We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel”
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived at this hostel having booked a 3 shared dorm for 2 of us (in the hope it would only have us 2 in it). The property is in a nice location with views of the lake. It was easy to walk to from the bus station (and the intercity bus actually dropped us off there). The drive way has gravel which was a bit annoying with our suitcases but that is obviously a minor moan of mine and not an actual issue. The lady at the check in desk was very friendly. The lock on our door was broken and we ended up in a private room for the 2 of us as they had no other 3 bed dorms free (score for the free upgrade!). The problem was dealt with quickly and well.

The room itself was lovely. Linen provided and good bathroom. Plenty of plug points available. The kitchen was great and the living room is large with a fire and plenty of tables and chairs and a pool table.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayReviews90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 349 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The view from this hostel strikes you before you even check in- stunning snow-capped mountains surrounding a glistening blue lake -beautiful. The lounge is therefore set up with large windows and a cosy log fire specifically to enjoy this. Tons of cupboard space in the kitchen, labelled by room which I thought was a clever touch. There is also a shop on site should you need anything, although I found the hostel itself to be perfect location within the welcoming little town of Wanaka. A film is shown every night in the TV room and there is a pool table, too.
The only downside I found was that the room was so so cold. We were in an outhouse and it was snowing, which meant all huddled in blankets around a heater and no one daring to leave the room for the bathroom, as this was absolutely freezing. Also, the wifi did not appear to extend to this particular room, which would be a shame if you had paid for it.
Would definitely recommend, but ask for a dorm inside the main building in winter and if you want to use the wifi (this may mean sharing a larger dorm than you intended).

Room Tip: Choose a room inside the main building in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmeMaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We only spent one night in Wanaka's Purple Cow YHA whilst travelling but it was lovely. Clean rooms and facilities we had the double room with an en suite bathroom which was nice, hot and clean. It was a stones throw from the lake and shops. Pool table which I think was free to play. Overall very good!

Room Tip: Book in advance for definate if you want a double room. It's really central to everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a double room for our family. I was surprised it was a private room as we had never stayed in a hostel before. Beds were not very comfortable, but when you are tired - anything works. Shared kitchen was very clean. I was impressed with their facility. Only real complaint is that parking was cramped and inadequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I would probably give them a second try if we return to NZ.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank newnztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

6.3.13 Stayed in double room type chalet at rear of main building which shared bathroom and small kitchen with 2nd doube room. It had table & chairs and lounge chairs to relax in and you could park off road nearby. Kitchen not big enough to do full evening meal but you could also use main kitchen facilities. It had a microwave as well. Good if you wanted a cup of tea during the period main kitchen closed. Very good allround hostel with great location and views over the lake. Shops within 5 mins walking and good local supermarket. Staff very helpful and I would say that this one of the best YHA i stayed in whilst travelling around South Island. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in a double room with attached bathroom in March. The room is comfortable and clean even if it is a little small.

This is a hostel with excellent facilities - the kitchen is really clean and even has individual cabinets labeled according to guests' rooms. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful.

There is no free wifi here, it's NZ$5 for 24 hours.

The location of the hostel is excellent - there's a great view of the lake and mountains to wake up to, and the supermarket is a 5 minute walk away.

Highly recommended if you're visiting Wanaka.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bleachedquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I bought a coupon and get to be in the somewhat like a separate unit with two double/shared rooms. there is a small room with microwave and plates . This is really handy especially at night after the common kitchen has been locked up, you can just cook something . I did as I went back from walking up to Mount Roy and arrived in the backpacker at almost 12 midnight.. hehehh

the facilities in my room are comfortable . The room was big and it was very comfortable. truly suggests this if you are travelling as couples, or just as pairs. There are also other units opposite to us with kitchen on their own.

and if u bored, you can just go n watch tv. the room is big .

the kictchen is organized and clean. This backpacker is very nice. It is very close to the town and there is new world near it. overally very good and truly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#11 of 20 in Wanaka
555 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Address: 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $22 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. YHA Wanaka, Purple Cow offers an ideal retreat for the independent traveller looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing