We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got everything you need!”
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Awesome hostel! Well located, clean, with a great kitchen, terrace, movie room, computer and reading room an many other things. It's a little bit old but that's not a big deal. I would recommand it for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bencourriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 364 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed in a self contained unit and that was very good (2 bedrooms, bathroom and small kitchenette) although not very cheap ($162 per night) . The hostel has good facilities and the kids loved the lounge and the movie area! The kitchen is clean and very well equipped.
The staff is VERY nice and welcoming, and the location is just perfect.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This place is very nice and clean, good location, friendly staff. Common areas are the highlight, nice and cosy, good outside are too. The staff was very helpful when I asked them to change my reservation to one less night there and an extra night at the YHA in Franz Josef.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a double en suite room for one night. The yha was great, good locations, good price, clean and comfortable. Our room featured two lamps... one decorated with a hippo and the other a bee... it made us smile! We thought wanaka was great sand recommend a trip to cinema paradiso!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frisbeetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The best part about the YHA in Wanaka is the communal spaces. The TV room was comfy and large, the dining areas were very professional and homely and the kitchen was clean and spacious. It really felt like you were in a big lodge not a hostel. Our room was a 6 bed female dorm with an ensuite and was a normal sized dorm room.
Overall a great backpackers in Wanaka.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izzo0o0o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The place can be found easily and it has ample place for parking. We had a room with a ensuite toilet and a lake view. Staffs are friendly and helpful. The place is clean with lots of facilities and it screen movies too. It also has a pool table.

A good place to stay in Wanaka. Lake and restaurant are all within 5mins walk. There is also a supermarket just 2mins walk away.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sunnytan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My first night I was in an all female dorm in the main building-it was very cramped and crowded...for my next three night stay I ended up in one of the six bed (co-ed) dorms in the back...it's been excellent-roomy-has a kitchenette...and space to breathe...and a bit removed from the main scene. Staff have been helpful. Internet costs $5 for non YHA members so cost out whether it makes sense to join. They will do activity bookings as well as onward accommodation bookings. Even though it says YHA, all ages represented here.

Room Tip: Ask for a six bed dorm out back if you don't mind co-ed dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
835 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Base Backpackers Wanaka
#40 of 48 in Wanaka
446 reviews
1.3 mi away
Altamont Lodge
Altamont Lodge
#6 of 48 in Wanaka
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matterhorn South Lodge and Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Address: 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $22 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's warm, spacious communal areas and lively atmosphere, this is one of our most popular hostels. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. Popular features include: pool table, cosy fireplace, stunning views across the reserve to the lake and mountains, 2GB free WiFi per day, fully-equipped kitchen, reading room, TV lounge, shaded balcony area, and more. Our friendly staff are on hand to help out with travel tips and activity bookings, free of charge. Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. YHA Wanaka offers an ideal retreat for anyone looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing