We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place- easily the best food we had in New Zealand”
Review of Silverpine Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverpine Lodge
Ranked #12 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Catskill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful place- easily the best food we had in New Zealand”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stunning views, beautiful guest rooms, Japanese-influenced architecture, congenial hosts, and outstanding food - this wonderful place is a real gem. Dinner was the highlight of our day, every day. Mike, who serves the food and sits down to chat between courses, if you wish, is a great raconteur, with stories drawn from his own wide and varied experiences in life, while Sue sends out impeccably prepared, almost impossibly fresh food from her kitchen, arranged on selections from her collection of beautiful dishes from all over the world. Her signature item is an amuse-bouche spoon of granita, a different invention every night, presented solemnly by Mike with the invitation to guess what it is. . . . The whole place reflect's Sue's real artist's eye as a collector of artwork and antiques, and curator of her family memorabilia - everywhere you look is a delightful surprise.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a fully handicap-accessible bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babette221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Son en Breugel, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After we drove up the small track to Silverpine lodge, there were 3 things which impressed us at arrival. The warm welcome by our hosts Sue and Mike, the stunning view over the lake and the impressive disign of the house. We stayed 3 nights at this fantastic lodge and enjoyed every moment of our stay. Sue was a top chef but also helpful with all the daily travellers wishes and Mike was the entertaining host with nice stories and a good wine taste. The rooms were big, and again, with a fantastic view. This is a place we really can recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TvMeurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family recently stayed at Silverpine Lodge. This was the highlight of our trip! What an amazing experience. From the moment you walk in, you are stunned by the beautiful views. The hosts, Mike and Sue, are wonderful. Sue is an amazing chef and Mike is a pleasure to visit with. He knows much about local wines and is happy to share his knowledge. This is a truly relaxing, special place to stay. The hosts were very accomodating and helped us with plans in the area. Wish we could have stayed longer. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We travelled four weeks through New Zealand, stayed at fabulous and very special places everywhere, and must say that Silverpine was our best expercience of all. All rooms have great views on the lake, beautifull, big bathrooms and the lodge is designed wonderfull. When I think of my dreamhouse, I think of Silverpine. Mike and Sue are very good hosts, they think of everything you need just before you think of it yourself. They deliver great service and do this in a discrete way. We loved the food, the relaxed atmosphere, the wine and off course the dogs. We will defenitely return and definitely stay longer then the two nights we stayed here this time. I really had trouble leaving this heavenly place! Thanks Mike and Sue, all the best and we hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2010

For those wanting to explore the outdoors in Queenstown or Wanaka--but not deal with the crowds of people (particularly in Queenstown), I couldn't recommend Silverpine more highly. Silverpine is located on a hilltop off the main road to Wanaka--so easy to hop down to town if you wish--but otherwise it's just you, the two owners, their two dogs, and the most beautiful hotel views I saw during our stay in New Zealand.

The food is great, and the hosts are wonderful: they leave you to relax alone, but are ready whenever you need them to point you towards a great hike, or fix up some tea and fresh cookies. They could not have been nicer. In fact, when they discovered I had left my hat after check out, they delivered it to our next hotel--about an hour and a half away!

The hotel is situated between two lakes, and there are wonderful walks for every fitness level. Although we had brought out own hiking gear, Mike and Sue had plenty at the house for guests to use.

Loved the hotel, loved the hosts, and we would definitely return if we wound up in New Zealand again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lascincas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Wow - what a place!
Situated high above Lake Hawea, and a short drive from Wanaka, this boutique luxury lodge epitomises what is best about lodge-based travel in New Zealand:
- personalised service
- charm and gracious hospitality from Mike and Susan, for whom nothing is too much trouble
- stunning location with breathtaking views
- incredible cuisine - Sue is clearly passionate about cooking
- the silence
- just four rooms of the same high standard
Not too mention friendly dogs, one of which, Roy, loves to take you out on walks in the hills!
We will certainly be back, and unhesitatingly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chill372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Silverpine last month while on a one-month vacation in New Zealand (escaping the cold Chicago winter). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone. We stayed at some high-end lodges during our holiday, and Silverpine was our clear favorite! There were numerous reasons why - the stunning location (post-card like views of Lake Hawea and the mountains that take your breath away), the warm and sincere hospitality from Mike and Sue, the beautiful rooms (I loved everything about it, including the great smelling lotions and soaps in the bathroom), and of course the cute dogs!

Sue and Mike went above and beyond for us during our stay. They made us tasty lunches to take on our daily hikes, were there with drinks when we returned, gave great recommendations on area attractions, and dined with us several times, allowing us to get to know them. One of my favorite meals was breakfast on a particularly sunny and beautiful morning when we woke up to see that they had set up breakfast for us outside, so that we could enjoy the weather and view. Speaking of the food - it was excellent, as was their wine selections. We stayed three nights, but wish we would have stayed more. This is definitely a place where they get all the details right - making stays very special and enjoyable for guests. We look forward to a future stay!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicago_runners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silverpine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverpine Lodge

Property: Silverpine Lodge
Address: State Highway 6, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing