We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for the perfect hosts ? Go to Aoraki Lodge”
Review of Aoraki Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aoraki Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Twizel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Nom la Breteche
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Look for the perfect hosts ? Go to Aoraki Lodge”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

In a very quiet peaceful village close to the Mount Cook National Park you Will fins the perfect B&B.
Big rooms, a very pleasant terrace where you Will have tea or breakfast and to taie care Of everything a charming couple, coming from Australia ready to make tour stay as being AT home. If you want to fish, you Will have the best guynto catch an 6 pond trout.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Your comments about your stay with us and about our Lodge are very much appreciated. We are very pleased that you felt as relaxed and comfortable with us as you do in your own home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
71
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wittmund
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Due to the Christchurch-Earthquake we had to change our plans and decided to stay in the Aoraki Lodge in Twizel.
What a great decision!!
Our wonderful hosts Sandy and Ian, nice guests to talk to, beautiful nature and luck with the weather made it a wonderful stay!
Nice rooms, an invitation for a pre-dinner drink at night, valuable proposals for day activities and great breakfasts with the hosts and other guests made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfiolka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
We are not able to take credit for the perfect weather but do appreciate your kind words about your stay with us. It was fun to share your impromptu fun evening. Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Sandy & Ian are very friendly and made us feel really at home. Tea & cake on arrival. Glass of wine later. Lovely breakfast. Nice place to stay after visiting Mt Cook

Room Tip: Free Internet available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for your review. It is good to know that you felt as comfortable in our home as you do in your own. We always enjoy the enthusiastic reactions from our guests when they return from a perfect visit to Mt Cook. It is a very special place. Regards Ian and Sandy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

A gem of a place with very clean and spacious rooms. Great breakfast with all the guests around the one table.Drinks every evening with the hosts. Very friendly. A great base for trips to Mount Cook.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for your review and your comments which are very much appreciated. We love this country and enjoy having guests stay with us from all around the world. Breakfast around the large table is a little bit like the United Nations at times and a lot of fun. Regards - Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Sandy and Ian made us most welcome. They shared their passion for Twizel and the Mount Cook area with us - which was infectious! We had a great stay with good accomodation and hospitality. Carol and Peter Griffiths

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteKenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
It is very easy for us to share our passion for the area Twizel - Gateway to Mt Cook. The drive to Mt Cook is as though you have opened the gate and on your way to a great adventure. There is a special magic to this area that has an affect on everyone. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards. Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed here in 2008 and it was the obvious choice for 3 night stay this time around.

Ian and Sandy are superb hosts, imparting their extensive local knowledge and passion for the surrounding area. It's the little touches that made the diiference, the fresh flowers in the room, use of their laptop to email home, sharing a glass of wine in the evening.They genuinely welcome you into their home.Sandy even did some washing for us.

Breakfast was a relaxed affair and they were always keen to know what our plans were for the day. The friendly atmosphere encouraged conversation amongst all the guests. Something that doesn't really happpen in UK B & Bs!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda499514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
It was wonderful to have you stay a second time - that is the best compliment! Our home and garden make it a joy for entertaining guests as yourselves and we also like to have fresh flowers in your room on arrival. Thank you for the lovely review. Regards Sandy & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, IN
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Our hosts were wonderful. The room was fantastic and comfortable, and the breakfast was terrific!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you are staying in or passing through Twizel!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crumblindown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansandy, Owner at Aoraki Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review and recommendation in such a short space! We appreciate you taking the time to comment. Regards Sandy and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Twizel hotels
0.3 mi away
Mackenzie Country Inn
0.1 mi away
High Country Holiday Lodge
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Lakes Motel
The Lakes Motel
#1 of 4 in Twizel
23 reviews
1.1 mi away
Omahau Downs
Omahau Downs
#3 of 6 in Twizel
206 reviews
2.2 mi away
Matuka Lodge
Matuka Lodge
#1 of 6 in Twizel
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aoraki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aoraki Lodge

Property: Aoraki Lodge
Address: 32 Mackenzie Drive, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Twizel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Twizel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aoraki Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aoraki Lodge Bed and Breakfast is in the heart of the Twizel township. Just a few minutes stroll to the marketplace - town centre where you can find some outstanding restaurants. Our Lodge is set in a beautiful country style garden and although central, it is quiet and peaceful. Come on in and be a part of our family for a night or two. We are delighted to help you with dinner reservations, activity booking and advice about how you can spend your time in the amazing Mackenzie basin area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Aoraki Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing