We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of YHA Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Wanaka
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

6.3.13 Stayed in double room type chalet at rear of main building which shared bathroom and small kitchen with 2nd doube room. It had table & chairs and lounge chairs to relax in and you could park off road nearby. Kitchen not big enough to do full evening meal but you could also use main kitchen facilities. It had a microwave as well. Good if you wanted a cup of tea during the period main kitchen closed. Very good allround hostel with great location and views over the lake. Shops within 5 mins walking and good local supermarket. Staff very helpful and I would say that this one of the best YHA i stayed in whilst travelling around South Island. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 370 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in a double room with attached bathroom in March. The room is comfortable and clean even if it is a little small.

This is a hostel with excellent facilities - the kitchen is really clean and even has individual cabinets labeled according to guests' rooms. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and helpful.

There is no free wifi here, it's NZ$5 for 24 hours.

The location of the hostel is excellent - there's a great view of the lake and mountains to wake up to, and the supermarket is a 5 minute walk away.

Highly recommended if you're visiting Wanaka.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bleachedquasar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I bought a coupon and get to be in the somewhat like a separate unit with two double/shared rooms. there is a small room with microwave and plates . This is really handy especially at night after the common kitchen has been locked up, you can just cook something . I did as I went back from walking up to Mount Roy and arrived in the backpacker at almost 12 midnight.. hehehh

the facilities in my room are comfortable . The room was big and it was very comfortable. truly suggests this if you are travelling as couples, or just as pairs. There are also other units opposite to us with kitchen on their own.

and if u bored, you can just go n watch tv. the room is big .

the kictchen is organized and clean. This backpacker is very nice. It is very close to the town and there is new world near it. overally very good and truly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keadilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 6 bedded self contained dormitory which has a toilet/shower & small kitchenette. Enjoyed my stay here. Atmosphere is cheerful. TV room has a big screen & comfortable sofa seating. Common kitchen is super clean. The YHA Purple Cow overlooks the Wanaka Lake (amazing views from the dining area) and 5mins walk to New World supermarket & town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amesx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my first time in a YHA and I was surprised at how big and spacious it was! The room I stayed in had 6 bunk beds, washroom, and kitchen and they were clean and well kept. Noise and rowdiness was not an issue here. The location was great - a couple of blocks from the lake and a short walk from the town. Within walking distance as well was Mt. Ian which served as a great hiking spot. My only complaint was the cost of using internet which was NZ$1 per every 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We weren't expecting much from a YHA hostel, but this place was great. The setting is beautiful, with a wonderful view of the lake from the common room. The double ensuite room and 4-share dorm we slept in were clean, spacious and comfortable.
The kitchen was really well-equipped (we even made pizza with a bread machine). And best of all, the staff was super-friendly and helpful. They remembered our names and were always there witha smile.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weinyael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed here in Feb 2013 for 3 nights and really liked it here. We booked a twin room (all they had left) with shared facilities, but the great thing was is we shared a lodge with one other room. We had a kitchenette, bathroom to share and lounge, so you weren't waiting forever to get to the loo etc.
The hostel itself is pretty big and they have a lovely lounge area near reception overlooking the lakefront. The kitchen closes at a certain time and was clean. The checking in was no hassle at all the the staff were really friendly. The beds were sooooo comfy, thee most comfy bed we've slept in the whole trip.
I would say the only reason why I didn't give it a 5 out of 5 is because the walls seperating the rooms were paper thin, and we wanted to sleep all we could hear was next door talking til all hours, and I dont think they were even talking that loud!! Also there were bugs flying everywhere and dead bugs on the walls, but hey ho you cant have everything!
Overall, good stay really.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Wanaka
Base Backpackers Wanaka
#43 of 48 in Wanaka
457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wanaka Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wanaka

Address: 94 Brownston Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Wanaka YHA The Purple Cow)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $28 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's warm, spacious communal areas and lively atmosphere, this is one of our most popular hostels. Our relaxed, welcoming vibe has generated rave reviews in the Lonely Planet. Popular features include: pool table, cosy fireplace, stunning views across the reserve to the lake and mountains, 2GB free WiFi per day, fully-equipped kitchen, reading room, TV lounge, shaded balcony area, and more. Our friendly staff are on hand to help out with travel tips and activity bookings, free of charge. Our central Wanaka location offers uninterrupted views of Lake Wanaka and New Zealand's famed Southern Alps, with a range of warm and comfortable budget accommodation and great communal facilities. YHA Wanaka offers an ideal retreat for anyone looking to discover the exciting activities on offer in Lake Wanaka, New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Wanaka Purple Cow Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing