We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious breakfast”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Twizel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At Poppies Cafe & Restaurant we pride ourselves on giving you a great memorable experience. We have a large vegetable garden & glasshouse where we grow a wide range of organic herbs & vegetables. Our chefs use only the finest local ingredients, Mt Cook Salmon, Lamb rack, Appletree Pork, local Beef fillet ( free range & grass fed). We offer a fantastic range of locally produced wine & craft beer. With alfresco dining and some of the most picturesque scenery in the world, come and enjoy the best service, food, wine, beer & coffee Twizel has to offer.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“delicious breakfast”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Best breakfast in Twizel (of 2 days statistic). Very nice ambiente and the food is served with beautiful decoration. A fine place to eat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    233
    40
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very nice cafe!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I went here for brunch after a morning tour which brought us back to the MacKenzie Country Inn that is located right opposite the cafe. It was a one-minute walk across the road to get to the cafe, so it would be very easy for those staying at the Inn. Besides that, the cafe is located right at the main junction where cars turn in to get to Twizel town, so it is very hard to miss and also a great stop on the way out of the town.

Since it was a lovely sunny day, we sat outside at the really pretty garden. It had a nice ambience for brunch on a sunny day like that. There were quite a number of customers that day but there were no seating problems. We shared the fish & chips, which was delicious. We also tried the savoury scone and that was really good as well. The relatively small brunch (since we were sharing the main) managed to sustain us till we reached Mount Cook later to have a late, heavier lunch.

Also, the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall very satisfied with this cafe and it deserves the number one spot on Tripadvisor!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunmetiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you are a foodie or a traveller that want a coffee this is the place to go in Twizel. We stopped in Twizel for petrol and randomly decided to check this place out. It was a very nice and sunny outdoor area with picnic tables and umbrellas. We has brunch so tried the eggs benedict and the omlet, both were delicious. Lovely place, will definitely stop by if we go that way again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Such a welcoming atmosphere”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We loved this cafe! Such lovely staff, and a wonderful atmosphere. The cafe is decked out beautifully, and would be great to sit outside on a warm day. The food we ordered with our coffee was yummy, and would love to go back. What great coffee too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ate at Poppies cafe twice during our stay in Twizel. Very good food both times and a good choice of beverages. The local salmon is delicious and definitely worth a try either in the gourmet pizzas or in the salmon eggs benedict. Good coffee, too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank finntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing