We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$385
View deal
Booking.com
$355
View deal
Trip.com
$330
View deal
Hotels.com$385
CheapTickets$385
eDreams$355
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (496)
Filter reviews
496 results
Traveler rating
483
11
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
483
11
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand fruit cake small lake wonderful hosts delicious breakfast mount cook south island welcome drink private deck complimentary drinks southern alps trout home made cakes the snow capped mountains thought of everything a wonderful stay glass of wine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 496 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Jo and Pete were such friendly hosts and made us feel so comfortable, even helped us make numerous calls to book us on a heli ride on Mount Cook.
The view of the mountains from the house was amazing and the sitting area was incredibly warm and inviting. The room was comfy and even had heated flooring in the bathroom! Must-have: Jo's fruit cake!! Ask for it if you don't see it sitting there waiting for you to have a bite! Magnificent view of the stars at the sitting area outside the house. Breakfast servings were huge and fantastic, kept us going the whole day!
Would love to revisit in winter when the pond is frozen.

Many thanks from Tony & Pearl!

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonytan2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Thrilled you liked the cake and it was no problem making the bookings for you we just love it when our guests want to make the most of what you can do in our area.
Spring is here and the daffodils are out and now looking forward to a wonderful summer.Take care it was so lovely to meet you.
Best wishes
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2016

Matuka presented us with amazing views and door-step scenery. Wonderful service and warm hospitality. The breakfast was fantastic and the complementary fruit cake was simply divine. We would absolutely recommend stay at this magical lodge

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank samuel_abdelsayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

A great review thank you for taking your time to write about us and we hope we may meet again one day,
Kindest regards
Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

Highly recommended. Great location for Lake Pukaki and Mount Cook National Park. Excellent hosts, very comfortable accommodation and overall a great experience. We will return next time we are in the area.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank couple156
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Matuka we so appreciate and love the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us,
Best regards
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

When we arrived, Peter welcomed us right away while Jo was showing a room to another couple that just arrived. The location is amazing with views of the mountains you haven't seen before. We got a very nice and big room with a huge bathroom and shower. The view from our room was fantastic. A little lake in front of the room and the mountains in the background were breathtaking.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent. It was home made and served with love.
The lounge/living room is comfortable and cozy and just a place you want to hang out at.
If you want peace and quiet with perfect hosts in a beautiful area this is the place to be.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Wow great review thank you so much.We love making the home cooked breakfasts for our guests and you are right made with love!!Many of our guests lately have been enjoying their time in the lounge area ,the changing views have been amazing which I'm sure you will remember.The little diving ducks are back to breed and already we have 8 little ducklings love them!
Our best wishes to you both,
Pete and Jo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016

Our hosts Jo and Peter made us feel at home. The room was spotless with spectacular views, the lounge and library were so comfortable to relax in with complimentary drinks available throughout. The home cooked breakfast was a real treat. Staying at this lodge is an experience in itself. We spent a night there and then returned for another. If you are travelling near Twizel, then this is a no brainer- this is the place to stay.

Room tip: Stunning views and hospitality beyond any expectation you may have
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stephentouyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerMatukaLodge, Owner at Matuka Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Hello and thank you so much for writing such a lovely review.We have great memories of you both and loved the fact that you came back so quickly!
I have not sent a photo of spring yet because we are still waiting for the leaves to be on all the trees.We have some daffodils out which look great against the brown tussocks and the tulips are nearly there!Hope the rest of your trip went well love to see again one day,
Best regards
Jo and pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews