We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat.”
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A real treat.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After a couple of weeks staying in hostels with shared facilities we decided to treat ourselves to the deluxe double with ensuite at the Purple Cow. I could barely contain my surprise and delight when we were shown to a completely private little cabin with fully equipped modern kitchen and sparkling bathroom! It was like a home-away-from-home and I would 10/10 go back there and stay in the same room again. To top it off the staff were lovely and the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Spend the cash and go for the deluxe private room - totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChildrenOverboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    124
    28
    4
    0
See reviews for
25
118
90
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Weird setup in the double "private" rooms with shared bathroom facilities. Your room is next door to another room with another double and you share a bathroom and kitchenette with that double. I thought it would be private. I don't mind walking to a bathroom facility, but the setup was just awkward. I didn't want to know my neighbors, they didn't want to know me. It may as well have been a multi-dorm room. Cleaning services were a bit awkward coming in while I was dropping one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything you want from a hostel: clean rooms; good communal facilities; free pool table; comfortable dining, lounge and tv room; bikes for hire and free parking. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room rate was good for a double ensuite.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamson20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Wanaka has a communal small town feel, YHA Wanaka had the exact same feeling. The approachable staff (who were always ready to answer questions and provide useful recommendations), Smokey the cat, mountain views from the reception and the new doubles room made the experience positive.

The location near restaurants and the craft beer/wine bar/takeaway place Pembroke's was another great addition to the overall experience.

I would recommend staying here and give out my thanks to the staff!

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the doubles room with the private bathroom (26A)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

As soon as we arrived, we knew we should have ridden to Wanaka sooner. We had a double ensuite which was very nice and had lots of space. We had gotten soaked riding over the Crown Range and the front desk was kind enough to open the ski drying room for us to hang our wet gear to dry. Our room had a nice lake view beyond the parking lot and road.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea_by_Bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed at Wanaka YHA a few times and each time it was great. In addition to this being a very clean and homey hostel the staff was consistently very helpful and patient with my tedious questions that I can only imagine were terribly repetitive for them. I stayed in private rooms that were spacious and very clean. It is a stones throw away from this little whiskey joint on the corner and a few minute stroll into the heart of town. Not much more I could have asked for. It was a perfect fit for my time in Wanaka.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndcasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

It was great to have all the mountains around us. I could see the Milky Way which was amazing. The hostel was clean and nice. Hot water in the showers. The kitchen and community areas were cozy. I only wished that they had alcohol haha. It's close to all the walking tracks and great for the price. Definitely stay here a few nights if you can! Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325irollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Property: YHA Wanaka
Address: 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. YHA Wanaka, Purple Cow offers an ideal retreat for the independent traveller looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing