We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aoraki Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Twizel
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
73
29
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
29
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbig bedtwo young childrenmaking us feelmount cooknice bathroomgreat hostslocal restaurantsgreat roomgood sizetea and coffee making facilitiesanitaguestscatlodgelodgingkey
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 103 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Darwins are indeed excellent hosts and are happy to do whatever they can to ensure you have a good stay in Twizel. My daughter Kate and I felt very comfortable and thoroughly enjoyed both the glass of wine and the delicious breakfast in the morning - especially those poached eggs, Ian! Hoping to make it out to stay again and would recommend this lovely Bed and Breakfast for anyone heading towards Mt. Cook and surroundings.

Room Tip: Email Sandy or Ian about your preferences. They are happy to try to oblige.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We feel very confident that our breakfast is a great way to start the day and the poached eggs go down a treat with our guests. Look forward to having you stay again? Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We liked the hosts very much. Breakfast was very well prepared.
The only thing we could remark was the decoration of the room. Very basic and nineties looking. Could be renovated a bit from our perspective.
We appreciated the free internet very much.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Your comments are very welcome and your room is in the stages of renovation now during our closed period. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Ian & Sandy were great hosts when we visited. They know the area very well and had great insights on which roads to take and what sights cannot be missed. Mt. Cook is a short 45 min drive from the city and is a must-see place to visit. They make an effort to get to know their guests while they host cocktail hour in their magnificent bar & family room and in the mornings during breakfast. They'll go out of their way to make sure your accommodation is worthwhile. I highly recommend staying with these folks if you plan to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_traveler_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyfis1, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Your recommendations are much appreciated. We find that Breakfast is a much friendlier occasion if our guests have all met the previous evening over a glass of wine before going out to dine. Sandy & Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

After a tour in the north and on the west coast of the south island we stopped for a night in twizel. Sandy and Ian have been very nice to us despite our late arrival they offer us a glass of wine and we had a little chat. At breakfast we have time to talk more and they encourage us to make a trip by helicoper over the glacier, Ian rung the airport but unfortunately it was too windy and we haven't been able to fly. Anyway we plan to come back to NZ and we certainly stop at Aoraki Lodge !

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CATHERINE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2011

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay with us. We enjoyed your visit too and do understand a late arrival. Our first concern is that there may have been a problem but as soon as you arrived your stay with us began. On this occasion because of the time it started with a glass of wine and a chat instead or tea or coffee and cake! Sorry you did not make the helicopter flight - landing on a glacier is an awesome and lifetime experience. You will have to try again when you come back and stay with us. Sandy and Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

In a very quiet peaceful village close to the Mount Cook National Park you Will fins the perfect B&B.
Big rooms, a very pleasant terrace where you Will have tea or breakfast and to taie care Of everything a charming couple, coming from Australia ready to make tour stay as being AT home. If you want to fish, you Will have the best guynto catch an 6 pond trout.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2011

Your comments about your stay with us and about our Lodge are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you felt as relaxed and comfortable with us as you do in your own home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews