We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Friendly and Fun”
Review of Heartland Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heartland Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a marvellous night at Heartland with Mary and Jim Powell in Twizel. The house is delightful and our room was immaculate. We felt more like friends than guests. Couldn't have asked for any more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in "The Retreat" - simpler self-contained accommodation, compared to the in-house B&B option, at Heartland Lodge. Our hosts Jim and Mary were welcoming and helpful, and invited us to pick vegetables from their garden! The apartment was spacious, clean, attractive, and with good amenities. A most relaxing stay, and only a 40 minute drive to Mount Cook.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Jim and Mary opened up their lovely home to us. It was specifically built as a B&B and it shows. Our room was large and spacious with lots of light and windows. The attached bathroom was also very large and equipped with a spa tub. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The lodge is set on a quiet road and I can't remember even hearing one car. Circumstances prevented us from having one of Mary's dinners, but we heard they were fantastic. If the breakfast is an example, I can sure believe it. Jim and Mary are friendly, outgoing, and caring. We were even given some cookies to take with us. We spent a great two nights and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Jim and MAry gave us a very special welcome, they are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble even my ironing!! Heartland is a beautiful house, wonderful bedrooms and all things needed are there. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts, wonderful fruit and good conversation around the table. We were just sorry we only had two nights there. The are around Twizel is very beautiful too. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: all rooms wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Jim and Mary treat you like good friends. Coming to Heartland is like coming home to family. The breakfasts, and meals are to die for (every thing is fresh or home grown) - just awesome. Accommodation is five star all the way as is the hospitality.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobHart308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Best B&B ever. Delightful hosts, clean, comfortable, spacious accommodations, wonderful food. Mary and Jim "go the extra mile" while having fun. No request is too much to ask. I accidentally left something of value in my room the day we left. They tracked us down, and when it became apparent that we could not return to collect it, they gladly mailed it to me in the US. I will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had two nights here, and were made to feel so welcome, we felt part of the family.drinks on the patio, lift into town, the famous Anzac biscuits - nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended!
Jim and Mary are wonderful hosts.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twizel hotels
1.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.8 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
334 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartland Lodge

Address: 19 North West Arch, Twizel 8773, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range: $132 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heartland Lodge is purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation. The rooms in the lodge are all spacious, with full sized ensuite bathrooms with spa baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Heartland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing