We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Sheep Station Experience”
Review of Lake Hawea Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Hawea Station
Ranked #24 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Lake Hawea Station is a large working sheep station with views of Lake Hawea. On the grounds are two self-contained historic cottages that were formerly used by shepherds and musterers. Tom and Adrienne, the owners, have kept their rustic exteriors and created comfortable rustic charming accommodations. We stayed in the Packhorse Lodge – completely updated for modern comfort, I really like that they retained the graffiti and artful drawings on the bedroom walls preserving the etchings of musters of different years and the names – we see the flying gang of ’61 and drawing of ranges on the station. In Packhorse there is a great room with a couch and big chair for seating, a dining table and chairs and a well stocked kitchen – you just bring your food and drinks. Off the great room are two bedrooms, a bathroom, shower and a washing machine. Internet is available if you sit near in Tom & Adrienne’s outdoor patio which they are totally fine with. They’re both very approachable and friendly.
During our three night stay, the station workers were busy checking the sheep’s feet so we saw the dogs bring the sheep over to the building and how it was done. I got lots of photos of the sheep and had a great time. We had asked for a 4 wheel drive tour of the station, but keeping in mind that this is a working station and one of our days here was a holiday, they didn’t have a spare worker during our stay. That was a bit of a disappointment and I don’t know if we had inquired before arriving if that might have made a difference.
The station is just a few minutes drive from a really nice quiet beach on Lake Hawea. Adrienne will go over the map of the station and show you where you can walk on the station property.
The Packhorse cottage is located across the dirt road from the Adrienne and Tom’s house. The Packhorse itself doesn’t have much of a view from the outdoor porch. One day we watched as a large group of sheep walked by as they were being moved from a pasture to the working inspection shed and that was neat.
We brought food for breakfasts and ate at Sailz in town, which is only about 5 minutes away in Lake Hawea.
We came here to have a sheep station experience and to have a rest after many days of trekking. It worked out really well.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Journeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Lake Hawea Station
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 glorious days at the Lake Hawea Sheep station in early November. We stayed in the Packhorse Cottage. The cottage is lovely, and Adrienne made sure that we were well provided for...the cottage itself was very clean and comfortable, and vases of lovely flowers from the garden were placed throughout the cottage. Tom was patient in answering our city-slicker questions, and we were able to see fascinating aspects of a merino sheep operation of this size...being there in the Spring allowed us to experience a small "muster" (bringing sheep from nearby pasture areas)...and see moms with their new lambs; we were able to see the shearing barn and imagine what that looked like a couple of months prior when the sheep were shorn. Hiking to the top of the property gives a fabulous view of the lake and a good amount of exercise...the path around the lake is within easy walking distance, as well. A washer with a clothes line behind the house meant that we were able to catch up on some laundry, which was great for us. (We enjoyed an easy day trip to Mt Aspiring...some parts of the hiking path are narrow, so not terrific for folks with "height" issues, but the views were fabulous...also, a very long stretch of unpaved roads, and the need to ford streams about 7 times in order to get the the public car park...just an fyi.) Highly recommend this stay for those who desire a wonderful, quiet, welcoming farmstay, and beautiful scenery...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mountainseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the packhorse cottage at lake hawea station in Feb 2013. Beautiful cottage with all amenities and attention to detail. The farm was huuge with sheep, cattle and a chicken coop. If you get up early, you might see the sheepdogs herding the sheep to their pens. The vast land area up the mountains also offers a nice opportunity to test your car's 4 wheel drive.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank SwethaVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A stay of a lifetime for our family. The views of the lake and the massive scale of the station just take your breath away. I lost count of how many times one or another of us said "I can't believe we're here".

The cottage was just the right combination of rustic, charmingly furnished and utilitarian. And then there are the visitors -- friendly dogs and inquisitive chickens.

Three days, two nights just weren't enough to explore all that the property has to offer. The hosts are simply wonderful. They made us feel comfortable immediately. We felt that it was a privilege to have the chance to stay on such an amazing property.

It's a long trip from the USA to NZ, but places like Lake Hawea Station make it worthwhile. We can only hope that we have the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StartSlowAndEaseOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We spent our first three nights (extended from 2 booked earlier) at Lake Hawea Sheep Station. The property is gorgeous, Homespur Cottage was perfect and well appointed beyond expectations and totally self catering including washing machine. Hiking on the property through sheep pastures, short walk to the lake, beautiful mountain and lake views, private, fabulous. Tom and Adrienne were wonderful hosts!! 28,000 acres... 10,000 Merino sheep... lake, mountains... can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleddogs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wanaka
12.1 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
793 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mount Maude Country Lodge
18.6 mi away
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
Lake Hawea Holiday Park
#2 of 3 in Lake Hawea
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lake Hawea Hotel
Lake Hawea Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lake Hawea
248 reviews
11.8 mi away
Wanaka Berry Farm and B&B
11.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Hawea Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hawea Station

Address: Rd2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing