We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but had everything you needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A charming motel, with a number of triangle shaped units, fairly basic but good to spend one night. The room was clean and had everything you needed including good cooking facilities and a microwave.

TV was very basic with only local channels. The room was cold and the sink in the bathroom was almost unusable as the taps were too close to the edge!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesOwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms are basic but clean and adequate. It is a good base for exploring the twizel and mount cook area. It was good value for money. The staff were friendly and there was good information on the nearby amenities in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eireval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

As this motel was described in the Lonely Planet we stayed here for one night, however cannot recommend it at all. It was dirty, furniture were worn-down and the receptionist was very unmotivated. Twizel as such seems to be a depressing place.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler1982222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very attractive units both inside and out. We looked at the studio unit, but since the kitchen area was quite small, we chose a 1 bedroom unit. Very clean and comfortable. The rooms were large and the A frame design made the place seem even bigger. Sliding glass doors bring in lots of light. Highly recommended place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gay O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Very nice and cozy chalets with upstairs bed room, right under the steep roof.
Fully equipped and perfectly located for trips/hikes.
We did a Heli flight (totally recommended) and hikes in the Hookes valley and around Mt. Cook village.
Supermarket and gas station just around the corner (pretty convinient for the part of the country).

Had a perfect time there, definitly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The first thing that this cute motel caught our eyes was its unique triangular structure. The ceiling was made from timber and thus gave it a very country look. We stayed in a double storey unit - 3 single beds on the upper level, which looked more of an attic, and one double bed in the bedroom downstairs.

One minor flaw of our unit was the stained kettle. The heating element was covered with brown substance which looked like rust and we felt unsafe to boil water for drinking. As a result, we got to boil water with the pot on the stove.

There were some restaurants and take-away shops in the vicinity of the motel so dining wasn't a problem at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kchmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights while exploring the Mt Cook area. Our chalet was roomy and clean and had good cooking and bathroom facilities. The managers were very pleasant and helpful. The chalet was close to the highway but very quiet and we had a great view of Mt Cook. It was an excellent place to base ourselves instead of staying in the Mt Cook village which is more expensive and less reliable weather wise. We'd stay here again and also recommend the local pub for evening meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Twizel
0.3 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
17.1 mi away
Heritage Gateway Hotel
Heritage Gateway Hotel
#3 of 4 in Omarama
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
37 reviews
0.7 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 6 in Twizel
108 reviews
1.1 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#2 of 5 in Twizel
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range: $70 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing