We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passport01570549278

A fantastic place to stay!

Review of Matuka Lodge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 27, 2019
Pete and Jo were wonderful hosts! The lodge was amazing and 5* luxury and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this to my friends. Thank you for a fantastic stay. Jo even did our laundry when my partner was cycling!
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this review
Responded May 26, 2019
Loved having you with us and was great to see you all making the most of the TwiZel and Mackenzie area.Look forward to hopefully seeing your friends here,
Best wishes
Pete and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$72
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • ZenHotels.com
2.2 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Sunset and beautiful gardens at the Mackenzie Country Hotel in Twizel
$125
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $111
  • Expedia.com
    $126
2.5 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
$92
$49
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $85
  • Agoda.com
    $90
2.5 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
$85
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Official Site
    $77
  • Vio.com
2.1 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free parking
$120
  • Agoda.com
2.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
$276
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
6.0 miles from Matuka Lodge
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $105
  • Hotels.com
    $105
2.3 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
1.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Room #2
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bedroom
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $89
  • Trip.com
2.4 miles from Matuka Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Twizel
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveler rating
559
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
559
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand wonderful hosts mount cook private lake delicious breakfast welcome drink stunning location trout honesty bar south island large pond cookies stayed longer place to stay spa tub living room each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 572 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

Had a one night stay. Jo, the owner, was so friendly in settling us it. The room was warm and had beautiful fragrance. Everything was thoughtfully prepared including bathrobes, makeup remover, cotton buds etc (BYO toothbrush and paste).The lodge has a nice common living space overlooking a pond with wine,tea, coffee, cookies and fruits. The breakfast was prepared by the owners - homemade with toast, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms.

Very romantic place for couples who can afford a little splurge.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 00Honey00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Honey00

Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, Matuka seems to be the place for romance!!

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Extremely comfortable, lovely room and bathroom, every desirable amenity, and helpful friendly hosts. Fabulous views from the bedrooms, and a very good cooked breakfast. There are four rooms, so every chance you will meet like-minded couples for an evening nightcap and star gazing. A little out of town, so very peaceful and quiet.

There are three good restaurants (one Indian cuisine) in Twizel so good choice for dining.

Room tip: All rooms have the same view with an outdoor setting, but remain private.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 218megc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Meg C

Love the photo and the review thank you for taking the time to write,

Best regards

Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019

Warm and attentive hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. Luxurious room with amazing views. The facilities were fabulous, a wide range of drinks available including a complimentary one. Homemade cake and biscuits available to all guests. Everything that you could think of to make it feel like a luxurious home from home.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GrandTour62992609471
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your great review much appreciated, loved meeting you both and hope we may meet up again one day.

Best wishes

Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019

Comfortable bed and exactly as pictured on website. A slice of heaven is Jo and Peter’s place, great hosts warm and welcoming with great advice and even better breakfasts. Twizel is a great place to stay and visit others places which aren’t far. Thank you both of you for ur hospitality and if we are ever back in New Zealand will be back at your place. Perfect ending to a great 3 week trip in north and south loved the lodge❤️

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 235Joanne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

Hi Joanne
Heaven is a great word to describe where we live we feel the same, so pleased your stay was exactly as you had hoped it would be!Thnak you for your review.
Take care,

Best regards
Jo and Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019

Simply fabulous. From the moment we arrived to such a friendly warm greeting we felt welcome. The joy continued as we entered the premises, everything first class. Magnificent living area, sensational bedroom. All well equiped with classy fixtures. And then the view. In both day and night It is so scenic. Don’t take my word for it. Treat yourself to a night or two !!!!!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank cambell2127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2019

A wonderful review thank you, so love that you love what we do!!

Best regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews