We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Backpackers Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
North Island, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

It was unbelievably loud and the staff in the morning were very rude and dismissive when we said about the noise issues. There was signs up all over the place in regards to keeping the noise to a minimum past 10pm but that was the time when the music started in the bar downstairs and this continued until at least 1am. Insanely loud! Told the staff in the morning and the girl on the desk was incredibly dismissive. I would choose ANYWHERE over this place anyway!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review. I'm very sorry my staff didn't deal with the noise at the time of the incident. We have a live-in night security person to deal with any issues that arise and ideally they would have been contacted to help you with either a room move or some noise control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    95
    81
    48
    61
See reviews for
17
107
84
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Originally ended up with a double bed after booking for two beds. We discovered around 10pm that where we had been moved to was to the noisiest part of the building. We needed an early start. I suspect there are only about 8 rooms that you could get a good night's sleep in. The music was sooo loud that it was literally like the bed was placed in the dance floor with all speakers within inches of your head. Unbelievably loud. With all doors and windows to the place opened wide. There is no one manning reception apparently after 11 or something. However they failed to shut that door properly, as I discovered on my midnight excursion to demand a room change and earplugs. So I managed to scour every cupboard and drawer. Could have scored hairdryers towels batteries etc. However my interest in sleeping outweighed my desire for more baggage.
I phoned the bar in the place. Clearly they couldn't hear the phone anyway and didn't answer. Even if they had I wouldn't have heard them on it anyway. I find it utterly astounding that they do not warn about the noise. (We missed checking trip advisor thoroughly enough before booking it would seem) We find it unacceptable and offensive to have a night club in a backpackers that cranks out music at such a disrespectful level. Skip this place entirely if you want a vague amount of sleep. We got off light at 12.30 when things quietened down. We were told it goes til 3 most nights. Upon leaving the girl on the desk gives a lame "I'm sorry it was loud" apology. Like seriously ??! Clearly she's never heard it before and how (curse word’ing ) ridiculous to think a lame apology is sufficient for almost no sleep, and overheating because we had to shut the windows to take a mini edge off. We had to get up and leave early for a long drive. That room cost us 105$ we should have gotten a hotel room instead of this beep beep place. Sorry I'm mad as all heck!! I've stayed in numerous backpackers all around the world and never in my life encountered something so ridiculous. I cant even say anything good down about it. Stay only if you don't plan to sleep. Oh and the doors to rooms are so highly sprung that the courteous (NOT!!) Young puppies staying just let it bang shut over and over and over and over again. So once music stopped we had to contend with that for the rest of the night. You couldn’t make a noise as loud as those doors shutting in your own home unless you let off a shotgun at the same time as shutting them! Put something around the door to dull the slam for Petes sake!!

Room Tip: Not sure there are any really. unless backing onto the reception area somewhere. maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hi there. Firstly, I apologise in the delay on getting back to you, I have been away. I am truly sorry to hear about your sleepless night. We have a live in night security person to deal with these issues if they arise. They would have gladly helped supply you with some ear plugs and lower the noise. If you are in Wanaka again, please let me know on wanakagm@stayatbase.com, I would love another chance. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Cannock
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The hostel was good with comfortable adiquate accomerdation. The bedding was crisp and clean, the only complaint was that we had to go in search of toilet roll. The bathroom of our double was en-suite which was good. The staff were friendly but a bit disinterested, and they didnt offer any advice about attractions in the area without being asked specifics. The backpackers in central for town and within easy distance of the lake. As the town is very small it is only worth a short stay in summer. (Winter sports season would warrant a longer stay) Wanaka was the place in New Zealand that I would most like to live.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review. Pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We booked a room with own ensuite which was very clean & tidy. Our room was on the 2nd floor above the bar so party/bar noises could be heard. No complaints about that as we fully expected that being in a backpackers. The bar staff, meals & bar were all great as were the reception staff. Food was inexpensive & plentiful. The location couldn't be better. If you don't mind frivolity & fun then this is a great place at an affordable place to stay while in Wanaka

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankguth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our hostel and the bar. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julieb2007
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

This has to be by far the nicest, cleanest Base Hostel ever!!!

Rooms - spot on
Kitchen - clean, tidy, well equipped
Mint Bar - Great fun, nice music, free pool and lovely outside space

Within 2min walking distance to supermarket and Lake front.

10/10 Base - good job!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julieb2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have visited BASE Wanaka about half a dozen times now, and it seems to get better on each visit! With great facilities, friendly staff, a supermarket next door and the beautiful vistas of Lake Wanaka just a five minute walk away, this is the hostel to beat.

And this is not to mention Mint bar - the best bar in town. Cheap drinks, a beer garden and regular social activities such as karoake and beer pong. It's the perfect place for a solo traveller to make friends and have fun.

You're always guaranteed a fun night here - I know I am!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello! Thanks for the lovely review! Its been a pleasure hosting you each time you visit. Hope to see you again in the near future!! Take care :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Staff was nice, the room was clean but holy cow it was noisy. For starters check in went smooth, went to our room.. Used the key card and low and behold there was a naked guy in the room-his reaction "bloody h#ll it's occupied"! We went back to check in and advised that there was a naked australian guy in the room to which the reception replied "oh that guy? he's a new zealander he would be offended if he knew you called him a aussie"... My response was you can't unsee that sort of thing... Cheap place, location is good, staff is friendly but minor league (hey it's a hostel..) but bring ear plugs. I would probably pick another place next time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItAintFlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hi there, thanks for the review. Glad you enjoyed the town, sorry to hear about the noise. We actually have free ear plugs on offer at reception, its a shame you weren't aware of this. Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Property: Base Backpackers Wanaka
Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing