We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Chalet Motels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

This was last but one stop on a 9 week trip so we were getting a bit jaded by the time we got here. Not only did the cosy little "Dolls House" cabin revive our spirits but the trip to Mount Cook was one of the most memorable bits of the entire trip. We stayed two nights so we could do some walking which was spectacular. The gorgeous weather they laid on helped! The chalet itself was small - as you would expect a doll's house to be. The owner offered us a bigger chalet but we liked this one. It was warm and cosy and had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 305 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were very pleased with our 1 night stay in the chalet (especially after being in hostels for the previous 2 weeks!). We stayed in a 1 bed chalet that was well fitted, with enough kitchen equipment for me to cook up a fat Sunday roast dinner. The heating part of the air-con units kept the chalet nice and toasty, and the location was spot on (easily found from the highway and a 2 minute drive from the supermarket). I thought that the price was very reasonable too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrizzleMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

The chalet accommodation is of high quality. A pleasure to be in, in every way! Big rooms, big shower, big bed, well built with exposed timber ceilings and rooms that can be partitioned off for heating or noise. The only disappointment was that the host of the afternoon/evening must have been tired, because it seemed we were too much trouble to even deserve a welcoming smile. Never mind, I would still go back! All the other establishments that we went into in Twizel made up for it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trav078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I think this is the best choice if you stay in Twizel, New Zealand.

The outlook of the room are classic and excellent. All the facilities are very good.

Room Tip: Make booking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manson_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed in a studio chalet over the Easter weekend. It was fairly busy but there wasn't much choice of accommodation in Twizel - a bit of a nothing town, if you ask me. Weather wasn't great so we didn't get to see much of the mountains. A-frame chalets were cute. The room was large though with ample space for our dog to chase his tail and was certainly cosy once the heat pump was on. It was good to not be attached to your neighbours.... especially not the noisy ones a few chalets away! Good also to be able to pull your car right up in front. We were away from the main road so no noise from traffic but I noticed some chalets were facing the road so not sure about noise in those.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at the Mountain Chalet Motels in Twizel. Our units were clean and tidy with great cooking facilities. Kyle and Glenna had awesome local knowledge. We had our mountain bikes with us so they pointed us in the right direction for the best riding terrain. Loved that Mt Cook is only just up the road. I would highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamier45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The room is average, but the owner, could care less about your needs. When asked for an ice cube tray or ice, his response was "I don't have any ice and there are no trays because people don't clean them or refill them". Wouldn't you think that was his job?

The Internet which was free was beyond pothetic, a weak or no signal, angain his attidude, "well mine works!" I would look for someplace else, the price was no bargain either.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitzerwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.3 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.1 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.2 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Twizel Holiday Park
Twizel Holiday Park
#3 of 7 in Twizel
111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Heartland Lodge
Heartland Lodge
#2 of 7 in Twizel
150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#2 of 5 in Twizel
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Motels

Address: Wairepo Road | Canterbury, Twizel, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Twizel
Price Range: $68 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Chalet Motels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Chalets is situated in Twizel, 40 minutes’ drive from Mount Cook, on State Highway 8 between Christchurch and Queenstown. This picturesque site is on the doorstep to some of New Zealand’s finest scenery. Located in the Mackenzie Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mountain Chalet Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Hotel Twizel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing