We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant food - good view over the lake”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mackenzie Country Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Twizel
Restaurant details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Pleasant food - good view over the lake”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Service was good and so was the food. Nothing too complex but what they did, they did well. You can choose to cook your food on a hot stone that they bring to the table but we didn't bother as it looked a bit gimmicky.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Get steak on the stone, you will not be disappointed :) my partner had blue cod in a kiwi citrus sauce 'twas delightful with beautiful views over the lake, lush wine and a yummy crumble for desert :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Featherlite80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“First rate food”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

You can choose between the buffet (primarily aimed at the tour buses), the bar menu or the a-la-carte menu. We chose the a-la-carte menu and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meals which were obviously cooked by a top-notch chef as everything was cooked to perfection and the flavours were superb. We expected a basic tourist hotel meal but got much more than that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A comfortable spot and a good meal”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I wouldn't say that the Mackenzie Hotel is quite as nice as the pictures on the website would lead you to believe. It was a good, solid meal at a fair price, but nothing more than that. My wife and I both had the lamb shank, and it was very tasty. We opted to eat in the bar as a Chinese tour group seemed to take up the dining room. It seemed like a friendly spot for the local people in Twizel to get together and have a beer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here for one weekend in Autumn. It was very comfortable and pleasant. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The food was very good. It was very good value for money

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank LaughOften1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackenzie Country Inn also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Mackenzie Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing