Heritage area's Jewel, Rob Roy has it all! Swingbridge, Rainforest, waterfalls, icefalls, and comical Keas all in one day! Walk in "THE HOBBIT's" footsteps - The Misty Mountains Heli Hike starts at 2100m, on the very set that was used in all 3 trilogies - With 3 "Lord of the Rings" film sites also seen from this paramount site. Magical panoramas can be seen from this commanding site from the movie featured, glacier cloaked Mt Aspiring at 3033m to the Laketown of Wanaka far below! 1400m above worry level- The Alpine Lakes Heli Hike is a pure wilderness experience- 3 pristine emerald clear lakes with a commanding view of the Matukituki Valley - As easy or as challenging as you like, this incredible World Heritage area is part of the glaciated Mt Aspiring National Park. Just stunning photographic views!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Can't say anything negative about this little trip across Lake Wanaka to an island sanctuary for a group of flightless birds known as Buff Wekas. Chris our guide was fun to be with, very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the island and as well as providing tea and biscuits after a walk to the top of the island, he brought along a native tree sapling that was then planted as part of a tree recovery programme. Money well spent and lasting memories too.

Thank stoneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thanks for the glowing review, it is nice to feel we are leaving this island in better condition than when we arrived by planting a tree with every trip, as part of our eco policy.
The trip 16kms up lake Wanaka to the island is very scenic in it's self, with views of Islands, Alps, glaciers, and the Lord of the Rings Sites, the Treble Cone Ski Field features in the Hobbitt premier movie, our Misty Mountain Heli Hike traverses the very footsteps taken on their quest, visible from the lake. The island's secret is like something out of middle earth- with it's mystical lake on top of an island....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 186 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our day out with Chris (our boat driver/ guide/ naturalist), and would recommend it to everyone.

After a fast boat ride along Lake Wanaka we went onto the island of Mou Waho, which has its own lake at the top of Tyrwhitt Peak.

Chris is very knowledgable about the fauna and flora and geology of the area.

We saw a family of Weka (birds) which was very good.

Each trip plants a native "cabbage" tree.

Thank Amby_no1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

The Weka's are active again, with a bit of romance in the air with the territorial pairs on the island.
Looking like a productive summer for the population of rare flightless birds. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Chris our guide was full of enthusiasm for the conservation of Mou Waha island in Lake Wanaka and New Zealand generally. He is a fountain of knowledge of the geology, plants, birds, insects etc. of the island. The island with its lake is truly magical and the whole trip was a wonderful experience and excellent value for money. To offset the carbon footprint of our trip we even planted a tree on the island. We left feeling we had a new friend in Chris. We highly recommend this trip

Thank Richjill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Great to have you both on this magic island, and to leave it in better condition with your tree.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great suggestion from Chris for a day hike to the Rob Roy Glacier. Spectacular scenery and diverse vegetation, beautifully interpreted by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Heidi. Includes a huge lunch as well as drinks and cookies at the end of the day, so we felt very well taken care of. We highly recommend the company in general and this hike in particular.

Thank DEBORAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Rob Roy Guided Trek is an amazing combination of farm, swing bridge, rain forest, alpine Herb fields, waterfalls and of course glaciers! Heidi has a background in farming in the Wanaka region, is an outdoor First Aid instructor, and a superb guide. She can spot our delicate orchids in the forest, knows this country as her own, and is able to take you to those secret spots for a great photo of this superb valley. We are very lucky to have this diverse spectacular walk in our back yard! The most varied one day walk in NZ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent a morning with Stu on a boat and the wonderful island of Moa Waho Island. Stu was able to give us lots od info about the creation of the island and surrounding areas via glacial movement. Our hike uo the island was filled with info about the native plants and birds and whT the country is doing to foster increased pulatioms ofw native species. There is a great pay off for the hike up at the top with marvelous vistas. We were glad we hiked early as we beat the heat of the day which would have been considerable in the afternoon.

Thank MTMGJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecowanaka, Owner at Eco Wanaka Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Stu is a walking encyclopedia of New Zealand's flora and fauna, previously working for the Department of Conservation as a biodiversity manager, he was pivotal in the liberation of the rare Buff Weka back to Mou Waho Island, (after being wiped out by introduced predators on Mainland NZ by 1920.) This Island, through Stu and DOC's efforts, have made this a conservation success story. And we love showing it off to our overseas visitors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eco Wanaka Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Eco Wanaka Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing