We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Coastal04473650417

Wonderful Experience

Review of Matuka Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 9, 2019
Our stay was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
We arrived early to the accommodation in the off chance we could check in early and Peter and Jo were so welcoming and allowed us to check in.
The rooms were beautiful and the lodge is the perfect place to relax and just enjoy the moment.
I would highly recommend anyone thinking of going to this area staying at Matuka Lodge.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this review
Responded May 26, 2019
It was our absolute pleasure to have you to stay at Matuka and we always try to accommodate an earlier check-in if required.
Thank you for your lovely review,

Best wishes

Pete and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$105
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $109
  • Trip.com
    $103
  • Expedia.com
    $105
2.3 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
$89
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Trip.com
    $89
2.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$72
  • Priceline
    $72
  • Vio.com
    $72
  • ZenHotels.com
2.2 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset and beautiful gardens at the Mackenzie Country Hotel in Twizel
$125
  • Priceline
    $119
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Expedia.com
    $126
2.5 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
$92
$49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $49
  • Hotels.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $90
2.5 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
$85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $85
  • Official Site
    $77
  • Vio.com
    $85
2.1 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
$120
  • Agoda.com
2.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
$276
  • Priceline
    $276
  • Agoda.com
6.0 miles from Matuka Lodge
Spacious and Comfortable Lounge
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
  • eDreams
1.6 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
$808
  • Expedia.com
    $759
  • Priceline
    $808
  • Hotels.com
    $759
4.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Twizel
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
559
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
559
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand wonderful hosts mount cook private lake delicious breakfast welcome drink stunning location trout honesty bar south island large pond cookies stayed longer place to stay spa tub living room each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 572 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Beautifully sited lodge, accessible to all places of interests, including fresh salmon(!), with wonderful hosts where conversations flowed easily. Spectacular star gazing right on the property. Leaving this behind to explore the surroundings every morning was most difficult.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank RonaldFLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Ronald and J

Just loved meeting you both and having you to stay at Matuka it was a very interesting experience for us I learned a lot also!!, so pleased the stars were shining bright for you they are amazing......thank you for writing your review,I hope we may meet again.

Best wishes Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Everything from start to finish was fantastic. The owners are lovely people, who are very welcoming and make everyone feel like an honoured guest. The accommodation is first class and the outlook is breathtaking. Delicious home baked food was available to help ourselves to, a welcome drink and a substantial scrumptious breakfast provided. Once we arrived we didn't want to leave; sitting on the deck enjoying a lovely afternoon tea, soaking in the luxurious spa bath; and relaxing in front of the fireplace with a nice glass of wine and a good book to read.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Our guests are all very special to us, loved the fact that you didn't want to leave just pleased we don't have to!!

Thank you so much for writing your review,

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

WE loved the hospitality and genuine helpfulness of Jo and Peter at the Manuka Lodge. Our stay was only for one night but it was the nicest stay of our holiday in New Zealand. The Lodge is beautifully looked after, the room we stayed in was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. All round a great place.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Wayne
Thank you for a fab review and pleased that you found Matuka the nicest stay in NZ ....we are very proud to say we are Tripadvisors Traveller rated #1 B&B in New Zealand 2019.
With very best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019

Pete and Jo were wonderful hosts! The lodge was amazing and 5* luxury and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to my friends. Thank you for a fantastic stay. Jo even did our laundry when my partner was cycling!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passport01570549278
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Loved having you with us and was great to see you all making the most of the TwiZel and Mackenzie area.Look forward to hopefully seeing your friends here,
Best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

Had a one night stay. Jo, the owner, was so friendly in settling us it. The room was warm and had beautiful fragrance. Everything was thoughtfully prepared including bathrobes, makeup remover, cotton buds etc (BYO toothbrush and paste).The lodge has a nice common living space overlooking a pond with wine,tea, coffee, cookies and fruits. The breakfast was prepared by the owners - homemade with toast, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms.

Very romantic place for couples who can afford a little splurge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 00Honey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Honey00

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Matuka seems to be the place for romance!!

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews