We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here. Lovely 'alpine lodge' type of chalet, well equipped, clean and comfortable.

We were close to town but far enough away to not be disturbed by noise etc.

Twizel is an ex industrial town that appears to exist only because of it's proximity to Mount Cook so don't expect too much.

This motel is the one to stay at though! Good location at a good price!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pete1923465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 287 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night in the smallest A frame 'Doll's House' which was small but clean and comfortable. Friendly hosts, very quiet and a comfy bed. Had delicious hot smoked salmon for dinner from the Lake Pukaki visitors centre. An enjoyable stay in peaceful Twizel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rebeccadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Annie my friend and myself stayed at the A frame chalet for several weeks! We did not plan our trip this way but we felt so much at home, we got the best service and care and had great time so we stayed more! We used the motel as "a home away from home" and from there went on trips in the area, did interesting shopping sprees, ate at the local friendly restaurants, watched birds and flowers, walked some beautiful trails at the Mt Cook area, stayed "home" and cooked and did some work, and even invited friends to join us! All in all we had the best work-holiday at the most gorgeous end of the world!!! Everyone was so nice, so helpful, so friendly - we fell in love with our chalet and we promised ourselves that we will come back one day... very much recommended by Galia and Annie!

Room Tip: Just go and enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were put into a large family chalet when we were only a couple, so we did not use the upstairs area of the chalet, but it would be good accommodation for a family. The downstairs area was large and well equipped. It was good having a full size kitchen. Bed was comfortable however the TV only picked up local channels. We only spent one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardingsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Thanks for a comfortable stay, I was travelling with my 92 year old grandfather so needed something on the ground floor for him, your chalets were perfect all we needed. Close to town and close to Mt Cook and all that the Twizel area offers...Would definately stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alibeare001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were travelling between Queenstown and Christchurch and decided to stay mid way overnight. Lake Taupo was fully booked and maybe that was a good thing as it's mainly tourist oriented. We looked at a couple of accommodations in Twizel and as soon as we saw this motel room thought, that's just fine.
It has recently been refurbished. All we needed was a hot shower, comfy bed, a tea or coffee and maybe a small tv. Well it ticked all those boxes for us.
We went for an afternoon drive around the beautiful Lake Pukaki and then on to the wonderful Mount cook for a walk and a look at the glacier and the surrounding area. Simply stunning.
Back at Twizel for the evening we went to the pub and had a drink with the locals, followed by dinner at a friendly restaurant which was delicious.

Well worth a visit if you're in the area, and you're only three and a half hours drive away from Christchurch.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were on a trip around southern South Island and booked in here thinking therre might be a bit more to do around Twizel. But tbings are a bit quiet so we went for a drive up to Mt Cook and that filled in the rest of the day, this drive os well worth the effort.
The motel room we had was 2 level, and I guess they must all be like this as they are all A frame syand a,one buildings. The room was clean and comfortable, fittings and decore are a bit dated but everything functioned well. The surrounds on the oitside units - we were in no 3 were a bit untidy with things laying around, eg we nearly backed into a netball goal standing by itself near our room + there were branches and trimmed tree rubbish lying around the road as well.
Wifi didnt work at night but next morning was working ok
For the money ok

Room Tip: No advantage anywhere that we could see with any particular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReidyNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.3 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
105 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 6 in Twizel
142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing