We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny but cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Base Backpackers Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny but cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The bath room was tiny for a big guy like me. Anyway the room is comfortable with king size bed. just the heather turned off in the middle of night which makes us wake up because of the chill. when checked with reception the following morning she said it was centralized controlled.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnyMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi JohnnyMalaysia
Thanks so much for your feedback, glad to hear your stay was up to your expectations, our heating is centrally controlled but we always take our customers feedback into consideration when setting these controls. I wish you all the best on your future travels.
regards
Wanaka GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    95
    80
    48
    61
See reviews for
17
107
83
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Booked via naked accommodation for only nz17 per night!!the room is as mentioned small (8 mixed gender beds) but each bed has its own reading lamp and power socket! The kitchen is clean but small!! Toilet is very new n clean! For NZ17? Definitely a good bargain :) walking distance to town :) and lake!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weiwayk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi
Thanks for staying at Base Wanaka, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks so much for the review.

regards
Wanaka GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This is a great backpackers. Friends who stayed in the dorms said it was very noisy but we didn't find that at all in the double room! Stayed in doubles across Nz and this was the best one we had and was cheap too. We wish we had stayed for more than one night.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amandajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear AmandaJM

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Base Wanaka, it is always great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, i hope you enjoy the remainder of your trip.

Kind regards
Base Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 1 night and had an ensuite room and it was lovely. The kitchen was dirty and the pans old and worn if it's cleaned regulary people are just pigs as the rest of the place is clean and tidy.

Room Tip: I liked this hostel but I believe the ensuite room is the way to go after ready other reviews. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night with a group. The hostel is fine, but beware if you stay in the dorm rooms. 8 people are absolutely SQUISHED into a very small room. While we managed for one night, I couldn't have stayed any longer in that room - just too cramped and small. Absolutely no room to unpack or really do anything... Otherwise, the bigger rooms with ensuites are fine. Kitchen and bathrooms are fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Andie H

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Base Backpackers Wanaka, I take on board your comments regarding the space in our 8 bed dorms, we do have a variety of rooms that suit all our guests budgets and space requirements, in future please do not hesitate to talk to our experienced crew on reception for different options.

Regards
Base Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Scan other reviews and I believe it comes down to those who had a room with ensuite liking it and the unfortunates in the dorms... much less so. The 8 bed dorms such as #120 brought to mind arranging bunks down the aisle of a bus; some German guys in my group made unflattering comparisons to military barracks.

The building was badly made for a place where it's been known to rain now and then. In the morning there was quite a procession at the front desk of people whose rooms were flooded or at least found any clothes left near the outer walls waterlogged. To their credit the staff on duty (Feb23) properly acknowledged the need to compensate guests who suffered.

This place is busy enough to warrant reception staff beyond 10pm... especially strange that they insist anyone using computers in the lobby stop by then.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Mick TO,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for Base Backpackers Wanaka, we value all feedback, if it is more space you are after we do provide other rooms such as our 6 bed dorms for a small upgrade fee please don't hesitate to ask our reception for other alternatives.
Unfortunately yes we did have a building issue on your departure, but i can assure you that every effort has been taken to rectify the problem. I trust you enjoyed the remainder of trip.

regards
Base Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wanaka hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

I thought Base Wanaka was a nice hostel. The rooms were very small and lacked storage for bags, as most backpacks/suitcases didn't fit in the lockers they had under the beds. But apart from that the hostel was great. The kitchen was clean, there were separate communal bathrooms for men and women which were very clean, and there was a great home theatre room. The bar downstairs was also great fun, and the staff were lovely. It is in a great location, 2 minutes from the town and right next door to a large supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTraveller787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaseWanaka, General Manager at Base Backpackers Wanaka, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Dear Aussietraveller787

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Base Backpackers Wanaka, it is always nice to hear our staff and facilities meeting expectations, regarding storage space we do provide extra secured storage for all our guests at reception, we wish you all the best for your future travels.

Base Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
0.3 mi away
Mountain View Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Wanaka

Property: Base Backpackers Wanaka
Address: 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Wanaka 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Base Backpackers Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Wanaka Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing